Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant
There is such variety in this game to keep you interested for a long time. The graphics are brilliant and the driving simulation is very accurate.
There is training to get you started in racing, not particularly just for the purpose of the game, but in real life racing tactics. The designers of GT5 take it quite seriously and make it close to realism as possible...
Published on 8 Dec 2011 by muffin

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but difficult to get in to
This really is a good game and I have no idea why it was only 10. Not complaining though!

Enjoyable game but can be very frustrating to get in to. When I put the disc in, I had to wait an hour for various updates to finish, then I had to install the game data onto the HDD so it runs faster (another 30mins). Once you get in, there are about 10 pop-ups to click...
Published on 12 Jan 2012 by OllyFromTooting


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 8 Dec 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5 - Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
There is such variety in this game to keep you interested for a long time. The graphics are brilliant and the driving simulation is very accurate.
There is training to get you started in racing, not particularly just for the purpose of the game, but in real life racing tactics. The designers of GT5 take it quite seriously and make it close to realism as possible. Training will come handy as any mistakes in your steering, breaking etc, are not forgiven. These mistakes will make you crash and lose valuable time. Driving dynamics are quite true to life, so your responses are expected to be the same. Also improving in racing tactics seem necessary to win later on, as you need these to gain an extra fraction of a second to beat the next car in front of you. Level of difficulty is also adjustable. There are many cars available in Arcade mode to get you going for quick races. Most modern cars here are adjustable in the many options available (i.e. ABS level, steering sensitivity, type of tyre etc etc.).

In GT mode you keep earning money so you can keep upgrading your car. You are making your way up in the racing world starting from the bottom (go carts - where Lewis Hamilton also started I believe). You have several choices of cars to buy and their spec is available to view and consider what's the best buy for you currently within your budget. Would you buy a nearly-new car with high mileage, high BHP or buy an older car with moderate mileage, with moderate BHP with some extras? How much would you want to spend, do you need money for anything else. The resposnsibilty for picking the one that suits your current situation is yours alone. Would you like to part exchange it and buy a better one as you earn more money. You also get rewards for winning races and completing training, and also sometimes simply for signing on to PSN.

I bought this for 3 times what it is going for at the moment, and never thought it was a waste of money. At under a tenner it is an absolute steal. It's worth more than that for the thought and effort that has gone in to the game.

Set yourself up with a descent set of pedals and a steering wheel and you really have a simulator as close as it gets to real racing (that is available to the masses).
This is a smashing driving/ racing game and probably the best out their at the moment as claimed by many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive Game, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5 - Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
The best drive simulation game there is.
It is not just a plain racing game it is so much more.
It has so many different levels and customizations that it feel like it is endless.
You can buy cars, tweak them, paint and race them in various tracks and modes.
A must have game for PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best CAR SIMULATOR'S on the PS3 at Present :D, 1 Dec 2011
By 
David Glasgow (Co.Tyrone, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5 - Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
This Game is simply the Best 'CAR SIMULATOR'S' to Come on the PS3' at present, and for Amazon UK's rock bottom price is a sure winner.

Much better 'polished up Graphics' (lighting and textures) better than, Prologue - its been definitely well worth waiting for, at this price 9.95 put in

your trolley for hours of fun...

Thanks for reading, if you liked Prologue this is 3x times the experience... Just buy and enjoy!

PS. If you are installing for the 1st time MAKE SURE you have a FAST connection because it does have some downloading, at the start,
Some other reviewer has said: 8GB or somewhere around that mark, but whether hats accurate is another matter...'it may not be?'

However, if your with BT, SKY, or VIRGIN MEDIA your OKAY.

Ash: (an Amazon member says): the first update is around 700mb+, then 300+ then 1gb+ - that's quiet a big file.

PS. This is the Ultimate Driving Simulator 9/10, not far away from the Graphics in Forza 3 or 4 "but not quite, just a whisker in it" but Forza has it 9.5/10

This game is sure to keep you all well entertained for a hundred man hours, for 9.95 at time of writing, who's complaining,

Again thanks for reading, "Amazon UK" is the very rock bottom cheapest price, for this game at the moment... cheers for readin'...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply THE BEST, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5 - Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
The best car game ever created!

Recommended to all car lovers and racing, you can not have a better driving experience on PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 5 Feb 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5 - Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
I look at the review and saw people was writing some good review so i though I'll buy it and they R right the game is pretty good, i love it but the only bad thing about it is the updates it took about 40 minutes and it still wasn't done then after that there was another 1 somethink 4 the HD but other then that the game is good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5 - Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
I have always been a fan of the Gran Turismo games since they were released on the original Playstation. And yet again they have not disappointed, Brilliant game play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing game., 31 Dec 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5 - Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
I got this game from my local Game store for 7.99 used and it was definitely worth every penny.There are so many different tracks and cars from all different types of motor sport. My only criticism is that the menu does not look that good but that doesn't make a difference to the gaming experience.

To play this game well you need a steering wheel. I got mine from Argos for 11.99.

Thank you for reading my review, I hope you get this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cheap and nice, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5 - Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
came quickly and for the money I paid I am very satisfied. will definitely buy again if i find such a good deal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A instant classic!, 2 Dec 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5 - Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
Best ps3 game in my opinion. Loads of fun, Loads of cars. It is also very realistic and some times life like. a must have.

Graphics 10/10

Gameplay 10/10

number of cars 10/10

gt5 life 10/10

overall 40/40 A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars be the race car driver you always wanted to be !!!!!, 22 Oct 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Gran Turismo 5 - Platinum (PS3) (Video Game)
Enjoy the drive of your life as the world famous driving simulator returns to define the racing genre.Tackle new experiences,take your place in the racing community,challenging others and settle scores out on the track...whoever you are there is always something in steak in GT.

-RACE OVER 1000 CARS IN OVER 20 LOCATIONS
-VEHICLE DAMAGE AND ADVANCED EFFECTS-CARS SMOKE AND SPARK.
-SPECTACULAR STEREOSCOPIC 3D VISUAL,DRIVER FACE TRACKING,COURSE MAKER AND KARTING.
-ENHANCE A SPEC AND B SPEC MODES-BECOME A RACING DRIVER OR BE THE BOSS OF YOUR OWN TEAM.

I HAVE THIS GAME EVERY TIME I PLAY IT IT MAKE THE HAIRS ON THE BACK OF MY NECK SHIVER :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gran Turismo 5 - Platinum (PS3)
Gran Turismo 5 - Platinum (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)
9.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews