Customer Reviews


384 Reviews
5 star:
 (144)
4 star:
 (108)
3 star:
 (62)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Violent, oddly paced but very good
This film is rated 15 - which is amazing to me. There is a fair bit of violence and an implied torture scene is chilling. There is also bad language from the off and simulated drug taking. So anyone with young teenage kids - please be aware!

That said it is a very decent film. The premise is that time travel has been invented but banned. The only people using...
Published on 13 Mar. 2013 by Mr. R. D. Turner

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars House of cards
Looper is a rather odd, uneven movie. It is as if the writer/director had a reasonable idea for a time travel tale, and a half formed idea for a telekinesis film, and decided to shove them together.

The basic concept is that Joe, played by Joseph Gordon Leavitt has been recruited by a mafia boss sent backwards in time by 30 years from 2074 to carry out hits on...
Published 16 months ago by P. G. Harris


‹ Previous | 121 22 2339 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a great film, unique story and an excellent execution with good performances, and a great metal case for the blu-ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original story, 15 April 2013
By 
Michal Wos "mikewos" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looper [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Quite unusual story providing subject to think about. Good acting and effects. It's definitely not fast action film but with interesting plot and twist is worth to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wierd., 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great film with excellent acting from all involved. Its a bit talky but its a good film with a storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looper [DVD] (DVD)
This was a really good film, we thoroughly enjoyed it and think it was a good purchase, would def recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get your head around this one, 7 April 2013
This review is from: Looper [DVD] (DVD)
Honestly? I REALLY enjoyed this.

I would even go as far to say that, having endured the crushing disappointment of "Prometheus" last year, "Looper" has restored my faith in Holywood sci-fi. The film is well directed and well acted. Well scripted? Hmmm... we'll come to that later.

It's 2044 and bad guys in the future are sending victims back in time because they cannot dispatch them in their own time. The premise is a little shaky but quickly sucks you in. What I LOVED about this movie was the backdrop - the entire setting was really well thought out; urban decay has become a playground for crime syndicates. Drugs. Prostitution. People just living for money. It was really detailed and I like it when a film really paints the canvas that the events take place on. There is pace and some interesting commentary on time travel quirks ("your actions are possibilities until they are acted and become my memories"), and the bit about carving stuff into your arm for your future self was brilliant (I just wish they could have got a Slayer reference in there).

There are some greate neo-Wild West touches (The Gat Men) and I'm sure that the design of the cars is a homage to Back To The Future. The little clues about TK were awesome and I loved that idea that ran throughout. So why the hesitation over the script?

**SPOILER WARNING**

It's the ending. Not withstanding that such an ending would create a space-time paradox that would probably destroy the universe, it was completely unnecessary. He should have just decided to stay on the farm and never leave. That way he could raise the kid in a loving environment with all that money from the truck and he would never become The Rainmaker. But kill himself? It was dramatic sure, but necessary? Not really.

And in many ways it defeats the message of the film because ultimately it is one of "you can CHOOSE your destiny" and by surrendering to his older verison his loses his power of choice. Not that I read too much into this or anything. However, all of that aside, this is a great film, and in terms of the time-travel-genre I would put it up there with the likes of "12 Monkies". 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film to watch., 29 Mar. 2013
By 
J. A. GARIN (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looper [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Summed up in the reviewed copied below:

Intelligent science-fiction sometimes seems an endangered species — too much physics and there’s a risk of creating something cold and remote, too many explosions and get lost in the multiplex. Looper isn’t perfect, but it pulls off the full Wizard Of Oz: it has a brain, courage and a heart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit boring and predictable ..., 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looper [DVD] (DVD)
Having been told this is a good movie, decided to get it and have a look. Found tyhe whole thing a bit boring to be frank. Good actors underperforming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looper [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
With Bruce Willis I like this film the thema is a bit absurd but any way I liked this film. I suggest to wach it. Thanks to Bruce Willis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Movie that you have to sit and think about..., 26 Mar. 2013
By 
Miss R. Drayne "TV Addict" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looper [DVD] (DVD)
Not a movie to sit and watch while reading the paper, too much going on to spare your concentration. Would have possibly been better if Bruce Willis had a bigger part in the movie, but love Joseph Gordan-Levitt from the Dark Knight trilogy. A good movie though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great, 21 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looper [DVD] (DVD)
the film was great from start to finish thats why i gave this rating and that you should watch it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 2339 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews