Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaw-droppingly amazing!!, 5 Nov 2006
By 
Marcus Milne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have a few Death albums but this one is the best by far. Even years later I still shake my head in disbelief at how good this album is when I listen to it. The musicianship is phenomenal. Even the bass guitaring is well-played with intricrate riffs, as opposed to just being a "3rd guitarist" like most metal bass players. This album is just so fun to listen to because it is technically brilliant, with all the instruments really working cohesively, but its also extremely melodic and...dare I say..beautiful. You can even sense some jazz and classical influences with the chord progressions and arpeggiated solos. This is NOT your average metal album. Chuck really used everything he knew about music to make this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece from Death., 31 Oct 2003
This was actually the first Death album that I bought after it was recommended by a friend. I was already very into Obituary and found Death equally good. The music speaks for itself when you first listen to the album, vocals are also superb. After listening to this album I quickly set about purchasing the rest of the Death albums which are also amazing frankly. The only shame is that Death (the only permanent member being the late Chuck Schuldiner) have never received the recognition that they so rightly deserve....Chuck Schuldiner is probably guitarist that ever lived. Take my advice buy this album immediately followed by every other Death album produced. Lyrically amazing throughout, Death practically invented the genre we now know as "Death Metal." If you buy this and like it, you MUST own "Symbolic" which is the definitive "Death" album, in fact, BUY THEM ALL.
Rest in peace Chuck......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking....., 13 Oct 2003
By 
Richard Sawkins (saffron walden, essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Stunning, an absolute work of genius. Chuck Schuldiner (RIP), had surely reached his place in death metal history after his first two albums, but with this offering (5th Studio LP), his evolution as a song writer and musician is well and truly comfirmed.
Chuck teamed up with the legenday producer scott burns for this polished masterpiece and pulled in some of the most talented metal musicians of modern thrash. Andy LaRoque - Lead guitar(king diamond), Steve Digorgio - bass (sadus) and greg hoglan - drums(death angel).
The first track (overactive imagination) rips your head off and sets the pace for the rest of the album. The drumming and bass work is truly astonishing here and sets the foundation for some of the most brutal riffing ever heard. The album progresses well with few fillers and other notable tracks are: in human form, trapped in a corner, individual thought patterns, destiny and the awesome philosopher.
This album is a must for anyone who likes to hear intense, non-compromising and brutal music.
BUY THIS CD!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Individual Thought Patterns (Reissue) (Audio CD)
Death albums are great and this is one of their favorite and mine too.
I can only say that i recommend anyone to own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the essential Death albums., 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Individual Thought Patterns (Reissue) (Audio CD)
Along with Human, Scream Bloody Gore and Sound of Perseverance. I'd say this is most certainly a must-have Death album. It's another astonishing entry into a short discography that changed the face of the genre. There really is nothing like it, to this day. You can hear the influence of this band in others, but in my opinion there has never been a band that has transcended Death. If you like any of their other albums, I can't recommend this one enough. Trapped in a Corner and Overactive Imagination are just two of the epic tracks to be reckoned with (and two of my all-time favourites).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot recommend enough for Death fans, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Individual Thought Patterns (Reissue) (Audio CD)
There are plenty of demos, instrumentals and extra tracks. Well worth the price and a brilliant addition to any metalhead's collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brutal,complex ,challenging death metal, 30 Dec 2001
By A Customer
a stylish matsterpiece from chuck shuldiner and the boys and one that every metal head should have in their collection.shifting away from the more basic brutality of earlier albums this record transcended the blueprint that they established.though no less heavier than previous efforts it upped the ante in terms of sheer technical ability and punishing riffage.pinned down by an amazing rhythm section with astounding drum acrobatics this record just begs to be played again and again.schuldiners trademark growling is ever present and adds a suitable air of menace to this ferocious album.
fans of present day metal should love this album from one of extreme metals most underrated acts .sheer class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 19 Dec 2004
If you like death metal with 'meaningful' lyrics, Death is the band for you. This is 1 of their best albums and every track will get you rockin'! definate worthwhile purchase!
RIP CHUCK SCHULDINER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Individual Thought Patterns (Reissue)
Individual Thought Patterns (Reissue) by Death (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews