Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is such a great lose-yourself book
I read this book in three days because I just had to know what happened to Rory, Francesca etc. There are loads of fantastic characters that draw you into their world and the endless twists, triumphs and tradgedies that they experience make you truly emotionally involved with them. The only warning I have about this wonderful novel is that it stays with you for a long...
Published on 1 Sep 2000 by Ian of Winchester

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Rattling Good Yarn
I wasn't entirely sure what genre this novel was meant to be in: serious historical fiction (as the excellent period detail, the literary references including the splendid Pope quote that forms the title and the seriousness of some of the World War I scenes would imply), romance (as most of the four heroines' relationships would imply) or (as some of the sex scenes...
Published on 19 Aug 2012 by Kate Hopkins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is such a great lose-yourself book, 1 Sep 2000
I read this book in three days because I just had to know what happened to Rory, Francesca etc. There are loads of fantastic characters that draw you into their world and the endless twists, triumphs and tradgedies that they experience make you truly emotionally involved with them. The only warning I have about this wonderful novel is that it stays with you for a long time after you've read it, leaving you in a tragically- romantic daze. This can make ordinary life seem very dull! But if you get too bored and start to hanker after beautiful dresses, noble causes and waiting for your brave wartime beau, well.....you could always read it again. Which is what I'm going to do now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An obsessive read, 15 Sep 2000
By A Customer
My first Kate Saunders novel, picked up by chance, and not put down until finished. I lived with these characters and shared their every breath and every joy, disappointment, love and anguish. The book is so beautifully written that it will sweep you up in the emotion of the story and gently place you back into your normal life at the end, leaving you missing the characters terribly. This will remain a firm favourite, and one to read over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Rattling Good Yarn, 19 Aug 2012
By 
Kate Hopkins (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't entirely sure what genre this novel was meant to be in: serious historical fiction (as the excellent period detail, the literary references including the splendid Pope quote that forms the title and the seriousness of some of the World War I scenes would imply), romance (as most of the four heroines' relationships would imply) or (as some of the sex scenes implied) romance with a soft-porn edge. Whatever it is, it was certainly a good read in many ways. 'Night shall Overtake Us' is the story of four girls who meet at boarding school in the early years of the 20th century, and form a vow of eternal friendship. After school, their lives go in very different directions. Red-haired Irish Rory, who has grown up fostered by a noble Irish family after the death of her mother, reared with three 'foster brothers' moves to London, becomes a leading figure in women's suffrage, and also a bright star in London's Bohemia, after her artist foster brother Tertius and his brother Fingal, the partner of a gallery owner specializing in modern art, introduce her to this world. She also begins an affair with a working class socialist, to the fury of her oldest fosterbrother Lucius (always called, annoyingly, Muttonhead), who has loved her from childhood, as indeed has Tertius. Jenny, the most sensible and academic of the four friends, and the poorest, goes to work as a governess, but soon sees the possibility for a change in her fortunes when she captivates a wealthy laird, Alistair. But can she make her liking for him turn to love? Eleanor, the plainest and most intense of the friends, falls for Wicked Lord Laurence (Lorenzo) Hastings, despite his warnings that he will never make her happy; an accident means that she decides to devote her whole life to this masochistic passion. And Francesca, the sweetest and most gentle of the four, appears to find perfect happiness with her sweetheart Stevie Carr-Lyon - but are they really so happy, and what are the demons from the past tormenting Francesca? With the advent of World War I the friends' lives change dramatically. Rory and Jenny become nurses and discover the satisfaction of work and independence, while Eleanor and Francesca remain in London fretting over Lorenzo and Stevie at the Front. As the War progresses and the death toll mounts, the women's lives undergo more changes, including a terrible betrayal by one of the four of the vow of eternal friendship and loyalty...

Saunders is a superb storyteller and has done her historical research extremely well. One gets a vivid sense of English life both pre-World War I, and during the terrible First World War. Many of her characters were very appealing (though I felt calling a hero 'Muttonhead' was a serious blunder, and couldn't quite see the point of Francesca, who played a relatively minor role and always seemed to be either about to faint or in tears, until the final section; many of the older ladies, like Mrs Braddon or the vampish Monica Temple were also depicted in a wildly over the top way). And Saunders has a very good knack with plot, making one desperate to read on and find out what happens to the characters, particularly in my case Rory, Jenny, Alistair, Lorenzo and the artist Tertius. However, I would stop at three stars in reviewing the book (despite enjoying some aspects of it a lot) because I found a lot of the writing quite melodramatic, particularly some of the dialogue, and because I thought the endless sex scenes, recounted in Rabelasian or even Sadeian detail, and full of moaning and roaring, wildly over the top, and actually not on the whole that erotic (the one involving Muttonhead should certainly be nominated for the Guardian Bad Sex Writing Award). I felt that though Saunders had a lot of good ideas, her desire to write a 'bestselling romantic novel' led ultimately to a rather unconvincing style and at times some downright silliness. Rory, for example, seemed to fall in love with every man she encountered with equal passion and extravagance. And if Jenny was both so sensible, and so loving, would she really have felt (quite early in the novel) that in getting engaged to Alistair she'd ruined her life? Wouldn't she rather have made a real effort to try to love him? I also felt that Lorenzo's wickedness should have been more explained - we never found out quite enough about WHY he got so savage, and his traumatic childhood -and was uncertain whether or not we were meant to regard Eleanor as brave or merely masochistic.

A really good light read, and full of interest, but I was left, rather as I was with 'Wild Young Bohemians', feeling that if Saunders had taken more time and thought more about her characters and their interaction it could have been a much better book. Four stars for content, but probably only about two for style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly wonderful book, full of lessons and love., 3 Oct 1999
By A Customer
I have read this book over 8 times and it still has the power to make me laugh, cry and catch my breath. The characters touch your heart and the story is one of courage, fear and discovery. I have never read a book which has touched me so deeply. An exciting, uplifting, tearjerking novel which has me hooked every time I read it. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Night shall overtake us, 3 Dec 2012
By 
JM (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was really looking forward to this book, a great saga which takes the reader through many years of four young women. But ultimately, I was left feeling a little disappointed. I thought that the writing dragged a bit, pages and pages spent on one evening made for dreary reading, too much irrelevant detail that added nothing to the story. I think with more rigorous editing it would have been a better book.
I did finish it but after the first 200 pages I did skim read parts of it, life's too short to trawl through every word of something like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most compelling book I've ever read, 5 Aug 2009
I've read all sorts of books, and lots of saga/romance type ones, but this is just a totally different league. It is totally compelling with brilliant evvolution of the story and characters you can't help getting involved with. It really is a book you will never forget, and will find yourself recommending to all your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't want it to end, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Shall Overtake Us (Kindle Edition)
Long, enjoyable story, richly woven and one you won't want to put down. I enjoyed it so much I bought two more books by the same author. It has a good historical setting obviously based on excellent research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a book, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Shall Overtake Us (Kindle Edition)
I have had this book 4 times and each copy was read so often and shared with friends the pages fell out.

This book made me cry again, it is so moving and powerful. Cannot wait to read it again, without the pages falling out.
I have already recommended it to people and they have enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 10 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First read this book on holiday years ago. Keep reading it as it is my all time favourite romantic novel. Just bought a copy for a friend to share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night Shall Overtake Us
Night Shall Overtake Us by Kate Saunders
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews