Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a voice!, 24 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Tales From The Weeping Willow (Audio CD)
What a spectacularly good record this is! A mixture of folk and country styles, it showcases one of the most naturally glorious voices I have heard in a long time.
Featuring songwriting collaborations and duets with Paul Heaton, Justin Currie and Alasdair Roberts, it truly deserves a wide audience. 'Daddy's Got A Gun' (a brand new song), 'Roland The Headless Thompson Gunner' (a Warren Zevon cover) and - especially - 'My Love Is Deep' (a collaboration with Currie) are just three obvious examples of the delights in store for newcomers to Naomi's world. In a world of karaoke X-Factor fodder, this album is the real deal....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mercury music prize winner?, 22 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Tales From The Weeping Willow (Audio CD)
Many new albums, particularly from the alt folk/country genre flatter to deceive. I'm thinking The Civil Wars and Laura Marling to name two recent over hyped examples. It's so rare to discover a genuinely new voice but also one which seems strangely to have been there for ever at the same time. The range of styles and emotions are vastly mature and held perfectly together by an unerring storytelling dynamic. This feels like an album i will still be listening to in ten/ twenty years....I have not heard any better this year and dont expect to.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A REVELATION!, 13 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Tales From The Weeping Willow (Audio CD)
If there's one album you should own this year, this is it!
Beg, borrow or steal (or preferably buy) a copy of `Tales from the Weeping Willow'. 11 eclectic tracks of utterly arresting,
mesmerising folk/country, both contemporary and traditional that'll leave your faith in all things alt/folk country thoroughly restored.
Rich, immersive production and sublime vocals combine to extraordinary effect. At times beautifully delicate (The Death of Queen Jane)
and hauntingly evocative (The Clouds Of Colwyn Bay) and at others joyously foot tapping (Rail Road Bill) and full of real gusto.
Bold, fresh, exquisite: Naomi Bedford is a revelation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My album of the year!, 26 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Tales From The Weeping Willow (Audio CD)
This album just keeps growing on me, I've been playing it for months now (I had a pre-release version) and I don't think I will ever get sick of it. Naomi's voice has gone from strength to strength and it's on this album that it feels like she's really given her all. From the self-penned tracks, to the traditional and the collaborations, there isn't a dud line or sound. A masterpiece. See her live if you can, one to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I urge you all to buy this album!, 28 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Tales From The Weeping Willow (Audio CD)
I can't stop listening to this album since I bought it and I urge you all to buy it. A true hidden gem and an album what will withstand the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY THIS ALBUM!, 28 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Weeping Willow (Audio CD)
What can I say??!! This album is wonderful! If there is one album you need on your i-pod, it's this one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 16 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Tales From The Weeping Willow (Audio CD)
I adore this album. Bedford's music has an old sound but is still very fresh. You can listen to it at any time; it's just breath taking. Daddy's Got a gun is my favourite I think. Bedford is one of the best new folk artists of the year. Have a listen of the samples and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 26 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Tales From The Weeping Willow (Audio CD)
I got this album a few days ago and have played it A LOT since it arrived. It's stunning. Really enjoying the first three tracks in particular at the moment: they're all absolutely beautiful... She's got such an amazing voice. Really worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Music with an edge, 28 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. Richard Moore (WA Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Weeping Willow (Audio CD)
I more than like some of this album, an exploration of 'murder' songs and other twisted tales that are a refreshing change from 'twee' folk singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great discovery, 23 July 2014
By 
RoyK (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tales From The Weeping Willow (Audio CD)
If Naomi Bedford were from Tennessee she would be world-famous. Best country singer this side of the Atlantic. Sings real good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales From The Weeping Willow
Tales From The Weeping Willow by Naomi Bedford (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews