Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably mesmerizing - a cure to the soul
Brahms wrote his German requiem (aptly titeld "*A* german requiem, and he later preferred to substitute "Mankind" for the word "German") around some tragic events in his life: the death of his mother, of his friend Robert Schumann, of the fierce but unanswered love he felt for Clara Wieck. This choral work, well over 70 minutes long, touches the soul like a breathtaking...
Published on 18 Jun 2005 by J. W. van Aalst

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars sound and productiion quality
This is a disappointing offering from a label which generally assures quality. The sound levels are very low and muted, verging on the "fuzzy"-the sound needs to be turned up louder than normal which has the effect of distorting the sound even further.I am most unhappy with this product.
Published 12 months ago by diamond47


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably mesmerizing - a cure to the soul, 18 Jun 2005
By 
Brahms wrote his German requiem (aptly titeld "*A* german requiem, and he later preferred to substitute "Mankind" for the word "German") around some tragic events in his life: the death of his mother, of his friend Robert Schumann, of the fierce but unanswered love he felt for Clara Wieck. This choral work, well over 70 minutes long, touches the soul like a breathtaking journey into death itself - not frightening and painful, but comforting and full of consolation. The recording quality is outstanding, the performance of the choir and orchestra, conducted by Herbert von Karajan, even more so. At this price, I'd say don't hesitate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The REFERENCE performance at an unbelievable price!!!, 10 Jan 2002
By 
Frederick Fairhead "fwf1" (france) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
it is impossible to avoid superlatives about this disc, tempting to say- "just listen....." Brahms' masterpiece, Karajan,his BPO & the Wiener Singverein with Janowitz & Waechter in a performance that is a reference for them all. when my grandson asks "what was he -or she- really like?" I'll just put this on- for any of the participants. Buy several!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as Karajan's last version, 28 Mar 2011
By 
Ralph Moore "Ralph operaphile" (Bishop's Stortford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nearly twenty years separate this and my favourite Brahms Requiem, by the same conductor and the same choir, both with very fine orchestras and soloists. There is little difference in the interpretations - Karajan tended to stick to a favoured formula once he found it worked. Both are very poised, grand and dignified, stately of tread and noble in utterance - no perky jog-trotting à la Gardiner. I can understand some being impatient with the weightiness of Karajan's approach but I do not find that it turns flaccid and I am convinced by his firm, over-arching grip on proceedings which confers unity and serenity on the work. For me, a key point is this work is always the "Aber des Herrn Wort" heralding the fugue concluding the second movement - and Karajan does not disappoint with his monumental attack and Schwung, although the later version is even more thrilling.

Differences between his older and newer versions reside mainly in quality of sound - the 1964 recording is a bit recessed, muffled and papery whereas the latest recording is in superb digital sound - and the fact that the 1983 Wiener Singverein are superior in weight, tone, bite and unity to their earlier selves. Good though he is, Eberhard Waechter is not as steady and gravely beautiful as the hieratic José van Dam in 1983. On the other hand, nobody beats Gundula Janowitz in floating a heavenly line and Karajan allows her considerably more time and space to make her points than he does for the nonetheless excellent Barbara Hendricks.

This is now available very cheaply with full a texts and notes whereas the digital disc is usually considerably more expensive, so a Janowitz fan or anyone wanting a bargain introduction and prepared to compromise a little on sound quality will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brahms: Ein Deutsches Requiem, 15 Jan 2011
By 
Ian Christie Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Though not a recent recording the quality is excellent. Chorus, Solists and Orchestra superb under the baton of Von Karajan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a truly remarkable performance, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very happy with the quality of this CD and what is an amazing performance. No hesitation in recommending this to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't really know what to expect with this album, having heard just one movement of the 7 on classic FM, but it is a lovely piece. It perhaps lacks the drama of Mozart's requiem, or the beauty of Faure's, but then they are true masterpieces.

This, judged on its own, is a good-quality recording of a very good, beautiful, piece of choral music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 6 Nov 2013
By 
O. Kiddle (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I already knew this as a classic recording having had a vinyl copy for many years. It's great now to hear it without the accompanying scratches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Heaven!, 21 Feb 2005
By 
Freespirit "bo3ss" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
One of Brahms' best! Beautiful, moving, uplifting.
Pure joy. Not enough words to describe it so listen to it, it won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars sound and productiion quality, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a disappointing offering from a label which generally assures quality. The sound levels are very low and muted, verging on the "fuzzy"-the sound needs to be turned up louder than normal which has the effect of distorting the sound even further.I am most unhappy with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brahms: A German Mass, 26 Sep 2010
By 
Some of the Mass was familiar to me; other parts I'd never listened to. It was very satisfying to hear the whole piece, beautifully rendered. I have no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6f669b4)

This product

Brahms: Ein Deutsches Requiem - Karajan
Brahms: Ein Deutsches Requiem - Karajan by Berliner Philharmoniker
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews