Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Game
The game itself is very good. It runs very smoothly and is quite engrossing. There is good tactical play and the AI is a challenge on Hard. I love the Napoleonic period so this is a winner for me. On a laptop the menu screen is small though, sometimes it is hard to read the messages. No problem with graphics on the battlefield however.. All units are well depicted and the...
Published 17 months ago by sunsoul

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't enjoy
Firstly, Steam makes the installation process a lot harder than it has to be.

Second, the actual game is rubbish, just like Empire Total War. The total war series went bad after Medieval II, I regret buying this and Empire total war, but with Steam you can't even sell games as they're locked to your account, so I'm stuck with them.
I fancied playing...
Published 9 months ago by A. Kent


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Game, 27 Jun 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Napoleon Total War (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The game itself is very good. It runs very smoothly and is quite engrossing. There is good tactical play and the AI is a challenge on Hard. I love the Napoleonic period so this is a winner for me. On a laptop the menu screen is small though, sometimes it is hard to read the messages. No problem with graphics on the battlefield however.. All units are well depicted and the landscape is done nicely.

As for installation, it is not quite as difficult as others make out. Once you register with Steam online then you can install the game from the discs. This took about 30-40 minutes as the game is 20GB. Then, Steam will update it online. This does take time. On my slow connection it took about 3 or 4 hours. Once this is complete you can play without Steam as you set it to offline play.

I am just starting up my campaigns but I can say that this is a decent game, and a great one for wargamers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't enjoy, 24 Feb 2014
By 
A. Kent "ak" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Napoleon Total War (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Firstly, Steam makes the installation process a lot harder than it has to be.

Second, the actual game is rubbish, just like Empire Total War. The total war series went bad after Medieval II, I regret buying this and Empire total war, but with Steam you can't even sell games as they're locked to your account, so I'm stuck with them.
I fancied playing something akin in gameplay to Medieval II Total War, but set in this period of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Linda, 15 Mar 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Napoleon Total War (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
My 13 years old son loves this game. Great strategic game & makes a change to the usual Xbox games. Takes a while to download but worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game ever, 11 Oct 2013
By 
F. Roche "Ben10" (Londres, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Napoleon Total War (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have been playing PC video games for 15 years (started with GTA 1), and this game is the best game I've seen. Graphics are incredible, historical details are all true, uniforms are perfectly identical to what they were... Gameplay is excellent and you can spend days playing online.

You can play French, Austrian or British forces, all with historical troops. It is also a good opportunities to learn History, from Austerlitz to Waterloo.
Excellent game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Napoleon Total War (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I do like this game, but I do think it is beaten by 'Empire: Total War' simply because the campaign map isn't quite as big, you don't get the choice of many nations though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Napoleon, 7 Oct 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Napoleon Total War (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Very good game from the total war series, the graphics are clear and precise. and the battles are great fun to enact.
My son plays for ages with this game along with some of the other total war games.
would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Napoleon, a personal view., 26 Sep 2012
By 
S. Webb "Spider" (Weston Super Mare, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Napoleon Total War (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The game itself lives up to expectations. . .it`s Steam that`s the problem. If it doesn`t take forever and use mup all myour internet allowance then you`re lucky. No instructions regarding steam for us philistines and it really takes the enjoyment away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not that difficult to load, 27 Aug 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Napoleon Total War (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have read some reviews that have said that the game has to be downloaded from the internet via Steam (taking ages) but others that have said this isn't the case so, with some trepidation, I ordered the game. Well you do have to set up or already have a steam account but once that is in place you have the option of loading it from the disk which is as simple as a normal loading. I can't understand what some of the comments are about? (67 yr old non-tech savvy geezer)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars product code needed to play, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Napoleon Total War (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Hiya
I have just received this item and I cannot get onto the game.
Can anyone help me with the product code and also tell me if I actually need the booklet because it didn't get sent with one.
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but too small, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Napoleon Total War (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The game ran well and was enjoyable but not as long as some of the other total war games. Still its recommendable

WARNING: BIG ONLINE DOWNLOAD REQUIRED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Napoleon Total War (PC DVD)
Napoleon Total War (PC DVD) by Avanquest Software (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews