Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected
I got this Tripod from Amazon back in August and was immediately impressed with it. Having checked out a few Tripods in a couple of local camera shops prior to ordering this one, I was not expecting too much. This one compares very well with those of similar quality I had previously viewed. Yes, the legs are aluminium and yes, the locks on the legs and all the components...
Published 18 months ago by PeeJay

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Built to a price, but does the job
So long as you accept this is very much a budget tripod and you have a lightweight camera, this tripod will do it's intended job without fuss.

Construction is predominately plastic, with quite thin aluminium tube legs. This makes it light but at the same time a bit too flexible for my liking. With the legs at full extension it's not particularly rigid and it's...
Published 24 months ago by M. D. Harris


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars AmazonBasics Lightweight Tripod with Bag 60 Inches / 152.4 cm, 25 July 2012
By 
S. Bruch "Shelbycat" (Llanelli) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Lightweight Tripod with Bag 60 Inches / 152.4 cm (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The tripod comes in a convenient bag with a shoulder strap, though I found the strap itself to be a bit short, even fully extended, when worn across the body.

The tripod itself is well designed and quite light to carry; the legs and central column are aluminium, and the the majority of the remaining parts are matt black plastic. Although this keeps the weight down it does introduce some flexibility to the tripod, so with the central column fully extended it felt a bit wobbly.

I've tried out the tripod on a walk along the coast, just with a still camera, and it performed quite well. It's quick to set up and collapse, and although it's clearly intended as an entry-level tripod it has a few nice features. There's a comfortable carrying handle on the central column (though annoyingly, it's not central, so doesn't balance), and bubble levels on both the main body of the tripod and the adjustable mounting section.

One of the nicest features is the detachable plate that connects to your camera. Once this is securely screwed into the base of the camera, this makes it a breeze to attach/detach the camera to and from the tripod without any fiddliness (just a lever) - likely to be particularly useful if you're ever trying to use it whilst wearing gloves.

Size-wise, it's just about right for me - with the legs and the central column fully extended the camera was raised to exactly eye height for me (roughly 6ft). The various adjustments let the tripod down in some cases - raising or lowering the central column felt juddery - although it was solid when it wasn't moving, this would make it a poor choice for use with a video camera.

Pan and tilt control is a little smoother, though it's sometimes difficult to get very fine control - exerting pressure on the lever results in a sudden, larger adjustment than originally required.

Overall, it's still certainly a good bit of kit for the money - particularly if you're after a lightweight tripod for walking, or only intend to use for occasional timer or long-exposure shots. Anyone with a serious interest in photography will probably want to look a bit more up-market, but to be honest, you're not likely to be reading this review anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solid and usable tripod, good value, 17 May 2012
By 
David Precious (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Lightweight Tripod with Bag 60 Inches / 152.4 cm (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First things first - it's a basic tripod - don't be expecting super-smooth pan/tilt movements if you're videoing, but it's more than adequate. For still photography, it'll support a compact or bridge camera with ease. I haven't tried it with a DSLR, but I imagine it should be fine unless you're using huge lenses.

It feels well made and sturdy, and reaches a good height - I'm 6'5", and it goes high enough for me.

It includes mini bubble level indicators to help you ensure it's set up on the level.

The feet are articulated on a ball joint, so will stand steadily on the ground even on a slope.

It folds down to a convenient size and comes with a useful carry bag (although it wouldn't have hurt for the bag to include a couple of pockets for storing other stuff).

If you're looking for a professional-level tripod or want to put a DSLR with massive lens on it, or want a tripod with a smooth head for pan/tilt whilst videoing, you probably want to be looking at spending more on a better tripod, but for basic amateur/enthusiast photography, this will do the job and at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, ligthweight and durable, 12 May 2012
By 
R. Tait (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Lightweight Tripod with Bag 60 Inches / 152.4 cm (Electronics)
This is a fine, durable little tripod, great for occasional use. The legs are braced so it lacks the flexibility of more expensive options. However it's lightweight and compact easy to carry around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Far from basic, 22 April 2012
By 
A. Skudder (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Lightweight Tripod with Bag 60 Inches / 152.4 cm (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was expecting a lot less from a product line called 'AmazonBasics'. While this isn't the sort of build quality you would get from professional kit costing 5 times as much it is more than good enough for normal use and far better than my old tripod which really is the definition of basic.

When fully extended this is about 5 feet high, and the footprint is quite large (about 2 feet) making it very stable when everything is screwed up properly, even with a an SLR camera with a big lens on it. There is a quick-release plate for the camera, a useful handle, a carrying bag, two spirit levels and a mysterious hook on the bottom - presumably to hang a bag or weight for stability, especially outdoors.

When unextended this could be used on a tabletop, but it will still be a couple of feet off the table. I think you would want to have a mini-tripod or Gorillapod for those times when this is just too big.

Just about the only complaint I have is that the crank handle for raising the platform is plastic. It doesn't feel weak and it does its job OK but it is the only way in which my old tripod is better, but overall this is good value and suitable for everyday use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Light functional tripod - not the highest quality but fine for basic use, 21 April 2012
By 
Mark Shackelford "mark shackelford" (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Lightweight Tripod with Bag 60 Inches / 152.4 cm (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This tripod is not that "basic", and is very light (although a bit plasticy) but pretty stable with a wide range of adjustment for diferent ground levels and the ability to go from about 2 feet for tabletop use, to around 5 feet as required (but a bit unstable at that height!).

It is aluminum (probably) and plastic but looks fine, although I would be nervous of setting it up in a strong wind -even though it has a useful hook for (I assume) hanging a weight?

To help with getting everything level (and avoid that odd tilted horizon look) there are two bubble levels, one on top of the tripod itself, and one set on the camera mounting, to make sure that your camera is lined up correctly.

There is an infinite range of height adjustments (and different leg lengths for unstable ground) to get the camera to the required level. Further control by a winding handle adjusts the camera height to exactly the position required. There are nifty little rubber feet at the end of each tripod leg which swivel to help with uneven ground.

It also comes with a basic nylon travel bag - but there was no manual. However it took my daughter only 5 minutes to explain how it worked so I am now fully conversant with the various tilting mechanisms!

So - not bad for basic use - and I am sure all the professional photographers out there would laugh at it - but for me it is just fine. Simple to set up and get level, light to carry, pretty obvious to use (assuming you have a daughter to hand!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and cheerful but will it last, 8 May 2012
By 
Nathan (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Lightweight Tripod with Bag 60 Inches / 152.4 cm (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First of all, I don't know how much Amazon charge for this tripod as, currently, it isn't available for sale. If cheap enough then it could scrape 4 stars but I'm going to go for a safe 3.

To set the scene, I've been an amateur photographer for many years and have two tripods, the first and looks very similar to this one, is a Jessops tripod, the second is a smaller but lighter Sony tripod which I opt to take on fell walks. Neither are fancy or cost a fortune - both were around the 30 mark. I didn't want to pay a huge amount for something I might end up dropping.

Anyway, I got this tripod and was pleased it came with a canvas bag as my Jessops one didn't. However, it isn't anything fancy and when I've carried it about in it's case I found it quite irritating, constantly falling off your shoulder. I guess the bag is more to protect than to carry but I wouldn't use it on a long walk as it is liable to cut into your shoulder. Although, at the end of the day, it's just a bag.

To the actual tripod. It's very easy to use largely due to it's simplicity which is the way I like it. You can quickly get it to it's 150cm height using the variety of clips and turning wheels. The two spirit levels are handy particularly if you are a landscape photographer. My Sony doesn't have any spirit levels whereas the Jessops tripod only has one. Similarly, it is very easy to pack away and you don't need to fight it into the bag as the bag is adequately roomy.

As to the construction. The legs are aluminium which means it is very light, however, with a weighty SLR or uneven ground this tripod doesn't cut it mainly because the legs and stabiliser bars aren't strong enough so are prone to move. This isn't a problem for smaller SLRs and "light" tripod use but is a problem for me as I take a lot of long exposures. The main problem is the plastic components, it does feel like these won't stand the test of time and feel quite delicate as if they could snap at any point. The three stabiliser bars holding the legs at equal distance also look quite fragile and are made of slim bits of aluminium, I can foresee these bending through use.

This tripod will now be my backup tripod as, sadly, it cannot replace either my Jessops or Sony one.

Because of the slightly wobbly nature and the questions over the longevity of this tripod, I'll give it 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's Rubbish, utter rubbish. Please don't waste your money., 26 Feb 2013
By 
James Bennett (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Lightweight Tripod with Bag 60 Inches / 152.4 cm (Electronics)
You get what you pay for. This product simply doesn't do the job which it is allegedly designed for. It does not hold a canon 650 with a 18-200mm lens. It just keeps flopping forward no matter how much it is tightened.

Please don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strudy and beyond basic, 26 April 2012
By 
C. R. Williams "rockinhepcat" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Lightweight Tripod with Bag 60 Inches / 152.4 cm (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am very impressed with the quality of this tripod. Great functions, tough and durable materials and a great piece of kit!

Would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb596b2e8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews