Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast & Furious Forensic Thriller!
In FLASH AND BONES, the latest in the Brennan series, Reichs manages to seamlessly combine the detail of the science itself in a furiously paced thriller. The in-depth research into both forensics and NASCAR are clearly shown when the two worlds collide. Dr. Brennan, as the County Medical Examiner, is asked to identify a body discovered in the middle of an event at a...
Published on 8 Sept. 2011 by Jappa

versus
42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stretched too thin
When this series started out it was fun; especially when the books were set in Quebec.

With each succeeding novel the plot has got thinner and thinner. In this book it is stretched to breaking point.

There is little of substance here. This novel is a pale ghost compared to the early books.

I think Reichs may have too much on her plate. Not...
Published on 27 Dec. 2011 by Edelbee


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stretched too thin, 27 Dec. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When this series started out it was fun; especially when the books were set in Quebec.

With each succeeding novel the plot has got thinner and thinner. In this book it is stretched to breaking point.

There is little of substance here. This novel is a pale ghost compared to the early books.

I think Reichs may have too much on her plate. Not only is she writing the Tempe Brennam novels she is also now knocking out the Virals series, aimed at teenagers, and is also heavily involved in the TV series Bones. [ A dreadful mess, where the name of Tempe Brennan is taken very much in vain.]

Reichs edits the scripts of Bones and even writes some of them. The plots of Bones are thin , ridiculous and, frankly, boring. They are written by the numbers and cranked out like so many bland sausages.

That is what this novel is like. Reichs is now cranking out the Tempe Brennan novels in much the same way as the plots of the TV series are being manufactured. She has taken on too much and this is reflected in the quality of the work she is producing.

This novel is tedious. The plot fails to engage. [ Synopsis : Body found in mysterious circumstances - irritating law enforcement types cause problems and confusion. Obvious red herrings dragged across path- Brennan finds her way round them and finds the truth. Hurrah!!]

All too slow, all too obvious. It is almost a parody of the original novels. [ Read one of them after reading this one. It is heartbreaking.]

Please Kathy Reichs. Kill off the TV abomination. Devote your energies solely to the original - and best- Brennan and write some decent novels. Alternately give Tempe a decent burial and forget about her. No more like this - please!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit on the light side, 26 Sept. 2011
By 
Curiosity Killed The Bookworm (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's saying something that I chose a Temperance Brennan book as an easy going in-flight read. I remember the days when they were quite challenging, trying to decipher medical terms and a smattering of French. I can't decide if Kathy Reichs has just lost interest in the series or is purposefully dumbing it down for TV audiences. It does seem a bit of a coincidence that the books started going downhill after Bones got popular!

So, a body is found encased in a barrel of tarmac in landfill adjacent to Charlotte's NASCAR track. Despite being a bit on the light side, it follows the classic Tempe plot where you know she shouldn't be sticking her nose in but somehow she ends up overly involved and in some kind of trouble. As a Brit I am bamboozled by the draw of racing cars in a circle so it was the perfect opportunity to explain the NASCAR scene and immerse the reader in the adrenaline but somehow that didn't happen. The racing side seemed to just be a novel plot device and I think she missed out there. Pixar's Cars seemed to have nailed it better.

As an easy crime read, it's not bad but for those of you wanting to return to Tempe's heyday, you will be disappointed. Better than the previous instalment and handy on a transatlantic flight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Feeling Let Down, 30 Sept. 2011
By 
Seeker (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have loved every other Kathy Reichs book - they are well-wrtten, slick and sassy and over the years Tempe Brennan has come to feel like an old friend. Flash and Bones is though something of a let-down. It is contrived, fanciful and, well, just a little boring. Lets hope this is an aberration and there will be a return to form soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast & Furious Forensic Thriller!, 8 Sept. 2011
In FLASH AND BONES, the latest in the Brennan series, Reichs manages to seamlessly combine the detail of the science itself in a furiously paced thriller. The in-depth research into both forensics and NASCAR are clearly shown when the two worlds collide. Dr. Brennan, as the County Medical Examiner, is asked to identify a body discovered in the middle of an event at a local Speedway circuit. Under pressure to accomplish the seemingly impossible task of quickly identifying a corpse that is over a decade old, she is tipped off as to who the body may belong to and in the process of her medical investigation uncovers both a deadly compound and a possible cover-up of the original investigation.

The writing is slick and the characters believable and well drawn as Brennan pieces together the truth and finds herself coming up against government agencies in the process. Her motivation is personal as well as professional (not wanting to give anything away) and I found this hard to put down as I followed Temperance on her voyage of discovery.

Best in the series so far and I can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thinner than usual, 21 Oct. 2011
By 
Georgina Sands (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
Although I learned about a new area, as usual, the story is thinner than the previous installments in the Bones series. There is very little about Brennan as a person, the only aspect being the unbeleivable involvment in her ex husband and his new bride to bes prenuptual problems. I guess dividing ones attention between several series shows. Hoping the next book has more flesh on the bones so to speak. (yes, pun intended)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A serious disappointment to a brilliant series, 14 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
PLEASE: If this is your first Kathy Reichs book DO NOT JUDGE the series by this truly disappointing book.

Let me first point out that I am a long time fan of Kathy Reichs and this series. I eagerly await for each book to come out and in general I normally read it straight away, although with this one, there was plenty of books in the pile beforehand to be read for studying and the likes, that I couldn't avoid.

I was excited to finally have it at the top of my list, but I was disappointed within a few pages, and generally annoyed/angry by the end.

This review definitely deserves a list.

1. What. The. Hell. Is. With. Summer? I know that with a few general favourites gone that there was room for a few more characters to come in but I don't understand the point of her in this other than a side character to fill up space, and the general Temp/Pete thing going on. Is this a hint they are getting back together?

2. The random nephew was pretty damn random and a totally useless and eye-rolling fact.

3. Unlike any other book in this series I guessed who the killer was nearly as soon as they where introduced. I felt like the normal confusion and 'it could be anyone' vibe wasn't there and that it was clear as day to any fan who the killer was. I actually felt anger towards the end that Temperance could be so. damn. stupid.

4. The way it was written didn't sit right with me a the start. It felt like Kathy Reichs had serious writers block and she just forced words onto the page. It didn't flow at all. Short sentences and random facts (too many damn lines dedicated to that stupid cat *grr*) in between lines of prose. Too many rhetorical questions that found me skipping pages with like 20 question marks on them. By the end, the writing was back to its general good quality, but the start felt weak.

5. Maybe a personal thing but there is definitely something old about Tempe getting herself in too deep and getting into deadly situations. Surely Reichs can think of something new and excited.

I generally love the series and although I have certain faults with certain books, specifically the one before this; the way it is written and the generally plot lines normally redeem it entirely, but this one, no. I can say I like it but it was nothing special and I have to admit I'm slightly put off. I will read the next novel, but I definitely won't be pre-ordering, it seems Kathy Reichs is on a downward spiral if the last two books are anything to go by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars All bones no flesh, 15 April 2012
Very disappointing - yet again- unless you want a blow by blow account of how NASCAR works. There is no tension, no real plot. At the end we get several paras saying what might have been, who might have been involved but weren't and then a totally unconvincing theory as to why the perpetrator did it. Even Kathy Reichs had obviously lost the plot. Unconvincing side themes on her potential love life so we can all work out what will happen in the next book. Not only is it thin on plot, but the book is also thin on wordage with a steep price therefore. For any serious writer this would be a novella not a novel. But then any serious writer wouldn't have published this. Flash and Bones (Temperance Brennan 14)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars flash and bones, 10 Feb. 2012
compared to her previous and much earlier books I was very disappointed in this one. Short choppy sentences, chapters always ending with an exclamation mark or a important "revelation", and lots of filler dialogue or descpritions. One gets the impression that it was just to get the number of pages up for an a publishable level!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Evil Behind the Scenes of a Popular Sport, 6 Oct. 2011
Kathy Reichs never fails to grip the reader's imagination. Her latest book "Flash and Bones" is no exception. From the beginning one is drawn into the web of evil lurking behind the scenes of motor racing. The characters seem to leap from the page leaving the reader spellbound and eager to find out more. The plot is racy and exciting from the first to last page leaving one wodering how Temperance Brennan survives yet another close encounter with death. Definitely not one to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor. Worst in series so far., 16 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have read all Brennan books, but this one will be the last. Very disappointing plot line, uninteresting and implausible characters. No rythm to the story. Awful really. Gave up on Scarpetta too and had hoped that Reichs would manage to stay true to the original Brennan character and the intelligent stories. But that is history now. I think i won't buy the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews