Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legion/Priest/Gabriel triple pack
This pack contains three movies, all of which are some of my favourites. Sure, they might not amount to all that much plot-wise, but all three are imaginative, well-made and there's decent acting to be found. Sometimes that's all you need, really.

"Legion" is about the birth of a child which will change the face of the Earth now that the end of humanity is...
Published on 13 Jan. 2012 by Kim

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars triple pack
bought because of price and watching a short clip from priest, thought all films poor with shallow plots. The dvd arrived on time as usual with Amazon, it is me who made a poor choice.
Published on 23 Dec. 2011 by Harryatharrogate


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legion/Priest/Gabriel triple pack, 13 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Legion/ Priest/ Gabriel Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
This pack contains three movies, all of which are some of my favourites. Sure, they might not amount to all that much plot-wise, but all three are imaginative, well-made and there's decent acting to be found. Sometimes that's all you need, really.

"Legion" is about the birth of a child which will change the face of the Earth now that the end of humanity is setting in. However, the child isn't born yet and it's up to the archangel Michael to protect it and thus enable its birth. By doing so, he's going against direct orders from God, and so must do battle with demons and angels alike. The fights are executed quite well, there's some humour to be found and the effects are good. There's also very litltle emotional nonsense and parts that do not matter at all to the story have thankfully been left out, making the movie all the more enjoyable.
"Priest" is a comic book adaptation, about a militant cult of priests who fight vampires. Their order has been disbanded as the threat has officially been dealt with, but of course the vampires are on the rise again. When the vampires attack his family, one of the priests takes up the fight. Great special effects and good acting, apart from Karl Urban (he seems a bit bland). The ending almost screams for a second instalment, but I especially liked the way the vampires were portrayed.
"Gabriel" is the most original of the three movies, in which angels and demons try to win the souls trapped in purgatory from each other. It's a very dark and atmospheric movie, in which most angels have fallen and succumbed to human vices. Good acting, good effects, original story (albeit with a predictable ending), and also starring the late Andy Whitfield (Spartacus). Great fight scenes as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Box Set, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legion/ Priest/ Gabriel Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
I think these three DVD's are great we thouroughly enjoyed watching them, also the price was a great to overall this was a suberb bargain at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural hit, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legion/ Priest/ Gabriel Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
Bettany is great in legion & Priest. Had been meaning to purchase Priest but decided on the good value buy of the triple. never thought of Gabriel before but quite pleasantly surprised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars They aren't blockbusters, but ..., 23 Feb. 2013
By 
H. C. Betteridge "Hugh" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legion/ Priest/ Gabriel Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
... I'm not normally impressed by blockbusters. I'd seen a trailer for Priest, and thought I might it. I've checking prices because I don't like spending more for a DVD than about £5. Priest was still around £7, but this triple pack was under £10 (I think). So I read the write-ups of the other two, then decided to risk it. Storylines were no thinner than most other films of this ilk, and, overall, in my opinion, all three were good value for money. Quality of acting dropped in Gabriel - bit parts were better than main actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth it just for one of the films, 2 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legion/ Priest/ Gabriel Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not going to say which one, either - your opinion may differ. If you enjoy this kind of apocalyptic demon stuff, then you may enjoy the lot. I just enjoyed the one and with hindsight which is always 20/20 and rosetinted I would have bought just the one on eBay for 99p. But how would I have known unless I had seen them all first?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars three for one, 16 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legion/ Priest/ Gabriel Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
Never even heard of Bettany and brought this box-set 'cause it was cheap and I was bored. Pretty good, with Maggie Q popping up in Priest, and that kid from American Gothic appearing in Legion. Gabriel was less good, but I think I paid about six quid for it all so can't fault it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars triple pack, 23 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legion/ Priest/ Gabriel Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
bought because of price and watching a short clip from priest, thought all films poor with shallow plots. The dvd arrived on time as usual with Amazon, it is me who made a poor choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legion/ Priest/ Gabriel Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic if you love these kind of films angels deamons and war in heaven. Would reccomend watching certainly legion although priest and Gabriel didn't follow legion or each other
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Defo watch, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legion/ Priest/ Gabriel Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
Triple packs are alwasy a great buy and would recommend this, action packed and fun to watch. you have to enjoy the vampire and angels though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legion/ Priest/ Gabriel Triple Pack [DVD] (DVD)
3 films in one all of then not bad films. Have seen Legion & Priest before I purchased this DVD & thought Legion was ok & Priest was quite a good film. Having watched Gabriel thought it wasn't that bad. None of them are the best films you will ever see but good for a night in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legion/ Priest/ Gabriel Triple Pack [DVD]
Legion/ Priest/ Gabriel Triple Pack [DVD] by Shane Abbess (DVD - 2011)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews