Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New C3PO and sandtrooper print
At a rrp of about 20, this is a good set for mini figures for collectors. You get 2 sandtroopers, R2D2 and C3PO, an escape pod and a sand-bike (which is almost a mini-build). The 'sandtroopers' are stormtroopers with a back pack and distressed sand print, they also have different coloured shoulder epulettes (sand and white)- and that's quite a cool little detail; (we put...
Published 23 months ago by April Wallis

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Arrived quickly
Bought for a seven year old who thought it was ok. Bought at a discounted price so great as a stocking filler.
Published 5 months ago by Scoobie369


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New C3PO and sandtrooper print, 8 May 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 9490: Droid Escape (Toy)
At a rrp of about 20, this is a good set for mini figures for collectors. You get 2 sandtroopers, R2D2 and C3PO, an escape pod and a sand-bike (which is almost a mini-build). The 'sandtroopers' are stormtroopers with a back pack and distressed sand print, they also have different coloured shoulder epulettes (sand and white)- and that's quite a cool little detail; (we put ours with the sandtrooper from the 'Landspeeder' set, who wears a black epulette). C3PO is also a new print, with some of his 'parts' showing in his midriff, so he is different from any other C3PO's. I agree that for 20 quid there didnt seem to be that many bricks (the box seems a little light and a brick short of a 20 lego kit)- the main part of the pod is built from 2 large pieces. You only get to build the interior 'seat' and the rockets and deco on the outside. There are also quite alot of tricky stickers. It is a real quick build - 10 minutes at the most. Our 6 year old did most of it himself, but some bits require stronger more experienced hands (ie. fitting the rocket cowels and stickers).

Overall we like the set as it helps us act out the "Star Wars" story. Much more fun when mixed with other sets. We put it with the land speeder set that comes with Luke and Obi Wan Kenobi, for extensive Tattoouine action! And several lego miniguys are currently playing extras in our 'Cantina' scene (eg green alien, grey, cyborg and galaxy girl). Our boy likes to stuff it with clones and Yoda, to send them on a mission to the Toydarian coral planet (He said you can fit more in if you take the seat out - good luck).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazon undercuts once again!, 20 Nov 2012
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 9490: Droid Escape (Toy)
137 pieces for the Lego RRP of twenty pounds isn't exactly an earth-shattering deal, but in tandem with TLG's clever product line, this is a very easy way to get four good minifigures and two small models.

And that is likely the way TLG consider products such as this; the build[s] within the set are not as important as the minifigures, which are what many die-hard fans want. As such, if it's playability that you're thinking of, then put your money towards something else, because there's little to get excited about in 9490. Both the Escape Pod and the Sandspeeder are excellent little models, but it's difficult to maintain a story when the Escape Pod (A) had such little screen-time, and (B) has no significance other than to be buried in sand or to be propelled into orbit. The interior of the pod would seem to exist purely to build up the value of the product, because it has little relation to the Escape Pod from the movie. Obviously I can understand the design hurdles that would need to be overcome, but it's good to see that the engines/funnels are so well thought-out.

The Sandspeeder is a nice mini-build, but again, just looks out of place without a creative solution for the sand dunes. In fact, this Sandspeeder wasn't even in the original movie. I won't complain too much as it's actually a good looking bike, and was most likely based on original production artwork/concept drawings. Either way, it definitely fits into the Star Wars universe.

But it's the minifigures really steal the show. R2-D2 has cropped up numerous times and this is still the cheapest way to get him in a Lego set, while C-3PO, although following a similar trend, now sports a new print on his torso. It contains the wiring around his 'belly' and as such looks a lot more authentic. In addition, his eyes now have yellow iris spots so that they glow similarly to how they do in the movies.

Our two 'Sandtroopers' are unique to this product; they have sand stuck to their helmets and body. Great! They also have the backpacks, weapons, and one has a metallic artefact that represents the "Look, droids!" line from the movie. A nice little touch.

In all, for Amazon's price this product is worthy of a purchase when you consider the saving involved - it has four excellent minifigures and a really nice 'looking' Escape Pod that is most likely suited to display rather than play. The build requires six stickers, but these enhance the look of the pod greatly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is it better than the original?, 2 Oct 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 9490: Droid Escape (Toy)
Probably not! But it is a good set none the less. Original price may be a little high but as always with Amazon when it is on offer it is a good price.

Easy to assemble, the escape pod does not really keep together very well so be carefull when wooshing it around, or you may spend time looking for parts or just not finding them at all - mine now only has 1 booster on the top instead of 4.

The new Storm Troopers are a nice pair with accesories to match and C3 and R2 are classic figures to say the least.

All in all a nice set for the money, especially given the stupidly high prices of some of the larger sets, get this and get the new Desert Skiff set (when on offer of course!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A set for the collector, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Peter Banck "MasterBofSweden" (Sweden, Helsingborg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 9490: Droid Escape (Toy)
Almost only bought it for the troopers inside. There are some good pieces and unique. For all Star Wars fans no matter the age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lego Star Wars Droid Escape, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Gekko (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 9490: Droid Escape (Toy)
My grandson and his friends are Star Wars mad, which is amazing to me because so was his dad (that rhymes). He loves the little figures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 9490: Droid Escape (Toy)
My little boy of 7 is going to love this as he likes Star Wars and Lego. I love it because it's a excellently priced set that includes R2-D2 and C-3PO. Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great pack, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 9490: Droid Escape (Toy)
it is a very good pack having C3P0 and R2D2 is always a bonus. The escape from the desert clones is great and reminds me at the first star wars film I saw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 50 plus, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 9490: Droid Escape (Toy)
bought for my brother in law for his 50+ birthday! he loved it, had been on his birthday list sinec he was 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lego Star Wars, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 9490: Droid Escape (Toy)
This was a present for a seven year old and I am led to believe that he like it very much as he is "into such things". I will look to buying other similar items in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 9490: Droid Escape (Toy)
I really love this set, I have two of these because the figures are really good meaning the Stormtroopers. They are just excellent with the cape and extra desert detailing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3ff5258)

This product

LEGO Star Wars 9490: Droid Escape
Used & New from: 12.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews