Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two amazing, one really good, one average
This 4-Disc DVD Boxed Set has all 4 Karate Kid movies.

The Karate Kid is by far one of the greatest and well known movies ever. It's powerful, funny and has a great storyline about a kid who is treated like an underdog, and it the end, he rises up to beat the odds. Simply put, The Karate Kid is a great movie, so great that is has actually formed 3 sequels...
Published 13 months ago by KRB

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Karate Kid 1-4 Box Set
Typical under-dog comes good series of movies made popular in the 80's and early 90's. Fun to watch with some lines that have become synonymous in this day and age, i.e "Wax on, wax off." Pat Morita is the star of the movies and this alone is worth the purchase price. The endings are all too predictable and unfortunately the story lines and actual movies diminish in...
Published on 21 Sep 2010 by Baldrick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original and best, 11 May 2011
By 
Mo "mo79uk" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to admit that I haven't seen the loose remake of the first film, so I'm not sure if it devalues the first film now (probably not), but I know by rule of thumb that remakes of good films rarely hit the mark.

This collection takes me back to my childhood and my opinion of the films has slightly changed, but not negatively.

First of all, I want to say that there aren't any remarkable special features here and that's perhaps expected as we're talking about films that were originally released on VHS. The packaging of the films is nice, if simple, and this set is better value for money than the collection with only the first three core films as you get more for less here.

To get the fourth film out of the way first, The Next Karate Kid was wholly unnecessary and drove the stake into the series. Only Mr. Miyagi (Pat Morita) remains from the original series and the film is basically just a joke. It leans too far on being comical and the absence of, a by now far-from-kid, LaRusso (Macchio) is a loss.

The first film is essentially Rocky at a Karate tournament but with the slant of showing a bully getting his comeuppance and detailing a surrogate father-son relationship. Because it's the first of the series it is undoubtedly the definitive one. It's well made and holds well to this day.

I never originally liked Karate Kid II as it had more of a story (which I didn't care for as a young kid), but in my early 30s I think it's the most engrossing one and it even did the most well at the box office. The heroine here is the cutest of all the films, the backdrop is stunning, and it was great to see this story focus more on Mr. Miyagi.

Karate Kid III shows things running out of steam, but it caps the circle off nicely. In truth this is just Karate Kid I moulded slightly differently. We're back in America, back in a tournament, and this time we see a revenge story and the temporal breakdown of a relationship. I thought the main villains here were a bit wooden and not much goes on for the first hour. Plus the final fight is disappointing for a guy by now who is quite a seasoned Karate fighter. It's grace is that it beats the fourth film.

For little more than a fiver this is worth getting if you loved the old films, or if you want to show the kids that "it was better in them days."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Karate Kid 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Son enjoyed it as did I all those years ago when it first came out, quick delivery, good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great films who doesn't love karate kid, 25 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Karate Kid 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Very compact case with speedy delivery. Great films who doesn't love karate kid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Karate Kids, 22 April 2008
By 
M. G. Hatfield "trekle5" (North Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This boxset contains all 4 Karate Kid movies if you liked the movies on TV this boxset will allow to rewatch the movies anytime you wish.

The fourth and final film isn't that great but still watchable there are a number of extras that will please people who like DVD's for their extra and not the feature.

This is a good gift for any fan of The Karate Kid movies the perfect parnter that Amazon.co.uk suggest is also a great set of movies and a perfect gift for Eddie Murphy fans. Eddie has one of his best roles in that set of films buy both and enjoy a great set of films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Karate Kid 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This must be one of the best boxsets you can buy and a bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 21 Feb 2014
This arrived quickly and my son was thrilled with the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Karate Kid, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this box set for my husband as he watched the original Karate Kid years ago. This went down a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
nice to have them all to see the difference
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Karate Kid 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Very happy with this purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Karate Kid 1-4 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Perfect thank you :) *******
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Karate Kid 1-4 Box Set [DVD]
The Karate Kid 1-4 Box Set [DVD] by Christopher Cain (DVD - 2012)
£8.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews