Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


144 of 152 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vive la difference
Feel as one may about French films, it must be admitted that they bring something to the field of erotic cinema that is refreshingly 'real' , and the film 'Q' ('Desire') carries on this tradition. In an interview in the 'extras' section on the disk the director (Laurent Bouhnik ) states that he was attempting to present a more 'honest' and 'feminine' view of human...
Published on 17 Mar 2012 by DVD-OCD

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Real Sex (shocked)
Its a soft porn but its also a film about a girl grieving our her father, which leads her into having sex with other men and women and then finally sorting her issues out by helping others in there relationships. I must say with the sex being real it made me more interested in the film i think if it had been fake sex then i would of thought less of the film. There was a...
Published 5 months ago by Neil Horn


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

143 of 151 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vive la difference, 17 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Q [DVD] (DVD)
Feel as one may about French films, it must be admitted that they bring something to the field of erotic cinema that is refreshingly 'real' , and the film 'Q' ('Desire') carries on this tradition. In an interview in the 'extras' section on the disk the director (Laurent Bouhnik ) states that he was attempting to present a more 'honest' and 'feminine' view of human sexual relationships. The mechanism that he uses to achieve this goal seems to centre on focusing on the female characters in the story as they relate to life circumstances and men. The plot revolves around a group of young 20 somethingish individuals, who appear to all be acquainted, living in a small sea-side town. Played out against the grim economic realities of present times we follow the action of the principal female character, Cecile, as she comes to grips with her father's recent death. Apparently a bit 'un-hinged' by her personal loss she appears to be casting about for some satisfaction/resolution through a series of sexual dalliances and relationships. She is having 'issues' with her 'steady' boyfriend so she 'teases' some other guys into having sex with her and also gets involved in some sapphic action with the sexually naive & frustrated Alice. To a lesser extent the plot also attempts to track the sexual flounderings of some of the secondary characters and it can get a little confusing, on first viewing, as to who is with who and why they're doing what they're doing.

Indeed, 'frustration' is a key concept in this flik as the director, again, makes his point that, in the real world, sexual relationships are not always 'smooth' and 'hot' as depicted in the porno cinema. This film IS quite explicit in showing intimate sexual situations and full female (& male) nudity abounds. There are scenes of oral and auto eroticism, as well as hetero and lesbian liaisons - but no penetration, and the sex is all woven into the context of the story-line so that it does not come off as 'gratuitous'. In the final analysis, the film doesn't come to any grand conclusions - it is essentially a 'slice of life' examination of human relationships - but the 'thespians' are all very attractive and get naked a lot. I would say that the director achieved his objective in providing a more 'realistic' vision of eroticism, which ironically may lower its' actual erotic potential, but it is an easy and enjoyable watch (with lotsa naked bodies) and even has a (relatively) happy ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film of sighs!, 26 Mar 2013
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Q [DVD] (DVD)
Well it could easily be zero and it depends upon the mood, but I enjoyed and thought the sex was "realistic" in being erotic, clumsy, ridden with sudden false starts, impotence and sexual thrills. It is not porn because it is not violent enough and lingers on the erotic rather than the brutal.

Filled with erotic meanderings from the perception derived from women the film attempts to enter their day dreams similar to what I am picking up from the shades of grey books. Whereas women's daydreams were seen as chaste pure and settling upon babies and farms, this sees women stretching their imaginations to portray secret desires. They are based upon lesbianism, frottaging, multiple piercings, flirting, going down on the spot, instantaneous couplings and numerous other themes from the imagination.

It is not a startling film where you go wow what was that, but in a way, despite it being done before, it is a subversive film, chiming in with a modern post sensibility where the men are generally bewildered by what they are supposed to do. Male identities are eroded through a loss of job and the women therefore take on a different guise as new freedoms and responsibilities are placed upon them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm no french cinema expert, however..., 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Q [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this with my wife and we both enjoyed it. I read on here that one of the reviewers said there was no script, that the acting wasn't that great and it was all about the sex. I personally think that these comments are all pretty far from the truth. There is a very simple story, told very well. The film does have a strong explicit element and you have to admire both the casting, the direction and the acting in a film that does have such a strong provocative element for shooting in such a believable way. For the most part the shock factor is handled very well and I believe this film pulls it off. There's an element of humor in the drama that unfolds, that adds to an overall sense of mischief in the film, that spans right the way through to the direction to how the screenplay develops on screen. There are plenty of obvious things you can pick holes in. Like the fact the actors, especially the female roles, are all very attractive -but is this not true of a lot of mainstream Hollywood films?

In summary, this film is a bit of fun, watchable, well made, well acted and very rude. Not everything you watch has to be a life affirming moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stimulating and thought provoking, 20 Aug 2012
By 
BobM (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Q [DVD] (DVD)
French art films can be cutting edge or dreadfully dull. Q falls in the former category...excellent.
Following the antics of a femme fatale, and it has to be said a very beautiful femme fatale at that (Deborah Revie), and her girlfiends, the story line is a little difficult to comprehend at times.
What makes this watchable is the sheer brilliance with which the leading actress teases and cajoles men (and women) to gratify both her sexual needs and her need to be manipulative.
The sex (there is a lot of it) is very graphic. If you are at all apprehensive or offended by the sight of intimate arousal, both heterosexual and lesbian, then steer clear.
But, rather than being the focal point of the movie, the sexual content augments the story very well.
This probably would have been censored heavily not many years ago.
Overall? Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twenties Sexuality & Searching.., 1 Jun 2012
By 
brian (Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Q [DVD] (DVD)
This is, to my knowledge, a breakthrough film. It mostly successfully shows the diffuse sexuality and searching which is typical for some people in their twenties. Wonderfully photographed, it grabs your attention immediately and doesn't stop at the usual boundaries of filming nudity and direct sexuality. It's not porn, though it can be arousing at times. The ending was a bit over the top for me. But overall, an excellent film. I would like to see the lines this film crosses eliminated when appropriate. It's the 21st century. The standard of extreme violence and autopsies being ok for family television but showing sexuality in a serious film being taboo..we need to move on. This film, intrinsically worthwhile, also helps loosen the moronic censorship standards. Check it out. Brian Tlougan, author of A-list: The Best in Cinema & TV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Real Sex (shocked), 18 Feb 2014
This review is from: Q [DVD] (DVD)
Its a soft porn but its also a film about a girl grieving our her father, which leads her into having sex with other men and women and then finally sorting her issues out by helping others in there relationships. I must say with the sex being real it made me more interested in the film i think if it had been fake sex then i would of thought less of the film. There was a lack of humor in it for me as the film seemed to take itself very serious and as there was not a strong core to the film it made it less believable, where if a few lighter moments had of be present the story line would have made more sense!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Q, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Q [DVD] (DVD)
This film was well acted and had a story line that you could follow and was easy watching it mirrored what can happen in real life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and watchable, 10 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Q [DVD] (DVD)
Well made French film with a clever interplay between characters,the sex scenes are full on,but done tastefully so they are a integral part of the film and not smutty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of female nudy but I did not get the point, 9 July 2012
By 
Alejandro Bisio "abisio" (Miami, Fl) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Q [DVD] (DVD)
Q tries to say something but it is not really easy to understand. I was informed that this movie was like a femenine version of PASOLINI's TEOREMA.

There is a person (a woman) that affects the life of some people but nothing makes a lot of sense. TEOREMA occured within a bourgeois family and there was a political and religious metaphor in it. Here, are random characters; each one with sexual related issues that somehow get acquainted with the main character and she helps them ( in very naive ways; I must say).

There are a couple of brief but strong and very realistic sexual scenes but it is not pornography or even really erotic.

In brief; I cannot say it is a bad movie but it was obviously not what I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best, 13 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Q [DVD] (DVD)
This really does what it sets out to do , ie it is sexy and erotic , fun and moving . it all works so well because Deborah Revy is magically flirtous and manages to change the lives of all around her . Cant recommend this film enough , so many films just pretend to show sex but this actually feels so real but not in a sleazy way . Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Q [DVD]
Q [DVD] by Laurent Bouhnik (DVD - 2011)
4.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews