Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unabashed vintage Moore and 70's
This is THE series of the seventies. Aston Martins and Ferraris (no eco-guilt), Martinis (no daily units), cigars (no health warnings), kipper ties and incredible lapels (exuberant taste), girls, exotic locations, and plots that were a triumph of fun over angst and gritty realism (we had enough of that on those mean streets of the Royal County of Berkshire!)...
Published on 14 Mar 2012 by John Fareham

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ... the last two discs are just thrown in for good measure, because in the written material (stupidly put ...
I think that the last two discs are just thrown in for good measure, because in the written material (stupidly put under the jewel box, so you can hardly read te script) there are only 7 discs described. There are 24 episodes of this series only, and those are on the first 6 discs, the 7th is with special features.
The series are nostalgic reminder, loved it then,...
Published 3 months ago by Donnar


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unabashed vintage Moore and 70's, 14 Mar 2012
This is THE series of the seventies. Aston Martins and Ferraris (no eco-guilt), Martinis (no daily units), cigars (no health warnings), kipper ties and incredible lapels (exuberant taste), girls, exotic locations, and plots that were a triumph of fun over angst and gritty realism (we had enough of that on those mean streets of the Royal County of Berkshire!).

Moore is superb, delivering lines like "I cleaned my own shoes" with trademark deep voice and super-intense acting (both eyebrows in action) while Curtis conforms to most Home County ideals of a self-made American. Moore delivers the greatest pick-up line in history, "My name is Lord Brett Sinclair. Brett to my friends - you may call me darling" which we all rejoiced in adapting when in the Lower Sixth. Our heroes right wrongs, the violence is under control and of the "manly sock to the jaw" type in the main, and the plots are undemanding but fun.

I had not seen the series since it was first shown on TV (I regarded it as a lifestyle training session) and it has held up well. It may be dated in terms of what can be done by camera-crews now but it was nearly cutting edge then - and certainly was not set-bound as so often the fabulous ITC series were. Watching the episodes unfurl it was surprising how much I remembered from some three decades ago which confirms the impact it had.

The opening music is by the fab John Barry (Themeology: The Best of John Barry)and I still think it is one of the best he has ever done, matched by clever opening credits which give the entire back-story of the two characters. Roger Moore designed his own clothes, Tony Curtis bizarrely wore gloves non-stop (including washing his hands in them! I don't think Rog was acting when he looked askance), and there are plenty of appearances by solid character actors or future stars. The song (and accompanying montage) "Gotta Get away" in the pilot sum up the joyous freedom of the seventies and inspire me most times I get behind the wheel of my rather less exotic cars and head off anywhere glamorous. In fact looking back this series must have had a profound impact on me!

At worst there are two episodes that are weak, there are at least five which are exemplary and the rest are cracking good fun. It was a pity that disappointing sales in America (poor scheduling/lack of taste according to preferences) meant this series was never really picked up and I greatly fear the youth of today will not enjoy this but for those of us a certain age, from an era when we had the hopes to dream and the expectations of aspiration; it is a fantastic reminder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On HD - The early 70's never looked better!, 13 Jan 2012
By 
W. Beckett (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Over 40 years later, and there's nothing really new that can be added about the content of the series. You either like it or dismiss it. Frothy harmless fun... Tony Curtis stil trying to prove his agility in middle age, and the lead cars and fashions not really looking out of place in today's society... However, if you're wondering about the HD transfers than this box set won't let you down. There's no grain and the colours are so bright and vivid that sometimes it's like looking through a window back into the early seventies. In fact because of this, the only thing which lets the show down is the scenes involving back protection. A pity some of these couldn't be colour corrected and revamped? On the whole though, the remasters are 99 percent. I did spot a hair in the lens in one scene and a blemish in another. Somehow curiously missed - maybe because they were on the edges on the screen? But this is sheer nit-picking, since you only notice these more due to the rest of the episodes looking so lush and re-polished. Extras are also great and packaged with the care and attention we've come to expect of Network. All we need now of course is for Network to speed up the blu-ray releases of other old ITC series? Randall and Hopkirk next please anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable nostalgia., 18 Aug 2009
By 
Recently bought this boxset thinking it wouldnt be as good as i remember it,but i was wrong it was just as enjoyable nearly 30 years after i first seen it as a 14 year-old.In most episodes ,certainly not all,the humour between the two leads works very well,the story lines are reasonable and with the usual cast of supporting actors for ITC the standard of acting is high.The most pleasing thing about this boxset was the splendid extras.Although only 3 commentaries is disappointing ,the documentary "the morning after"(48:50),the dutch tv programme "avroskoop"(19:43) and tony curtis interview from 1974(14:37)fill in any blank spaces.There is also top of the pops footage(2:14) and news and advertising footage(10:00),also episode trailers and titles.The final extra is an episode of the saint "the ex-king of diamonds" which is regarded as the pilot for the persuaders,where the saint teams up with an american on the riviera,which has a commentary with roger moore and others.There is also a 24 page booklet and 4 movie versions(where two unrelated episodes are strung together),this ,i think, was a waste of two discs but some may enjoy them.So all in all a very good set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic masterpiece of Television History renewed!, 26 Sep 2011
By 
P. Stefano (Rome, IT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm very pleased for the HD transfer of this fantastic TV Series. I appreciated very much the richest extra photogalleries also. Audio language is English stereo 2.0 only (a pity other languages like french and - obviously for me - italian, countries where the series has got great success, are not available) with english subtitles. Commentary not subtitled. The 24 episodes are shared in 5 blu ray discs. The remaining discs are dvds which mainly contain the feature-length movies compilations. The box set is completed with a very interesting series guide booklet (over 150 pages) by Andrew Pixley. In my judgement, a "must" for every fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Persuaders, 3 July 2009
By 
Jenny Murnane (Melbourne,Australia) - See all my reviews
I do remember back in 1971 when I was 11 years old, that this was one of my favourite T.V. series. I even still have pictures of the 2 stars on my old school books. I know back then that I didn't get to see the whole series, so now in my late 40's, it is such a treat to be able to watch all 24 episodes and really appreciate that wonderful British tongue in cheek humour. Roger Moore and Tony Curtis were a great partnership, as they did it so well. The interviews with the 2 stars now in their 80's, and the production team, what a wonderful trip down memory lane it is for fans of the series.
I agree with Johnny Goodman, the production executive 'I wish they'd made more, it would've been great.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Caper, 20 July 2009
By 
Mark Chawner "filmbuff99" (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
They don't make 'em like this anymore - a top British TV star (Moore) and a top Hollywood star (Curtis) are teamed together to foil crimes and mysteries at home and abroad (usually the French Riviera!) with a mixture of thrills, spills and laughter. At the time it was the most expensive TV show and was originally aimed at the 'all-important' American market; sadly, it did not take off over there so the intended number of episodes was reduced. I loved it when I was 10 years old and I'm looking forward to watching the whole series again. It's a pity there's no-one like Lew Grade - who commissioned the show, along with the likes of The Saint, Danger Man and The Prisoner - around these days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 17 Oct 2014
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Persuaders!: The Complete Series - [ITV] - [Network] - [DVD] (DVD)
This takes me back, the Persuaders only ran for one brilliant series, sadly because it didn't take off in America.
It was a big budget trans-atlantic affair with two Hollywood giants Curtis + Moore in the leading roles.
If you watched them in the seventies you will know how good they are.
If you are fresh to the show then i can tell you this, the Persuaders is about two millionaires who become amateur detectives
and get involved in various adventures. The show is light hearted with copious comic relief and larger than life villains.
This is a charming show that i admit is dated but the stars have charisma and it is highly entertaining.
Finally in my opinion it has the best theme tune ever for a t.v. show, by the legendary John Barry.
Fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good transfer, and worth the money, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Paul Simpson (Camberley, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Comments are about the blu-ray.

The transfer is excellent, sound is great and the extras are lovingly put together, including a very detailed (and interesting) booklet about the series. All the episodes are on here, and the special features are copious and detailed (there was a full listing on the Amazon description). The documentary is a good one. Very good.

Other reviewers will describe the programme (which was of it's time, but is still great entertainment - and Moore and Curtis clearly had great chemistry! I never knew that originally the series was to be called "The Friendly Persuaders", which explains what I al;ways thought was a slightly odd title, even in a world of "The Adventurer" and "The Protectors".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Vintage TV, 17 Jan 2013
By 
A. J. Riley (Tyldesley, Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Persuaders!: The Complete Series - [ITV] - [Network] - [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent prints of this brilliantly good humoured series. Curtis and Moore excell and have a great on-screen rapport and there's enough humour without it becoming silly. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Persuaders...DVD TV Series, 24 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. George Dionyssopoulos (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the best, an absolute journey with two of the masters of the screen Roger Moore and Tony Curtis as they go jet setting and having one adventure after another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Persuaders!: The Complete Series - [ITV] - [Network] - [DVD]
£25.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews