Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fits the mid-2012 15" MacBook Pro perfectly
This caddy fits the mid-2012 15" MacBook Pro perfectly. All the required holes to screw the caddy to the chassis are present so that the drive can be secured firmly and it is not floating around.

Would have given it 5 stars but for the lack of instructions.
Published 20 months ago by J.H.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Why so expensive?! It's just a dumb SATA connector +bulking material!
These caddies work simply by fitting around the 2.5" Hard Drive or SSD, and passing its SATA connection to the optical drive bay SATA connection of your laptop. They contain NO active electronics nor anything else - just metal and plastic to hold the drive in place. Probably not even a spare drive bezel (plastic bit that contains the 'eject' button). So why so expensive...
Published 18 months ago by Sill E Man


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Works, good price, a few minor issues, 7 Oct 2011
By 
Christian Ashby (Campbell, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2nd HDD Hard Drive Optical Bay Caddy For Apple Macbook/MacBook Pro Unibody
Does pretty much what it says on the tin, but a few issues:

1. What do the 'extra screw holes' actually achieve? In my Mid-2010 MBP, I couldn't find how these would be useful.
2. There's no obvious screw mounting points for the drive, so it's loose. Not actually an issue given the snug fit to the hardware, but still not 100% ideal. Could do with a better securing solution.
3. Could really do with instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect but it works!, 26 Aug 2012
This review is from: 2nd HDD Hard Drive Optical Bay Caddy For Apple Macbook/MacBook Pro Unibody
I purchased this item to replace my slim dvd in a macbbok early 2011 model. No instructions. You have to find a way to do it at the internet. The most annoying thing is that this bay caddy lacks two extra holes so someone can say it is a perfectly put in place .. But at the end evrything is working!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Amazon and great product, 5 Aug 2012
By 
Hasan (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2nd HDD Hard Drive Optical Bay Caddy For Apple Macbook/MacBook Pro Unibody
amazing amazon with this amazing product. my first purchase with amazon. a little bit worried first since i live in sweden. but the package arrived just in time with an outstanding condition. great amazon.

fits perfectly with my macbook pro 15.6" early 2011 model. the caddy comes with four screw to hold the hdd in the bay so great protection. excellent product for an excellent price. a must buy if you want to use an extra hdd instead of dvd rom. don't go with the negative reviews. very simple to install but it has an outstanding impact on the overall system performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy, 16 July 2012
This review is from: 2nd HDD Hard Drive Optical Bay Caddy For Apple Macbook/MacBook Pro Unibody
This part was an absolute life saver for the project I wanted to do.
I used this to add an SSD to my mac book Pro while also keeping the 500GB hard drive I already had in there.
This makes it so you have both speed and storage.
Definitely worth the price if you need to add a second drive to your mac.
The only downside is you loose your optical drive but now a days that is not used as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best update I have bought, 7 Jan 2013
By 
J. Campbell (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2nd HDD Hard Drive Optical Bay Caddy For Apple Macbook/MacBook Pro Unibody
Easy to install, works great in Macbook pro, Startup goes from 45 secs to 15 secs and everything else is just so much quicker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't work, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2nd HDD Hard Drive Optical Bay Caddy For Apple Macbook/MacBook Pro Unibody
I Tried to use with an SSD, and then with an HDD on a MacBook Pro late 2011 and didn't work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews