Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review
Easy read, just what I expected. Good time passer.not too involved and can easily be put down and picked up to resume.
Published 19 months ago by M. Craig

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars i really have to stop buying trash
quite a shock, in so much as how bad this book really is i have read one or two of his paper offerings and they were quite good on equal terms with Chris Ryan if not to the standard of Andy McNab. these e novels are dire at one point there is a scene early on where the side of the transit type van they are racing along a dry desert road keeping pace with Jeeps is riddled...
Published 22 months ago by A. Garfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review, 4 Feb 2013
By 
M. Craig (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Ops: Libya (Kindle Edition)
Easy read, just what I expected. Good time passer.not too involved and can easily be put down and picked up to resume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars i really have to stop buying trash, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Ops: Libya (Kindle Edition)
quite a shock, in so much as how bad this book really is i have read one or two of his paper offerings and they were quite good on equal terms with Chris Ryan if not to the standard of Andy McNab. these e novels are dire at one point there is a scene early on where the side of the transit type van they are racing along a dry desert road keeping pace with Jeeps is riddled with BulletS and no one is hit ? the lead hero is carrying an sa80 (no special forces uses them as they are un reliable and a cumbersome weapon) the team don't really know each other and are made up of different nationality and apparently all work together fine ? total fantasy and a poor fantasy at that.
avoid these books there are better out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 10 Feb 2012
This review is from: Black Ops: Libya (Kindle Edition)
As a serving soldier I found reading this story to be quite insulting. The author has clearly done very little in the way of research and quite frankly the plot itself is laughable.
Add to that a rather long list of spelling mistakes and you simply have a very poorly conceived product.

Please save your time and money and avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great, Concise Read, 18 Nov 2011
This review is from: Black Ops: Libya (Kindle Edition)
I was interested by the premise of this story, a novella about the Libyan war published straight after it happened, and once I got into it, I was pleased I had. It is a racy conspiracy story that takes you right inside the downfall of Tripoli, and gives you a sense of what it might be like for the special forces boy operating there. Great entertainment, with some realism as well. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very topical, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Ops: Libya (Kindle Edition)
very up to date with current affairs, which you can relate to. a really great read and leaves you wanting for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A 20 min read, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Ops: Libya (Kindle Edition)
Should be re classified as a short story poor ending then a large page filler from next book wont bother with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Childish rubbish, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Ops: Libya (Kindle Edition)
Absolute rubbish. The author clearly has no military experience and no knowledge of combat, equipment, ballistics or anything else related to the military.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better..needs more research and then to be edited, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: Black Ops: Libya (Kindle Edition)
OK so this book has some plus points, fast paced and set in a 'current' location and action a plenty. However there is little research and it is not very convincing. There is a scene where the 'black ops' unit take a Renault Kangoo Van and chase a pair of Land Rovers, across rough terrain whilst shooting out of the side. Lynn claims that the van would shield the team from rounds er... no they would cut through the side like butter. Then later on they buy an old Golf GTI for $3000, in a war zone. It would have been at least $10,000 if the owner had even have wanted to part with it. The characters also are paper thin and unconvincing. I admire what Lynn was trying to do but rather than fiction it is fantasy, escapism not a thriller. It reads very much like a rough first draft. I had thought about trying his other books but now will not bother. My advice stick with the other SAS authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deeply disapointing, 2 Feb 2012
This review is from: Black Ops: Libya (Kindle Edition)
I was expecting more from this book based on the reviews. It was written in a such a simplistic style that I found myself wondering if this book had gone from first draft directly to print. The characters are unconvincing and impossible to engage with.
The action sequences would leave anyone with any military experience either groaning or laughing. This author will not be featuring in future searches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining claptrap, 5 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Ops: Libya (Kindle Edition)
You have to give him credit. Matt Lynn has chutzpah. Here he has produced a novelette off the cuff without a grain of real knowledge about his subject, merely riding on the back of news reports from Libya and putting togther a reasonable plot. If you can overlook a storyline that has more holes than camo net, cardboard characters, very limited knowledge of matters military and a script littered with spelling, punctuation and typing errors it's an entertaining read. I could see this tale of oh, so derring-do gracing the pages of a boy's comic of the 50s. 'Rover and Adventure' would have lapped it up with a few deleted expletives. That there is a market for this type of literature is borne out by the number of 5-star reviews; or pehaps it just goes to show you can fool some of the people some of the time.
I don't know if Matt bothered to research any of the military content; it seems not. There are so many inconsistences that they cannot all be mentioned but I've chosen two as worthy of highlighting. MC, Alex Marden, is supposedly ex-SAS but he carries an SA80 rifle which is the staple weapon of the green army. No self-respecting Special Forces soldier would be seen dead with one, preferring Canadian Colt C7 carbines or something manufactured by Heckler and Koch such as the model 53. The Browning High Power went out of fashion for Special Forces in the 1980s and soldiers now have a choice of handgun which could be a Sig 226 or Glock 17.
The opening chapter has Marden musing on whether he should 'abseil' out of a helicopter wearing gloves or not. The technique is called fast roping, not abseiling, and gloves are specially issued for use. Marden's argument with himself was whether wearing gloves he could get his finger on the trigger of the SA80 quickly enough should he drop into a hot DZ. As SA80s are designed with large trigger guards and all soldiers are trained to fight wearing full NBC kit (including gloves) this should never have been an issue. But it's par for the course with Matt Lynn's limited knowledge of his subject matter.
Another character is an Israeli Mossad agent called Zena who reminded me constantly of NCIS's Mossad agent called Ziva. I wonder if there's any connection?
At the end the reader is short changed. The aim of Marden's operation was to retrieve a document said to be able to bring down both the American and British governments should it be made public. So toxic was this document that Marden's superiors in 'Unit 5' were prepared to kill their own men should they have read it. Marden does but his lie that he hadn't is taken, unconvincingly, at face value. Poor readers are not let into the contents of said document, it being too hard a job for the writer to concoct believeable wording.
At £1.49 this novelette is vastly overpriced. 49p would do it more justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Ops: Libya
Black Ops: Libya by Matt Lynn
£1.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews