Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good piece of kit
Great lens producing good photos. Not too heavy but less blurring if used with a tripod on NEX 7 as makes the camera front heavy.
Published 19 months ago by Barikiwa

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This lens is cheap for a reason cannot be compared with other similar lenses
The lens was advertised as having instructions and I also expected a Sony guarantee. It came in a plain brown box. Unlike the Sony camera case I ordered from Amazon at the same time it has no Sony paperwork whatsoever. There are no instructions, no guarantee etc. Had a wanted a lens of this pedigree I would have gone to eBay not Amazon. I have tried to leave my review on...
Published 1 month ago by Andy C


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good piece of kit, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony High Zoom 55-210mm E-Mount Lens (Accessory)
Great lens producing good photos. Not too heavy but less blurring if used with a tripod on NEX 7 as makes the camera front heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Met expectations, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony High Zoom 55-210mm E-Mount Lens (Accessory)
The Sony Nex5n with an 18-55mm lens gives great results having moved up from a Canon IXY 800IS. While the 18-55mm lens has proved versatile, I was looking for a high zoom lens to provide more photo opportunities. The High Zoom 55-210mm lens has not disappointed. Results have been pleasing: good definition, sharp images. When using the lens at maximum zoom and I've not had a tripod handy, I've used the anti-motion blur setting which has worked well with the lens. At maximum zoom and with the hood attached the total length of the lens is 250mm (9.75in) so the camera a lens needs good support when used. Other than this minor drawback, I've been pleased with the lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sony SEL55210 zoom lens, 31 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. Peter D. Howes (Greater London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony High Zoom 55-210mm E-Mount Lens (Accessory)
The Sony NEX5 camera is a great camera, but the 18-55 zoom lens which comes with the camera is woefully short of zoom capability. The options to resolve this deficiency are either to replace this lens with the 18 - 210 zoom, which is heavy and very expensive, or to add the SEL55210 lens to the system. This was the option I chose and I can report that this lens provides the zoom facility previously lacking in my system. The lens is quite light and small. The image quality is excellent at all zoom settings. I would thoroughly recommend this lens to anyone with a Sony NEX camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good extension, 18 July 2013
By 
Marco Malgarini (Rome, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony High Zoom 55-210mm E-Mount Lens (Accessory)
This is a good extension to my Sony mirrorless, now featuring a 16-210mm lens system very adaptable to any use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony 55-200mm Lens, 17 May 2012
By 
C. Newby-Robson "themadprofessor" (Peterborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony High Zoom 55-210mm E-Mount Lens (Accessory)
I just bought the Sony NEX 5N camera kit consisting go the 18-55 and 55-200mm lenses. I am normally somewhat sceptical about the performance of so called "kit" lenses supplied with a camera body, however in this case I have so far been pleasantly surprised. The lens seems to be reasonably solidly buiilt with an aluminium outer tube. The inner extending lens tube is made of plastic, and it does wobble slightly but I have not noticed any effect on picture quality so far. The lens is not perfect and there is noticeable pincushion as well as Barrel distortion. I have been an avid supporter of the programme "DXO Optics" which in addition to correcting over and under exposure has lens specific correction tables for barrel and pincushion distortion. I was excited to discover that the NEX-5N had built in compensation for vignetting as well as these lens distortions.

I tested this out by taking shots both "raw" and "jpeg" and could easily see that the camera was correcting the lenses aberrations. I am very pleased by this and have started just taking "jpegs" for the time being as the onboard processing seems to be doing an excellent job.

All in all I am very pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite lenses on a Nex camera, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony High Zoom 55-210mm E-Mount Lens (Accessory)
This lens is sharp, accurate, quick to focus and has a decent reach. I have used it for wildlife and at air shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars much needed extra reach, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony High Zoom 55-210mm E-Mount Lens (Accessory)
I found that the standard 18-55 lens for the nex was good but would be very limited of what you could capture (obviously being only 18-55) .Had the opportunity to see some amazing things in some large stadiums and this does the trick ,captured some amazing images with this .Works fine on full zoom ,even on high shutter speeds ,im not a pro by any means but found this to be a great lens .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sony High Zoom 55-210, 3 Jan 2013
This review is from: Sony High Zoom 55-210mm E-Mount Lens (Accessory)
For the price, an excellent piece of optics. Well complimenting the 18-55 zoom lens that came standard with my Sony NEX 5R cameras. Plus this lens is fairly light and compact hence easy to carry around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars zoom in, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony High Zoom 55-210mm E-Mount Lens (Accessory)
Gives that extra zoom to nex cameras that is missing from the bundled lens
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony High Zoom 55-210mm E-Mount Lens (Accessory)
Great piece of kit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony High Zoom 55-210mm E-Mount Lens
189.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews