Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
8
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
1
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2014
I bought this Kindle book based on the previous reviews. I enjoyed the story which was a brief taster of books to come. I won`t go into any detail, but was expecting a ghostly presence in the black armor. A very unusual and magical medieval story, which keeps you guessing as to the outcome!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
I thought that the book was abit slow with few action parts. There were not enough battle seens althow the caracters were very strong. I like the fact the writer keeps the story line on the one caracter and dosent fragment the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2011
Introduction
You should know that this is the first in a series of stories featuring Jake Savage an English archer thrust into the horrors of war during the Hundred Years War in Fourteenth Century France [Info from author].

My Expectations
I expected a short and entertaining story which gives a first impression of the English archer Jake Savage.

The Delivery

Be warned! This is a violent story and not a Sunday afternoon tea time read.
I don't know how familiar you are with Hundred Years War. It was a horrible time full of blood, violence and disease. In the end France lost half of its population.

Mark Lord delivers a story which has nothing to do with an adventure an average reader would expect. I have been surprised too. I'm not addicted to violence and I think the story would not work on the way it does without all the violence. Mark Lord gives a very intense and painstakingly depiction of the horrors of war. The setting is an unexpected one and the supernatural sparkle intensifies the atmosphere a lot. The description of the surrounding is well dosed and fit. The story delivers one more example which you find so often in military history:
Arrogance combined with power does not always win the day.
Jake Savage seems to be a good archer. Compared to his comrades he acts cautious. Beside that he does something which one should not expect from a common soldier: He think and reflects his situation.
The pacing is excellent and Mark Lord does not waste a word too much. The end is a tricky one. It is not an expected one and it delivers not the 100% solution. But it is as satisfying as the story itself.

Thumbs up or down
I hope there will be more Jake Savage stories (a full novel would be great) soon.
Chivalry: A Jake Savage Adventure satisfied my craving for historical fiction with a mystery touch which is taking a greater part within my reading comfort zone of epic fantasy, steampunk and space opera.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2011
This is a well crafted tale of knightly misadventure, set during the Hundred Years war. You can feel every blow of sword and pole-arm through the realism of the action sequences.
In this story, you follow Jake Savage as he struggles with his personal standards and morality in a time and place filled with violence and violation. He acts with honour, and loyalty; supporting his dark-souled comrades in their efforts to take a French strong-hold and find sustenance for another night. Standing in their way is a mysterious knightly figure, standing silent in defence of his lady. As the hardened English men-at-arms advance on their foe, the calls from the defiant lady seem cruel and taunting, as she apparently offers herself to the victor.
The black knight seems invincible, and the English advances are smoothly dispatched.

Read this short by Mark Lord and discover how chivalry can still be found, even in the darkest of times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2011
The weather in France is foul and Sir Robert's company are hungry and desperate. Jake Savage and his companions are beating their way through the rain in search of provisions when they come to a tent, a lady and a knight in black armour. The knight is a formidable opponent, but the lady's challenge is clear: conquer him and take me and my lands. The combat is brutal, but Jake's humanity leads him to a fitting conclusion.

This is a strongly-written and enjoyable tale with a good feeling for medieval storytelling and I am happy to recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
A good read will recommend as a starting book 📚
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
Not too bad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
Not great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.