Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales of life in a village school, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Sheffield Collection 6 Books Set (Educating Jack, Teacher, Teacher !, Mister Teacher, Village Teacher, Dear Teacher, Please Sir) (Paperback)
A must for anyone who loves a good laugh,cannot put this down.Jack Sheffield was once a teacher in Keighley and records many amusing stories of life in a village school.If you like Gervase Phinn you will love this.The six book collection at a bargain price and excellent delivery with Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia!!!, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. John Kenneth Roelich "Pam Roelich" (Carlisle, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jack Sheffield Collection 6 Books Set (Educating Jack, Teacher, Teacher !, Mister Teacher, Village Teacher, Dear Teacher, Please Sir) (Paperback)
As a retired village head teacher, Jack Sheffield brought back very many happy memories. Although my time as head was 3 decades later all the 'little' jobs,other than as teaching head, that Jack had to do rang a bell! I remember being stuck in the boiler room trying to coax a reluctant boiler to function! I also remember the school being the centre of the community and how important the parents were in helping the school in many different ways. Every member of staff was also a vital part of the school's successful development. Couldn't put the books down!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish he had been at my school!!!, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Sheffield Collection 6 Books Set (Educating Jack, Teacher, Teacher !, Mister Teacher, Village Teacher, Dear Teacher, Please Sir) (Paperback)
Absolutely brilliant!! Pity infant/junior schools aren't more like this these days. Kids might grow up knowing right from wrong, and have respect for other people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read - Jack Sheffield, 19 Aug 2014
This review is from: Jack Sheffield Collection 6 Books Set (Educating Jack, Teacher, Teacher !, Mister Teacher, Village Teacher, Dear Teacher, Please Sir) (Paperback)
Jack Sheffield has captured the humour and pathos that has been experienced by primary school teachers for generations. His writing expresses his deep understanding of the needs of young people, from any generation. He portrays the involvement of the whole school community, with concise accuracy, in educating primary school children in an experiential ethos. Not only does he reflect on his part in education, but he entwines the anecdotal tales with a gripping personal storyline which makes you want to read on!
Having followed a very similar career to Jack, including the same years at St.John's College in York, I can empathise with every emotion Jack describes. My wife has also become an avid reader of his work and several friends are also addicted!
More .......Please Sir!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first class, 10 Mar 2014
This review is from: Jack Sheffield Collection 6 Books Set (Educating Jack, Teacher, Teacher !, Mister Teacher, Village Teacher, Dear Teacher, Please Sir) (Paperback)
all these books are about a village school, from a head teacher view they are fantastic read, amusing but also a good read,
you wont be able to put them down. also they are priced so well at amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jack sheffield, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Sheffield Collection 6 Books Set (Educating Jack, Teacher, Teacher !, Mister Teacher, Village Teacher, Dear Teacher, Please Sir) (Paperback)
a good series well written.one book flows easily to the next,taking you from one school year into the next. well written by an author who knows what school life is about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia at its best, 12 Sep 2014
This review is from: Jack Sheffield Collection 6 Books Set (Educating Jack, Teacher, Teacher !, Mister Teacher, Village Teacher, Dear Teacher, Please Sir) (Paperback)
If you look back on your school days with nostagia, these books are for you. My schooldays were in the fifties and I remember them really well, ( better than what happened a few days ago!!) Jack Sheffield captures all of this nostagia with lovely tales of his school and when you read them you can almost feel as if you are there with him. I have read all 6 of these and also the 2 following books and each one leaves you with a cliff hanger so that you can't wait for the next one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Review, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Sheffield Collection 6 Books Set (Educating Jack, Teacher, Teacher !, Mister Teacher, Village Teacher, Dear Teacher, Please Sir) (Paperback)
If you like Gervaise Phinn you'll really enjoy these. Gentle and heartwarming; a joy from start to finish. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love these!, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Sheffield Collection 6 Books Set (Educating Jack, Teacher, Teacher !, Mister Teacher, Village Teacher, Dear Teacher, Please Sir) (Paperback)
Wonderful series of books......as a retired teacher I recognise so many of his characters. My only quibble is that Jack has a rather odd habit of describing what the female characters are wearing........o.k. when it adds substance to the character he's describing but otherwise it becomes tedious and rather amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AN ABSOLUTE MUST FOR ALL AVID READERS, 17 Jun 2014
This review is from: Jack Sheffield Collection 6 Books Set (Educating Jack, Teacher, Teacher !, Mister Teacher, Village Teacher, Dear Teacher, Please Sir) (Paperback)
I strongly recommend reading these books. Jack Sheffield writes heart-warming, bitter-sweet stories. I've laughed and cried when reading these books and can't wait until his new one is published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews