Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably watchable
I wasn't originally going to buy this at it's original price due to the bad reviews but once the price dropped I thought why not? How am a Bruce lee fan. It's also worth noting the series got good reviews on IMDB. I knew before I bought this some of the fight scenes were made up considering the series is 180 minutes long. I have to say Kwok-Kwan Chan played Bruce Lee...
Published 12 months ago by Karl Dickinson

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bruce must be turning in his grave
As a fan of Bruce Lee for 40 years I've seen my share of good, bad and indifferent documentaries and bio pics. This definitely falls into the category of bad. Imagine Bruce Lee in a 3 hour episode of 'Home an Away' and you get a good idea of the standard of 'The Legend of Bruce Lee'.
Bruce was a man, who in his all to short life pursued the search for truth. Truth in...
Published on 12 Jan 2012 by Deano


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TV Show and it shows., 5 Jan 2012
By 
P. Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Terrible Chinese TV show which was shown in multiple parts now put together for this dvd release. The actor looks slightly similar to Bruce... right ok that's it. Shows 100% that this is a low budget tv show, the sequences are terrible and most of the events just didn't happen in the life of Bruce Lee. Rubbish. I suggest that you check out a documentary instead such as How Bruce Lee changed the World or a Warriors Journey or something similar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars utter rubbish, 18 July 2012
I like a mixture of films and especially films with good action sequences and a story....it doesn't have to be amazing for me to enjoy it. As far as martial arts films go Ip Man is something I really liked. I've seen many Bruce Lee films and wanted to see this....cover looked promising. How wrong can someone be and sucked in by a shiny cover!! The reviewer who said this is like a 3 hour version of home and away was spot on. If that sounds like torture then do yourself a favour and avoid this crap!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars could of been so much better., 9 May 2012
By 
S. Ditta (uk birmingham) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend Of Bruce Lee [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
1st of all the whole film is in the chinese language wich is the 1st screw up,2nd no extras interviews deleted scenes etc as available on other blurays.at times i didnt get the film at all the acting seems so immature the extras@all.the package is very tempting@believe its done on a high bugdet,overall sad movie brought much shame on lee,s family specially the daughter who was behind it id give 23/100 for this silly film CRAP CRAP CRAP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Legend Of Bruce Lee..., 12 Feb 2012
Terrible "film".. DO NOT BUY!!!
This along with all other bio-pics of Bruce Lee, gets his films mixed up with his real life. Here I thought was an opportunity to take the Jason Scott Lee film and the recent Lee film with input from his brothers and sisters, "The Young Bruce Lee" and take it a step further. At least that film looked the part.

The reason I bought it was because it had Shannon's name above it as executive producer. Surely this would be a faithful account of Bruce Lee's life. Wrong!!!
The characters were fictional, "yellow-skin" "Master Ye" (whatever he was called)
"James"...
I collect anything to do with Bruce Lee, don't lend anyone anything. But this I will lend to my little nephews and tell them they can keep it as long as they like.
And to think, I wasn't going to moan that it was filmed on the same camera that films Corrie & Eastenders. As long as it was faithful to Bruce Lee's memory.
Poor film all round... Shame on you Shannon Lee... The Legend Of Bruce Lee [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Lee Review, 11 Feb 2012
By 
M. S. Akerman "Makerman" (South England, Hampshire, Havant) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
All im going to say is that this film is terrible............ i turned it off after 30 minutes, it was too low budget, the editing was awful, too many contingency errors and poor acting. One thing which they didn't even do was shadow focus.... If your looking for a high budget martial art film avoid this!!!! and buy all the Ip man movies because they are amazing!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Legend of Bruce Lee Blu-Ray, 5 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Legend Of Bruce Lee [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've been a huge fan of Bruce Lee since the 70's and have all his films (even some dodgy looky likey films!), many documentary's & books on him.

I heard about this TV show a couple of years ago & every so often would check to see if it was out on dvd. I finally saw it on sale on Friday bought the Blu-Ray sitting down to watch it on Saturday. I feel like I lost 3 hours of my my life watching it! The film spends the first 2 and a bit hours on Bruce's early life (teens onwards)and at times resemble a generic kug fu film, troubled boy always getting into fights, gets a kung fu master & learns life lessons etc. It skips over events that actually happened & adds events that seem very made up (the ongoing battles with his Hong Kong nemesis for example).

After 2 hours or so of watching this, I'm thinking "what about his movie career?", aren't they going to mention it? At this point no mention of Bruce wanting to be an actor, nothing! Then all of a sudden a "famous" Hollywood producer seems him in a competition & he's cast in the "film" (not series) Green Hornet, we then get a montage of scenes from his films, the best of which is the Game of Death scene where he looks great by the way in the famous yellow jumpsuit. There's no mention of the struggles he had becoming a movie star or the stuggle he had as an Asian being accepted as a movie star in Hollywood, just bang bang, seen in a competion becomes a big movie star!

Finally [SPOILER ALERT] he dies, very quickly and with little explanation, just all of a sudden an ambulance appears & you see him dead in a hospital bed.

I think the main problem, apart from some of the acting, in particular the non Asian actors (why are Caucasian or Western actors in kung fu films so so bad??) is that they've re-cut this from a marathon series and have chosen to focus most of it on his early life just briefly skipping over Bruce's film career, this for me is a big mistake. To the general public Bruce was a movie star and that should have taken up a lot more of the film.

The Blu-Ray itself is the most disappointing thing about this package, absolutely no features whatsoever! Not even a trailer, nothing! A documentary on Bruce would have made this more a more bearable experience. Also the subtitles seem to be translated too literally so a times you loose the nuances of what's actually being said & it leaves you a bit confused.

What of the star? Facially the "star" is a pretty good look alike (maybe the most convincing one I've seen), however he exudes absolutely none of the personality and charm that made Bruce such an enduring star. Physically he's ok but on the weedy side and considering many times during the film they allude to his super physique that was a let down (he should have spent a bit more time in the gym!). In the 70's he'd have been fantastic in all those Bruce exploitation films.

Overall if you want to see a half decent (not perfect) Bruce Lee biography go buy Dragon: The Brue Lee story starring Jason Lee, or better still just stick to Bruce's own films.

One final thought though, I mentioned the star did look good in the Game of Death scene wearing the yellow jumpsuit, it left me thinking it would be interesting if a producer revisited/re-edited that film and used this actor to fill in for the non Bruce Lee parts of that film (anyone remember the cardboard cut Bruce in the mirror?), perhaps even using (if it's available) Bruce's original ideas or script to complete the film as Bruce wanted it, just a thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars why did I buy this!!, 28 Jan 2012
I'm a big fan of Bruce lee I collect all his DVDs and read his books, when I watched the DVD I thought it was one of the worst martial arts films I have ever seen, it looks cheep and badly made the choreography is terrible in most of the fight scenes you can tell they are not even hitting each other. I was looking forward to a TRUE story like it says on the case but instead watched a badly made lie. Save yourself some money and DON'T buy as Its not worth it if I could give it 0 stars I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!, 19 Jan 2012
This is a Chinese TV show that lasted for hours cut down to 3 hours 5 minutes. Its 2 hours fifteen minutes before Bruces tv/movie career is covered and that is rushed through in about 10-15 minutes showing scenes that had nothing to do with the movies such as long fight with a Thai boxer for The Big Boss. Theres a brief montage of scenes of Italy (Leaning tower of Pisa, Coliseum etc) to cover The Way Of The Dragon and a glimpse of the mirror sequence from Enter The Dragon. The film mainly deals with a mostly fictionalised account of his life. All Bruce Lee fans know that he injured his back weight training not being hit in the back by a huge caber after a fight!
Theres also an enemy that keeps popping up throughout the film nicknamed Yellowskin and some godawful cheesy songs. His early trainer (Y)Ip Man is named Master Ye here and other major characters have also been renamed. In short this is not The legend of Bruce Lee!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Classical tribute to a Legend", 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this movie very much, it's action especially and the acting was good also!

Not the most accurate story line on Bruce however, (he does his back in by not warming up properly, with the weights, for instance)!

What it does do as a movie, it gives us a good insight into the character building of a legend, his struggles in life, his

philosophy of "Jeet Kune Do", his willingness to be appreciated in what he believed in.

The guy playing Bruce was so believable to the eye also, capturing all his mannerisms!

Shannon, your Father would be so proud of you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sorry bruce, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a great fan of Bruce Lee i am fussy about who takes him off and i must admitte Kwok-Kwan Chan does a great job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Legend Of Bruce Lee [Blu-ray]
The Legend Of Bruce Lee [Blu-ray] by Kwok-Kwan Chan (Blu-ray - 2012)
3.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews