Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're like scruffy pigs to look at..
Was music meant to be fun? Was it supposed to soundtrack getting drunk at teenage parties or driving to clubs with your mates in a dodgy old knacker, with the stereo blaring?

If you thought that fun was important, but you also wanted guitars, beats, samples and tunes that just won't leave you alone, Box Frenzy was the only album in town. I still listen to it...
Published on 18 Oct. 2007 by Karl Chambers

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars And yet its' still missing ...
Beaver Patrol 12" mix

I've lost track is this the 3rd or 4th CD issue of this seminal album, and each one after the first with more and more 'bonus' tracks and yet still they haven't included the above mentioned track.

Makes this Poppyhead say GRRRRRRRR
Published 18 months ago by Matt Kubrick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're like scruffy pigs to look at.., 18 Oct. 2007
By 
Karl Chambers (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Box Frenzy (Audio CD)
Was music meant to be fun? Was it supposed to soundtrack getting drunk at teenage parties or driving to clubs with your mates in a dodgy old knacker, with the stereo blaring?

If you thought that fun was important, but you also wanted guitars, beats, samples and tunes that just won't leave you alone, Box Frenzy was the only album in town. I still listen to it now. There Is No Love Between Us Anymore is a definitive dance/rock crossover tune, that would rock UK indie dancefloors for years after release and still sound fresh.

Grebo Guru kicks off the album, revealing their fuzzier, scuzzier roots, but chugs along nicely, warming up for the classic Beaver Patrol, with it's tongue in cheek sexism (A old US garage band tune, The Wylde Knights). Let's Get Ugly is daft, funny and massively entertaining. 'Romantic' love song Evelyn, allegedly to a particular drink discovered on tour changes styles dramatically, whilst the cover of Love Missile F1-11 has the infectious energy of a roomful of toddlers on tartrazine.

Inside You is another early PWEI classic and is both disarmingly direct and strangely tender, given that it seems to be about 'that special feeling, when I'm inside you'.

The extra tracks on the CD reissue don't add much to the experience of this classic, although another version of Def Con One is a splendid bonus, as are the live tracks. How's that for a re-emergence of the British artform?

Don't just buy it. Buy copies for all your friends and their friends too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grebo Rock classic ..., 25 Feb. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Box Frenzy (Audio CD)
The sticker on the front of my CD case says 'Grebo Rock Classic', and how right that is ...
It's often said that PWEI would have been huge if they'd come from anywhere but Stourbridge but with 'Box Frenzy', their first proper album, they were already pushing the envelope and making music well ahead of their time, given that the album was originally released in 1987. They eventually called it a day in 1996, but they blazed a genuinely novel trail during the intervening years.
My tape copy of Box Frenzy gave up the ghost long ago, but the CD release brought back many misty-eyed memories of my university days, complete with mosh pits and cheap beer - the Poppies were often loud, often silly (just listen to 'Hit the Hi-Tech Groove' if you don't believe me!), were mixing guitars, samplers and hip-hop long before the current crop of nu-metal whiners and, by his own admission, were a big influence on Trent Reznor.
There's a whole range of styles on offer here, ranging from the guitar-driven 'Grebo Guru' and 'Inside You' to the hip-hop/house parody of 'Hit the Hi-Tech Groove' (a classic in its own right - only the Poppies could get away with sampling Adam and the Ants and Mel & Kim ... in the same track) and a cover version of Sigue Sigue Sputnik's 'Love Missile F1-11'(!). The original album was 12 tracks, so the CD has been padded out with assorted other tracks, including 'Def Con One' (the one PWEI song that most people have heard of) and an awesome live version of 'Hit the High Tech Groove', complete with aforementioned Mel & Kim samples.
Amazingly for an album originally released in 1987, this *still* doesn't sound dated and it's light years ahead of the rubbish that populates the charts nowadays. Play it loud, try not to take it seriously and enjoy ...
PWEI - gone, but definitely not forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After all these years..., 18 Sept. 2011
I loved this album when it first came out in the late 80's, so much so that I wore out the original cassette, and then wore out the copy I made from my mate's LP. So, it was a 'no brainer' for me when it was announced this was going to be re-issued - I NEEDED to hear those old tunes again. But would I be disappointed? After all, production values have moved on a bit since then, and part of the charm of this album always was the 'made it up as we went along' feeling. Would the innovation in sampling have lost its appeal, the tongue in cheek sexist humour become just a bit...embarrassing? Well, no, actually. Luckily, those lovely people at Cherry Red Records did a fine job of unearthing some never before heard bonus tracks, especially the specially extended dance mix of 'Theres No Love' which is a real treat!
So, will it win PWEI any new fans? Probably not, but then again, I doubt that was the point. With the sleeve notes written by Adam Mole from the band ('the one with by far the least talent' - his words, not mine!), the original tracks remastered and many of the nine bonus tracks very rare, it is a real must for the saddo middle-aged fanboys out there. And cool dudes like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's hard to recall, 30 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Box Frenzy (Audio CD)
It's hard now to recall that once bands used to break new ground, this is one of them

Grebo rock. Ned's, the wonder stuff and the poppies I've seen them all. I personally prefer this early incantation of the Poppies.After all these years still one of my fave bands and I still wear the T-shirt. Sampling and dance cross over the name of the game. The unforgettable Beaver patrol and the sideswipe. I used to have Box frenzy in the cassete of my Golf GTI all the time..err well it was stuck but never the less.

Highlight must be Beaver patrol,Inside you (also on the Wonderstuff "unbearable single", Hit the hi-tech groove (sample tastic)and Def com one .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ladies and gentlemen, the one and only P, W, E, I!!!!, 2 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Box Frenzy (Vinyl)
guys, gals, technophobes,
get your hands on anything by this band while you can they were incredible, they gave us something new, they gave us fun, they gave us life and they gave us some of the best indie/rock/pop we'll ever have the pleasure of listening too, this album was one at the beginning, start here and get collecting you'll never regret it!
Whats our solution? Noise Pollution!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unbelievable album from my past, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
pop will eat itself was a band head of its time and some of the best songs are on here but there next album was there best of all which i have got as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars And yet its' still missing ..., 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beaver Patrol 12" mix

I've lost track is this the 3rd or 4th CD issue of this seminal album, and each one after the first with more and more 'bonus' tracks and yet still they haven't included the above mentioned track.

Makes this Poppyhead say GRRRRRRRR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews