Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Respect Mr. Campbell, Respect!
Glen Campbell was seventy-five old this year. Yup, you heard that
right. Seventy-Five!! All the more remarkable, then, that his new
album 'Ghost On The Canvas' deserves our full attention and admiration.
The voice is intact, wonderfully so. Smooth as velvet without even the
slightest trace of a wobble in the upper register which can come with age...
Published on 29 Aug 2011 by The Wolf

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ghost from the past.
This is a "slow burner" I think is the expression - very pleasant but it does take time to feel "at home" with all the songs. Missed Glen Campbell's show in Birmingham due to our illness, not his, although his health problem had been well publicised.
Published 20 months ago by Tony Townsend


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Respect Mr. Campbell, Respect!, 29 Aug 2011
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ghost on the Canvas (Audio CD)
Glen Campbell was seventy-five old this year. Yup, you heard that
right. Seventy-Five!! All the more remarkable, then, that his new
album 'Ghost On The Canvas' deserves our full attention and admiration.
The voice is intact, wonderfully so. Smooth as velvet without even the
slightest trace of a wobble in the upper register which can come with age.
There are sixteen tracks in the collection (admirably produced by Julian
Raymond) and Mr Campbell does no more than is necessary to make them
all come alive with his warm enunciation and unimpeachable performances.

There is a coherence and consistency running through this project which
quite takes one's breath away at times, Whether in the stirring (no matter
if you are of a spiritual disposition or not) opening song 'A Better Place',
where he gives thanks to his God for the good things in his life; the gently
lilting country strains of the perfectly lovely title track; the heavier
accented (thanks to The Dandy Warhols) slow rocking anthem 'Strong'; the
powerfully articulated sentiments of 'It's Your Amazing Grace', or the simple
rolling beauty of 'Nothing but The Whole Wide World' (written by Jacob Dylan),
one cannot help but be in thrall to Mr Campbell's stamina, versatility, bravery
(he was diagnosed with Alzheimer's Disease two years ago) and honest vision.
A man in a million with a song to sing and a bunch of stories still to tell.

This fine album will stand as a bold testament to his consummate artistry.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - what an ending to an incredible career!, 1 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost on the Canvas (Audio CD)
I have followed Glen since Galveston and the Jimmy Webb days. Seen him in concert and got most of his material. Have been waiting so long for Ghost on the Canvas. What a brilliant album. Thought 'Meet Glen Campbell' was exceptional and this one is definitely growing, growing, growing on me. In other words I love it! I only hope that it will NOT be his last album. However, should this be the case, I wish him a great retirement and thank him for his great voice and musical talent. A triumph yet again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not The End Of The Line., 1 Sep 2011
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ghost on the Canvas (Audio CD)
This seems a personal statement in song from a great man who has bared his soul to his audience. This is usual for the performer and confers no doubts to his fans. No matter, the songs and the emotion is in his voice with the delivery that gives the tremors of sensual feeling and class. We know the story ,and the history is there. Just treasure the man's ability and drive to produce this superb music. There is talk of 'the last' and 'the final' but the music will live on. He is still with us for goodness sake. Judge him on his performance not just emotion. Brilliant. Ghost On The Canvas will beautifully haunt us for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Record of the Year !, 1 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Ghost on the Canvas (Audio CD)
This album is nothing short of a miracle! Glen Campbell gives us an album that shines bright, showcasing his voice and guitar playing that are both still as strong as they ever were , perhaps even stronger. Glen's commanding voice and his ever present guitar playing speaks with authority. Nobody sings or plays like Glen and it is a most pleasing sound indeed.

I confess that after reading the news accounts and stories about Glen's current health problems I did not expect this level of quality. I am embarrassed to say just how blown away I was when I first heard this album. I should have known better!

Glen played on the soundtrack of my life as a full member of The Wrecking Crew and on so many countless hits from the 60's that anyone would be hard pressed to present a full list. After a twist of fate and a little help from The Smother's Brothers , Glen was given his own television program and he became a household name. Add the Jimmy Webb written hits and the rest, as they say, is history.

This collection of songs , the production, the other musicians and collaborators all work together to present the phenomenon that was and IS Glen Campbell. He simply can not be put into any one category of music. How about the "GREAT" category?

Many of the tunes were co-written by Glen and his collaborators are all top notch. His producer Julian Raymond compliments Glen's talents remarkably. Mixing pop, country, rockabilly , straight up country and even a bit of surf guitar courtesy of Dick Dale, this record runs the gamut of musical styles. Never descending into the syrupy goo of Glen Ballard or the stark sparseness of Rick Rubin, he finds the perfect balance between man, song and performance. It is a Grammy worthy effort.

A highlight of the record for me was hearing Glen playing the guitar.
Glen's guitar solos do not disappoint, steeped in the mold of his classic Wichita Lineman sound played with heavier strings and his trademark classic tremelo/reverb tone. It is instantly recognizable as is his voice and like hearing an old friend you haven't seen in a long time. It takes me right back to the mid sixties instantly. (that's a good thing for me)

This album looks back, and forward. It is a musical journey that will TAKE you someplace. It bears many repeated listens and stands as a testament to Glen's talent and his own deep love of music.
This album deserves as many accolades as can be given it. A Grammy award for Record of the Year would not be out of order.

If this is Glen Campbell's last record, then he surely gave us all something worth remembering and a farewell that shines like the pure gold it is. As I said, Glen Campbell's 'Ghost on the Canvas' is nothing short of a miracle. Thank you so much Glen, you did great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glen Campbell, 15 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost on the Canvas (Audio CD)
Glen Campbell best cd to date, and I have been buying his albums for over 30 years, brilliant arrangements, song-writing production superb, there will never be his like again ! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album ever made by a 75 year old, 27 Oct 2011
This review is from: Ghost on the Canvas (Audio CD)
You wouldn't think you were listening to an album by someone who's old enough to be your grandad - even if your in your thirties. 'Any Trouble' is my favourite track so far although I think that the whole album is great. He's had some great songwriters make a contribution as well as some self written material. The words of the songs give a feel of someone who is accepting the changes that age is bringing and how he appreciates the life that he's had. The tracks are short but just right in length i.e. not over indulging. Really looking forward to seeing Glen at the Colston Hall on 2nd Nov more than anyone I've seen previously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glen Campbell's "last studio album", 27 Oct 2011
By 
James Somerville (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost on the Canvas (Audio CD)
Having been a fan of Glen Campbell for many a year it was saddening to hear of his medical problems. However this album is a fitting tribute to his musical abilities, both vocal and instrumental, and contains original and beautifully crafted songs. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a stunning album, 8 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. M. Delahunty (Llandudno) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost on the Canvas (Audio CD)
Firstly i do not consider myself a Glen Campbell fan. I consider myself a 55 year old die hard rock fan but put on Glens greatest hits and i can sing along to every one.
I bought this album because i was touched by the fact that it is his last album combined with the fact that he has recently been diagnosed with alzheimers.
This album is pure genius. Not twang along country style, just top quality easy listening songs that you will sing along to for years to come.
I sincerely hope that that Glen can battle this cruel illness, enjoy life and make wonderful music for many more years. I note that he is still touring and that in itself is incredibly brave. Just buy this fantastic album with no filler tracks, even the crazy little instrumentals seem to fit somehow.
I can say no more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some sad songs, 30 Sep 2011
By 
Mrs. L. O. Russell "Louisa" (South Queensferry, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost on the Canvas (Audio CD)
I felt that this album would have been better if he had included some of his more upbeat hits. Some of the songs are lovely but mainly, it makes me feel sad especially considering his present health. I wish Glen and his family all the best for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Short of a Classic But Still Very Very Good, 20 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. Peter Steward "petersteward" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost on the Canvas (Audio CD)
One of the great things about music is suddenly coming across a wonderful album that is totally unexpected. There is a great sadness but at the same time tremendous hope about this album. Destined to be Campbell's last studio album following his admission that he has Alzheimers, this is a fitting passing shot. For a start Campbell's voice is as good as ever and the production on this album is sharp and crystal clear.

It really is up there with the final offerings from Johnny Cash and sadly treads a similar path. The songs are sharp vignettes, worldly observations interspersed with short instrumentals. Many are co-written by Campbell and Julian Raymond. The title track by Paul Westerberg is a gem and much of the album is a celebration of the life of a remarkable musician. Wailing guitars, country licks, folk sensibility and a touch of rock n roll is all thrown in, but it's the lasting impression that makes this album such an important one and one I have found myself returning to time and time again. The Amazon MP3 and ITunes store version has a couple of bonus tracks including Jimmy Webb's "Wish You Were Here." Other writers and collaborators include Jakob Dylan and Teddy Thompson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost On The Canvas
Ghost On The Canvas by Glen Campbell
Buy MP3 Album1.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews