Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doobies Finest, 6 Mar 2012
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
For me, the early Doobie Brothers music came at the right time. I was in my mid teens and looking for the next style of music to carry me away. When I saw the Doobies on The Old Grey Whistle Test I determined to investigate. Listen To The Music, so simple, so summer strumming, was the track that grabbed me and my first purchase was Toulouse Street. Lovely stuff. I rapidly collected the first five albums, the first of which, The Doobie Brothers, doesn't feature here. Instead, we have the sixth album, Taking It To The Streets, which signals the introduction of Michael McDonald along with a new sound. I, personally would have preferred the first album in this box instead of the sixth and, though I play Taking It To The Streets, to me, it marks the decline in the real Doobies sound. Happily, having seen them live last year (2011) I can report that they are back to the sound I love best. Each album features classic tracks you may have forgotten about. I recommend the purchase of this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Track Listing, 27 Mar 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
My fellow reviewer Mois Bennaroch has thoughtfully pointed out that these original albums have been remastered with additional tracks.
From experience I have often found that many of the sister sets are in actual fact the remastered versions with additional tracks or at worse a mixture of the two.
So I thought a track listing would be a great way to compare the two versions
Still an amazingly cheap set with the neat cardboard sleeves- heck someone has got to love them!

If you spot any mistakes just add a comment and I will rectify it Toot Sweet
(and yes I know it's not spelled that way!!)
disc 1
* 1. Listen to the Music
* 2. Rockin' down the Highway
* 3. Mamaloi
* 4. Toulouse Street
* 5. Cotton Mouth
* 6. Don't Start Me to Talkin'
* 7. Jesus Is Just Alright
* 8. White Sun
* 9. Disciple
* 10. Snake Man
disc 2
* 1. Natural Thing
* 2. Long Train Runnin'
* 3. China Grove
* 4. Dark Eyed Cajun Woman
* 5. Clear as the Driven Snow
* 6. Without You
* 7. South City Midnight Lady
* 8. Evil Woman
* 9. Busted down Around O'Connelly Corners
* 10. Ukiah
* 11. The Captain and Me
disc 3
* 1. Song to See You Through
* 2. Spirit
* 3. Pursuit on 53rd St.
* 4. Black Water
* 5. Eyes of Silver
* 6. Road Angel
* 7. You Just Can't Stop It
* 8. Tell Me What You Want (And I'll Give You What You Need)
* 9. Down in the Track
* 10. Another Park, Another Sunday
* 11. Daughters of the Sea
* 12. Flying Cloud
disc 4
* 1. Sweet Maxine
* 2. Neal's Fandango
* 3. Texas Lullaby
* 4. Music Man
* 5. Slat Key Soquel Rag
* 6. Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me)
* 7. I Cheat the Hangman
* 8. Précis
* 9. Rainy Day Crossroad Blues
* 10. I Been Workin' on You
* 11. Double Dealin' Four Flusher
disc 5
* 1. Wheels of Fortune
* 2. Takin' It to the Streets
* 3. 8th Avenue Shuffle
* 4. Losin' End
* 5. Rio
* 6. For Someone Special
* 7. It Keeps You Runnin'
* 8. Turn It Loose
* 9. Carry Me Away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IS IT great deal?, 10 Dec 2011
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
just be aware that there are new editions remastered of the Doobies discograhy with bonus tracks and better sound, and it will not cost you a lot more

The Captain And Me & What Were Once Vices
Stampede/ Takin It To The Streets

Livin On The Fault Line/ Minute By Minute
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A seamless progression, 7 July 2012
By 
Martin Fielding (Findon, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Remember the days when you could rely upon your favourite bands putting out an album every year? And the best of them could do it despite major personnel changes (both voluntary and enforced due to Tom Johnstons's health problems) AND still produce material of the consistently high quality of these 5 discs. These albums represent the studio output of 1972 to 1976 from quite simply a great rock band, which progressed over the same period from Tom Johnston's soul-influenced R&B of Listen to the Music and China Grove through to the funkier Takin It to The Streets where the growing influence of Steely Dan emigrants Skunk Baxter and Michael McDonald (that would lead to 77's Living on the Fault Line and 78's Minute by Minute) is becoming obvious. Despite the quickfire production schedule, there is not a weak album here and rarely does a set like this provide such a fascinating record of band's dramatic progression over such a short period of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doobie Brother Brothers - Original Album Series, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
My annual Happy Christmas to me from me, prevents the underpants and socks disappointment, and I have to say I made a brilliant choice.

I had "The Captain and Me" on vinyl many years ago and although that is still in top condition the move to digital recordings both on CD and on computer has stopped me playing it (along with many others). Of course the first out of the pack was that album, but I have to say the others were just as good. This series is a great way to fill the gap and I will investigate other artists which have whetted my appetite along the way, excellent value for money and I would heartily recommend.

All I need now is other excuses to buy not just Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star music from a 5 star band..., 21 Aug 2013
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
i have to be honest,i swithered wether to get this,as there are 2 discs sets also available,however when i heard that there was an original's vol 2 coming with the hard to get 'One Step Closer' and particularly 'Farewell Tour',i thought i might as well,ultimately(between both sets) your getting 10 albums at about 2 quid each.

This set captures the bands finest 70's discs,so its no surprise that the debut disc from '71 is left off,chronilogically it probably should have been there putting '76's 'Takin It To The Street' on volume 2 but i can understand the record companies thinking(for once).

So to the music 5 great albums from 1972 thru 1976,capturing the classic Doobie rock/country/gospel influenced melodic rock,certainly on discs 1-4,the 5th the aforementioned 'Streets ' album shows the 'aor/Steely Dan' influence creepin in,it would take over in future albums.

All the major hits from this era are here 'Listen to the Music','China Grove','Rockin Down The Highway' etc but its the many classic album tracks such as 'Clear As The Driven Snow','Another Park,Another Sunday' ,'Rainy Day Crossroad Blues' and the like,which will make you wonder why they are not held in higher esteem as a band of great talent.

The only downside is the packaging,as someone who loves the little booklets and archive notes and details,then this packaging was always going to jar,its a cheap box with mini replica sleeves,with writing so tiny its barely readable,and the covers reproduced too darkly,but its a trade off price versus quality,the sound quality is excellent(always loved Ted Templeman's work with the Doobies and Van Halaen) ,so i cant complain to much.

So ultimately you get 5 classic albums for minimal price,its your choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars box sets I love them, 22 Jun 2014
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
5 albums in one place and a neat package it is, I love the songs and musician ship, they are still going strong after all these years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars best intro to the Doobies, 28 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Many 5-star reviews on Amazon appear to be written by myopic fanboys, unable to bear criticism of their favourite bands or accept that not everything their faves produce is great or even good. Of this 5 album collection The Captain And Me is the outstanding one with every track a winner and deserving to 5 stars. This is one of the few albums I can listen to without skipping tracks. The key to this is the variety from folk and country tinged tunes like South City Midnight Lady to hard rocker Without You. Toulouse Street and Stampede are both very good but just short of the quality of Captain. What Were Habits has 3 or 4 skippable Tracks that don't linger in the memory and doesn't really warrant more than 3 stars. Takin It To The Streets generally has a good rep but to my ears it's where they started to go off what with Michael McDonald and his soul influence beginning to edge out the rockier songs of Tom Johnston and the folkier /country tunes of Pat Simmons. Not a bad album and worth 3 stars in my book but a wiser choice than the debut for inclusion. On balance this is an excellent investment in the best Doobies material and is a better introduction to noobs than a greatest hits set as there are so many strong album tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great at the price, 9 April 2014
By 
Simon Crutchley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
I like these box sets... there's lots of great back-catalogue music out there and this is a cheap way to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Doobie Brothers, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Absolutely brilliant band of years gone by. Still listen to them loads of times. This album is a treat. Well known tracks and many unknown ones are all there. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Series
Original Album Series by The Doobie Brothers (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews