Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Bargain
This is a biased and subjective review. Don't trust it. There's something about Carly that makes me wallow in mild ecstasy. My wife loves her as well, so it can't be just those LP sleeve photographs. I own all the LPs covered here but saw this package as too good a bargain to miss. (You can't play LPs in a car). The first album is special. 'Anticipation' has material that...
Published on 13 Aug. 2012 by lonniej

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value, great albums, patchy sound, poor packaging
Carly Simon's first three albums are IMHO the very best. This pack contains the first five albums in miniature LP sleeves in a thin box, which is great because you get all that lovely music for very little money and it hardly takes up any space, while still giving the vinyl lover a reminder of the original product.

Very briefly about the albums:...
Published on 1 Mar. 2012 by Patrick Ovenden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value, great albums, patchy sound, poor packaging, 1 Mar. 2012
By 
Patrick Ovenden (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
Carly Simon's first three albums are IMHO the very best. This pack contains the first five albums in miniature LP sleeves in a thin box, which is great because you get all that lovely music for very little money and it hardly takes up any space, while still giving the vinyl lover a reminder of the original product.

Very briefly about the albums:

CARLY SIMON (1971) starts with a dreamy song, then goes on to play with a lot of styles, rock, ballad, honky-tonk and psychedelic. Some of it's a bit eccentric but I love it.
ANTICIPATION (1971) is more focussed with some serious songwriting talent in the same vein as Don McLean and James Taylor.
NO SECRETS (1972) has more of the same, but with a more bluesy, rocky sound on the louder songs. It's the one with You're So Vain.
HOTCAKES (1974) is thoroughly pleasant, a happy album with nice orchestration, sometimes a bit silly!
PLAYING POSSUM (1975) is no match for the others here, or even 1976's ANOTHER PASSENGER, but it's probably the start of the new-style Carly Simon later immortalised in the song 'Nobody Does it Better'.

I have some issues with the sound quality, as none of these is remastered, not that that's always a bad thing in itself.
CARLY SIMON and NO SECRETS are a reasonable match for the vinyl; HOTCAKES and PLAYING POSSUM sound much cleaner than their LP counterparts, but ANTICIPATION is very poor. It lacks nearly all of the LP's sparkle, and most of this is simply down to too much midrange and not enough treble or deep bass. The information is there if you can find it with your tone controls or graphic equaliser.

Lastly, the packaging - yes, it's convenient, but it's not as evocative as it should be. Colour reproduction is 'muddy' and most of them in my box were annoyingly off-centre in their colour frames.

So while this is currently the best way to buy Carly Simon's most important recordings, the set is not really a substitute for the LPs (first three) or standard CD with booklet (Hotcakes).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Bargain, 13 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
This is a biased and subjective review. Don't trust it. There's something about Carly that makes me wallow in mild ecstasy. My wife loves her as well, so it can't be just those LP sleeve photographs. I own all the LPs covered here but saw this package as too good a bargain to miss. (You can't play LPs in a car). The first album is special. 'Anticipation' has material that can't quite reach those heights but is still very good. 'No Secrets' has the hits. 'Hotcakes' is fun and up to standard. I had always considered 'Playing Possum' one of her lesser albums but relistening has brought unexpected delights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carly's first five albums at an affordable price, 31 Dec. 2011
By 
John (SWINDON, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
This set comprises Carly Simon's first five albums:

Carly Simon, 1971
Anticipation, 1971
No Secrets, 1972
Hotcakes, 1974
Playing Possum, 1975

These are arguably her best output and contain the other classic tracks that don't make it onto the compilations. I bought the original LPs back in the 70s and it's good to be able to get the set of CDs at a very affordable price.

The downside of the affordability is the basic packaging: A small cardboard box containing 5 card sleeves (reduced size replicas of the LP sleeves) each with a disc. so, none of the notes that often come with a boxed set while the box is slightly too thick to fit into a standard slot in a CD rack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars -- a highly accomplished vocalist in a great bargain reissue, 7 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
I didn't get caught up in the Carly Simon enthusiasm in the 1970s, but when this set showed up for under $10.00 in a local store, I decided to find out what I had been missing. Quite a bit, it turns out. Carly Simon is prodigiously gifted as a vocalist, and she has technique that puts Judy Collins and Joni Mitchell in the shade, and that means that she can turn her hand to anything stylistically -- ballads, upbeat R&B inflected stuff, material with a C&W tinge, and even things that I would call jazz because they don't fit readily into any other category that I can think of. What you won't get -- as you do with Joni Mitchell and Emmylou Harris -- is a distinctive "voice." Her music is so protean in its variety and her style so flexible that she can be all over the place musically. The result is that each song has its distinctive tint and that the albums aren't unified thematically and stylistically in the way that Mitchell's (roughly, neo-folk) and Harris's (C&W) are. There's no rule that says albums have to be "concept" albums, though, so you needn't worry about that unless you insist on each album as a "work" rather than each song. I would just add that much of the material is Simon's own, and that as a songwriter, she isn't quite in the Joni Mitchell class -- she tends to be less verbally playful and imagistic and rather more direct in her expression. To her credit, the writing in the "Playing Possum" album shows her stretching a bit more, and the album is the stronger for it.

Even if I had paid full price for this, it would still have been a bargain, but there is a downside. It's nice to have the original cover art, albeit on cheap sleeves, but there's no booklet, no dates, no account of the personnel in the sessions, etc. That's too bad, for one of the really attractive features of Carly Simon's recordings is the obvious care that has gone into the instrumental arrangements (and as time passed, into some artificial enhancement of the sound -- usually tastefully done). The supporting musicians, and the engineers, deserve credit, and given the quality of the production, it is indeed strange (as one reviewer commented) that Rhino hasn't sought out these issues and given them the full-bore refurbishment (with documentation, bonus tracks, etc.) that they gave Elvis Costello and Emmylou Harris. Simon and her musicians deserve as much.

One can of course have one's favorites, but really everything on these discs is very well put over and sounds great. If I had to pick one of the albums as a favorite, I would pick "Anticipation" -- but as soon as I say that I can think of good work on all albums and I think too that in "Playing Possum" she is attempting things that aren't like anything else she's done. Of the protean musical personality, I find myself fascinated by the jazzy pieces, with the subtlety of her phrasing, her playing with pitch and tempo, the rightness of the sparer accompaniments. I think she could have been a great jazz singer -- but why should she limit herself to that? Finally, she communicates a pleasure in producing the song. That means that even the relatively "serious" texts come across as things to be enjoyed. She sings, I would say, to give pleasure rather than to be dramatically expressive. There's nothing wrong with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfectly carly, 6 July 2012
By 
Mr. P. Battison (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
A fantastic value collection of Carly Simon at her absolute best. The album that made her famous was 'No Secrets', which together wirh 'Anticipation' and 'Playing Possum' (both included) form the absolute peak of her songwriting and performing prowess. No songwriter, even at this truly great time, could surpass the honesty and intimacy of her lyrics, and any listener will find aspects of their own life in her songs. simply a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing- Another Door Thanks Drew Mar!, 20 Mar. 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
Thought people would like to know what's on the CDs.
(At the time of originally writing there was no track listing so I provided one)

If you spot a mistake just add a comment and I will adjust.
(Thanks to Drew Mar for spotting my mistake with Playing Possum

On a lighter note I recall Carly telling me that her Dad was a professional Photographer and that's why her covers were so good she knew what would work....

disc 1 Carly Simon, 1971

* 1. That's the Way I've Always Heard It Should Be
* 2. Alone
* 3. One More Time
* 4. The Best Thing
* 5. Just a Sinner
* 6. Dan, My Fling
* 7. Another Door
* 8. Reunions
* 9. Rolling down the Hills
* 10. The Love's Still Growing

disc 2 - Anticipation, 1971

* 1. Anticipation
* 2. Legend in Your Own Time
* 3. Our First Day Together
* 4. The Girl You Think You See
* 5. Summer's Coming Around Again
* 6. Share the End
* 7. The Garden
* 8. Three Days
* 9. Julie Through the Glass
* 10. I've Got to Have You

disc 3 - No Secrets, 1972

* 1. The Right Thing to Do
* 2. The Carter Family
* 3. You're So Vain
* 4. His Friends Are More than Fond of Robin
* 5. We Have No Secrets
* 6. Embrace Me, You Child
* 7. Waited So Long
* 8. It Was So Easy
* 9. Night Owl
* 10. When You Close Your Eyes

disc 4 - Hotcakes, 1974

* 1. Safe and Sound
* 2. Mind on My Man
* 3. Think I'm Gonna Have a Baby
* 4. Older Sister
* 5. Just Not True
* 6. Hotcakes
* 7. Misfit
* 8. Forever My Love
* 9. Mockingbird
* 10. Grownup
* 11. Haven't Got Time for the Pain

disc 5 - Playing Possum, 1975
01. After The Storm
02. Love Out In The Street
03. Look Me In The Eyes
04. More & More
05. Slave
06. Attitude Dancing
07. Sons Of Summer
08. Waterfall
09. Are You Ticklish
10. Playing Possum

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars carly simon, 17 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
great music pity about the packaging. wonderful songs but you don't get a seperate booklet which means since it is literally a reduced copy of the lp sleve it can be difficult to read. but 5 stars for the music and bringing it out at a bargain price,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value but indicative of the decline Carly faced, 6 April 2012
By 
Siriam (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
I had always loved Carly Simon's easy recordings so this package of 5 CDs in original sleeves at just over £2 each is great value especially if you have not heard much beyond the well known hits by the lady. The arguments on remastering are fair but that is a issue that has plagued this while reissue series by WEA (refer other peoples reviews on Little Feat etc.). The sound is for the low price not that bad and for my money the first three CDs are the best releases Carly has ever recorded. Hotcakes and Playing Possum (with what was considered a very risqué cover for an LP at the time), with her then being involved with James Taylor show the start of the decline - some good tracks but not great releases in totality. The pointed observations and spot on barbs which made the original three LPs so great was beginning to fade and later releases after these first five have never matched the overall quality of this boxed set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure indulgence, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
A glorious voice on top form at a very reasonable price, if you haven't listened to this lady this is your opportunity, buy it enjoy be happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the right recordings, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series [5 Pack] (Audio CD)
I have a Carly Simon collection, but as luck would have it these discs fully complemented those I already owned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Series [5 Pack]
Original Album Series [5 Pack] by Carly Simon (Audio CD - 2011)
Click for more info
In stock on July 2, 2015
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews