Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good comedy crime romp
I learnt a long time ago to not be put off by critic reviews as they are always based upon opinion.

This film was on my list, but not at the top so I waited until it appear on a deal (three blu-rays for 17).

Overall it's totally unbelievable, but enjoyable and the characters all bring presence to the story, although I thought Murphy and Broderick...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. T. Solley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Check It Out
Not bad movie. it does have some funny moments

some pretty good moments. i was interested through the movie.

i think it is worth watching
Published 8 months ago by Zain


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good comedy crime romp, 16 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. T. Solley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I learnt a long time ago to not be put off by critic reviews as they are always based upon opinion.

This film was on my list, but not at the top so I waited until it appear on a deal (three blu-rays for 17).

Overall it's totally unbelievable, but enjoyable and the characters all bring presence to the story, although I thought Murphy and Broderick looked out of sorts throughout.

You can guess the ending half-way through, but worth a view if you can get it cheap like I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable crime caper....., 3 Jan 2014
By 
mandynolan "mandynolan" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tower Heist [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this.....it's got a great cast and is an enjoyable watch....for a couple of hours of enjoyable fun it's worth a watch.....
A group of employees take on the rich guy who has defrauded them.....will they win....What do you think.?...
Fun to watch......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting to the top, 5 May 2013
This review is from: Tower Heist [DVD] (DVD)
Tower Heist has a fun and original story and a very likeable cast. The cast includes Alan Alda as a rich business man who is arrested for dodgy financial deals. This eventually leads Ben Stiller to form a group that includes Eddie Murphy and Mathew Broderick to attempt to get into Alda's penthouse to try and get millions from a hidden safe. The film is mostly played quite straight but with some very funny lines and scenes, it is a comedy. Eddie Murphy has a great character that reminded me of how good he was in 48hrs and Trading Places, and it's great to see Alan Alda in a big Hollywood film, rather than just having a part in a Woody Allen film for instance. I think the film was fun viewing and could definitely be rewatched. Sadly it's not quite perfect and perhaps could have done with some slightly tighter editing, to keep the pace up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun heist film with some excellent performances., 10 Mar 2014
This review is from: Tower Heist [DVD] (DVD)
If you crossed Oceans Eleven with Die Hard then you might end up with something that looks like The Tower.

Essentially a heist film set in a high end residential apartment block in New York, the film is pretty non-stop with a blend of action and humour with a clever twist at the key moment.

Eddie Murphy is excellent in his role as a street crook brought into the team of Tower employees looking to recover their stolen pensions, and there are also strong performances from Ben Stiller and Alan Alda.

Utterly implausible of course, but great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tower Heist [DVD] (DVD)
some great acting and great fun, just epitomises what happens in reality... the poor get it whilst the rich get a way with it but at least the protagonist gets it this time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly improbable but highly likeable, 6 Nov 2011
By 
Director Brett Ratner, who brought us such classics as Rush Hour 3 and X Men: Last Stand, turns his hand to the heist movie with Tower Heist, which I've recently heard described as a poor man's Oceans Eleven. This is rather an unfair assessment, and I'm happy to say that I was pleasantly surprised by what is an unassuming and highly improbable, but also very entertaining comedy crime caper.

The film follows Josh (Ben Stiller) and a small group of employees at a high-rise luxury apartment building who are fired from their jobs after losing their pensions in a scam run by their boss, businessman Arthur Shaw (a wonderfully sleazy Alan Alda), who is under house-arrest by the FBI for fraud. They hatch a plot to recoup the lost cash with a smash and grab raid on Shaw's penthouse suite, guarded by FBI agents, where they believe he may have concealed up to $20 million in cash. To this end, Josh recruits the help of petty criminal Slide (Eddie Murphy), his neighbour and once friend from daycare.

In fact, thankfully Tower Heist is nothing at all like Ocean's Eleven. These men are average Joes; out of a job, down on their luck, and attempting to reclaim what is rightfully theirs, and in this they have the full sympathy of the viewing audience. They are totally out of their depth when it comes to planning a robbery and the very opposite of smart and slick. Much of the comedy is of the `fish out of water' variety, centering on the clear ineptitude of the gang as would-be criminals, as they attempt to transform themselves from professional servitude to professional thievery. This premise yields a number of very funny moments, which I will not spoil by describing here.

The clever casting is spot on, particularly Matthew Broderick as a once high-flying businessman now unemployed and dejected, and the slightly vacant Dev'reaux (Michael Pena). The performance of Eddie Murphy too is cause for optimism, here at his best since his films of the 80s, back to playing a wise-cracking character of the Reggie Hammond (48Hrs)/Billy-Ray Valentine (Trading Places) mould, something he clearly does very well.

Actually, Tower Heist works far better as a comedy than as a heist movie, with the crime distinctly playing second fiddle to the laughs. If I had one major criticism, it would be that the actual heist begins a little too late, some elements of the logistics of which are glossed over or even omitted completely as proceedings become more and more far-fetched. That said, there are some original and exciting moments, one in particular involving dangling a classic Ferrari out of a top storey apartment window while a Thanksgiving Parade is underway on the streets below.

Despite its plot holes, Tower Heist makes for marvellous escapist entertainment, full of energy, wit and with a premise that makes us root for the good guys from the start. 7/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 July 2014
By 
stuart heath "truskanuts" (leighton buzzard, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tower Heist [DVD] (DVD)
Funny as hell. Really enjoyable light hearted comedy. Eddie Murphy still has it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tower Heist [DVD] (DVD)
Great film. Good ending. Lots of laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny, 13 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tower Heist [DVD] (DVD)
Eddie Murphy is undoubtedly really had mastered his craft in comdedic acting in the hay day of the 80's. This is a film we can all relate to. I"ll Probaby going to watch it later.

An interesting yet cleverly done comedy about a heist .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining with lots of famous cast, 9 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Tower Heist (Amazon Instant Video)
Watched this from Amazon Prime Instant and have to say enjoyed this a lot better than most of their other lesser known films since i have to say this film was not known to me before as it's not really one of those films that you would rush out to rent or for me even go to cinema for but a nice treat for unlimited online streaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tower Heist [DVD]
Tower Heist [DVD] by Brett Ratner (DVD - 2012)
5.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews