Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Real Men In Black .. Though I Suspect A Lot Of Pretend Ones
I enjoyed reading this book - but I must say, in a case of "style over content", it was because it was a grippingly enjoyable, easy-to read potboiler of an investigation, not because I thought it was a particularly good investigation.

The book falls roughly into two parts - the first being a collection of both historical and contemporary MIB experiences, and...
Published on 8 Jan 2012 by Green Man Music

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Very mixed messages in this book
The book seemed to contradict itself continually. Very repetitive, and in the end no real conclusions.I was very disappointed, sorry.
Published 15 months ago by Judy Marsh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Real Men In Black .. Though I Suspect A Lot Of Pretend Ones, 8 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading this book - but I must say, in a case of "style over content", it was because it was a grippingly enjoyable, easy-to read potboiler of an investigation, not because I thought it was a particularly good investigation.

The book falls roughly into two parts - the first being a collection of both historical and contemporary MIB experiences, and how this history and that of some early experiencers played a part in what became a much more fleshed-out modern phenomenon. I had some difficulties with parts of this. While the history behind the first recorded MIB experiences was very interesting and informative, I found some of the the subsequent "cases" a bit hard to swallow. That's no disrespect to the experiencers - all experiences in my book being personal and valid as an experience. But they mostly revolved around exactly the sort of people who already believed in such things and were perhaps more likely to experience unusual phenomena, and the experiences themselves were often breathlessly-related tales relating not much more than the sighting of a man in a suit in a car, or hanging around near where somebody lived, or a temporary problem with a 'phone line. All of these cases could be explained by coincidences or misinterpretation of regular people going about their business - it's only Redfern's colourful use of Lovecraftian adjectives to describe these 'events' that makes some of them worth reading about. And to post photographic 'evidence' such as a photo taken of a man dressed as a MIB at a UFO conference of all places ... that stretched even my patience a bit.

The second part is, in my opinion, in many ways more interesting and important. This section deals with various theories on where the phenomenon may stem from and what it actually is and means. Theoretical discussions take in the 'daemonic' (from Tulpa to Trickster), plain hoaxes and government agents, to hallucinations, time-travellers, and misidentification. There's also a member of the clergy who not too surprisingly supports the theory that anything paranormal and occult is the work of the devil.

I'm with Redfern in concluding that the MIB phenomenon is likely to be a mixture of many different things, from government agents to hoaxers to people with overactive imaginations interpreting a someone in a suit parking nearby as the sinister MIB phenomenon.

So my two questions would be, why devote so much of the first part of the book to experiences that read exactly like such misidentifications? And the second is - if people who poke their noses in to MIB business often end up harassed, hounded, lose their minds or end up dead (leading Redfern, somewhat MIB-like himself, to warn readers of the consequences of dabbling too deeply), how come he chose to?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They are watching you, 27 May 2012
Nick Redfern has collected many MIB cases and examines just who or what they are. It seems that MIBs have been around for a long time and many of the usual conclusions like governement agents or aliens just don't add up. I highly recommend anyone interested in the paranormal to buy this book, because the MIBs represent part of the same phenomena that haunts this planet and has done throughout history. I also recommend buying this book with his other book Final Events, where a real government think tank delve into what ufos really are, with startling conclusions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking, 4 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a fascinating insight into the mystery concerning the infamous Men in Black. Starting with the Albert Bender case the first half of the book concentrates on people's experiences with MIB's and even a couple of WIB's. The second half discusses theories about just who they are and where they come from. There's an interesting chapter that theorises they could be time travellers although I prefer the supernatural angle. Being a buff on all things mysterious this book for me is a very good read. I have 2 issues with the book which is why I gave it four stars. The first being the length, at about 230 pages you'll read it in a few hours. The 2nd being the alleged MIB's photographs, one shows a man standing in a doorway which is neither here nor there but the second photo shows some chubby kid standing there looking straight down the lens. For me the 2nd photo should never have been shown in the book as it kind of ruins the enigma of the MIB legend. If you manged to capture a supernatural MIB on film he would almost certainly know about it and go to great lengths to harass and intimidate the photographer or just plain materialize in the guys house and take it.
In conclusion a great page turner, just forget about those photographs or the MIB's just might pay you a visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating food for thought., 25 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Real Men In Black: Evidence, Famous Cases, and True Stories of These Mysterious Men and their Connection to UFO Phenomena (Kindle Edition)
Perfect for the Fortean minded. This book is well researched and looks at the MIB phenomenon from all angles. Nick Redfern writes from a neutral position and unlike some writers of this kind of material, he doesn't have a personal agenda outside of reportage. In places the book is amusing, in others down right disturbing and I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A thought provoking read, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Men In Black: Evidence, Famous Cases, and True Stories of These Mysterious Men and their Connection to UFO Phenomena (Kindle Edition)
Explores this intriguing topic thoroughly but in a lively and interesting way. Recommended reading as an introduction/starting point for further exploration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very mixed messages in this book, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Men In Black: Evidence, Famous Cases, and True Stories of These Mysterious Men and their Connection to UFO Phenomena (Kindle Edition)
The book seemed to contradict itself continually. Very repetitive, and in the end no real conclusions.I was very disappointed, sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strikes Just the Right Note, 13 Mar 2013
By 
Maxie Fenner (Key Biscayne, FL) - See all my reviews
Nick Redfern is a master of the "high strangeness," genre. He knows that you have to approach these things with the proper journalistic craft and intent, while keeping one's tongue firmly in cheek. I always find his books thought provoking and entertaining. Always a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in this after reading the reviews, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disappointed in this after reading the reviews. Found it difficult to get in to and even more difficult to believe. Wouldn't recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spooky, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Men In Black: Evidence, Famous Cases, and True Stories of These Mysterious Men and their Connection to UFO Phenomena (Kindle Edition)
I found this book an interesting read but
somewhat spooky. Anybody who stands up to the men in black is very brave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Guildford, Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another excellent book by Nick Redfern, another must for the bookshelf. If you have an interest or even experience in the Men in Black or interest in the world of Ufology then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews