Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It ain't big, it ain't clever, and all the better for it.
I have been unashamedly waiting for this for what seems like forever....and its finally here.
Is it any good?.......Oh yeah, you bet,and a superb follow up to Feel The Steel
It shreds, it wails, it screams, it squeals, but most importantly, it rocks.....HARD.
Influences from across the whole 80s metal spectrum are here for all to see. Crue, Poison,...
Published on 31 Oct. 2011 by Deano

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I really love their first album Feel The Steel. The music is great - it rocks! - and the lyrics are hilarious ... I still cannot get enough of it! Because of the high standard they had set with the first album this one is disappointing. It just does not deliver on the same level. There are one or two great songs but overall I found it musically rather standard - the...
Published on 30 Jan. 2012 by gros1440


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It ain't big, it ain't clever, and all the better for it., 31 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Balls Out (Audio CD)
I have been unashamedly waiting for this for what seems like forever....and its finally here.
Is it any good?.......Oh yeah, you bet,and a superb follow up to Feel The Steel
It shreds, it wails, it screams, it squeals, but most importantly, it rocks.....HARD.
Influences from across the whole 80s metal spectrum are here for all to see. Crue, Poison, Whitesnake, Warrant, Skid Row, Jovi, Dokken, the list is endless, and every listen throws up more.
Killer tracks just crash by, one after another, and first track proper, 'Supersonic Sex Machine' is a barn stormer and really gets things off on the right foot, it could almost pass for a straight ahead rock song, however, tongue becomes firmly implanted into cheek from here on in. 'Just like Tiger Woods' and '17 girls in a row' are typically hilarious Panther tracks, 'If you really really love me' absolutely floored me, ridiculously funny, as is 'It wont suck itself'.
Its not just a joke-athon though, sure, the subject matter is not entirely pc, they look like they've just arrived from 1984 in a time machine, but these guys are not taking the mick, they are paying homage to a time gone by, a time that shaped them musically, a time that they dont want to forget. The songs are strong, the playing is fantastic, and in Michael Starr,they have a truly superb frontman, with the pipes to back up the hype.
If you are easily offended then click away right now, you wont approve. However, if you are up for a party, if you fancy a trip down the sunset strip, then drop this in your basket right now.
It ain't big, it ain't clever, and its all the better for it.

Only one thing left to say......GET IT......just keep it away from the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It Don't Suck, It'll Sell. :-), 1 Nov. 2011
By 
A. Boylett "andyboylett" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Balls Out (Audio CD)
So here it is, the much awaiting "difficult second album" from Steel Panther. Are they worried? Not from the sound of this they're not.

The Panther are back with another rip-roaring, hardcore and definitely un-PC collection of metal masterpieces to take those of us old enough to remember back to the glorious excesses of 1980s heavy metal. So first, the burning question? Is this CD as good as "Feel The Steel"? IMHO the answer is a definite "No", but that's not to say it's a bad record.

The songs musically are all outstanding, with the whole band rocking as hard as any "serious" band, especially Satchel who really is an unbelievably good guitar player, throwing out killer riffs and lightning solos like confetti at a wedding. Michael Starr's vocals are also outstanding and the quality of the production and mix are really excellent. Everything is clear and chrisp and this sounds like a truely great rock album should.

So where does it fall short for me? I loved the first album as each song was an obvious homage to a particular band; Whitesnake, Van Halen, Iron Maiden etc... but this album sounds, on the whole, like Steel Panther. The sound and feel of most songs are pretty similar (but that's not necessarily a bad thing). Lyrically, the songs aren't as funny either as there are only so many ways to say knob, bitch and bum sex before it starts to get a bit repetitive.

All that being said, you can't help but love a record that has song titles like "It Won't Suck Itself" (which features Chad Kroegar of Nickleback on guest vocals and a blistering guitar solo from Nuno Bettencourt of Extreme/Rhianna fame). Tiger Woods gets a song in his honour and is namechecked elsewhere on the CD, along with easy targets Charlie Sheen, Britney Spears and Keifer Sutherland. For me though, the best song on the CD is Gold Digging Whore, if only for the spelling section of the song which is actually comedy genius (well, it made me laugh anyway). Other highlights are the single, "If You Really Really Love Me", "Tomorrow Night" and "Why Can't You Trust Me".

I was really enjoying the CD up loud on my car autochanger, especially when a song started that sounded like a great homage to Megadeth, that was until I realised about 2 minutes into the song that my changer had actually switched to the new Megadeth CD Th1rte3n, that I also bought today. Maybe that's the ultimate tribute to Steel Panther; that you can't see the join where the Panther end and the "serious" metal bands begin. :-)

Steel Panther are opening for Motley Crue (one of my all time favorite metal bands) and Def Leppard on tour in the UK soon and I've already got my tickets. A lot of the crowd will probably not be there early enough to catch Steel Panthers set, which is a shame as they are likely to be the hardest rocking, most "balls out" entertaining band on the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steel Panther, 24 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Balls Out (Audio CD)
These guys were unknown to me until i went to Download 2012 - they stole the show on Saturday afternoon - crowd went mental - it's great to know the rebellious nature of wild rock is still alive and kicking with balls of steel.... and Ben Stiller !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 30 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Balls Out (Audio CD)
I really love their first album Feel The Steel. The music is great - it rocks! - and the lyrics are hilarious ... I still cannot get enough of it! Because of the high standard they had set with the first album this one is disappointing. It just does not deliver on the same level. There are one or two great songs but overall I found it musically rather standard - the singing and the melodies - and the lyrics are nowhere near as good either. Such a shame :( Let's keep our fingers crossed for the next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This really is a Balls Out album, 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Balls Out (Audio CD)
This has to be one of my top albums of 2011! An absolutely remarkable, yet humorous effort from Steel Panther!! All the songs are typical of them, sex, sex and sex, but they are all instant classics, and very sing-a-longable (especially Gold Digging Whore)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steel Panther 80's Revisited, 3 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Balls Out (Audio CD)
Yet agian the mighty Steel Panther have delivered a masterpiece that is the vain of the Classic Hair Metal bands of the 1980's. From start to finish it is oh so easy to hear the influences of bands such as Bon Jovi, Motley Crue & the like. The musicianship is of the highest quality showing that far from being a skit on the genre, these guys are actually the real deal. For anyone wanting thumping bass lines & shredding guitars this is right up your street. The lyrics are in vain of their first release & at times bring a wry smile to your face. Would this be something that i would recommend to others TOO RIGHT I WOULD!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you really really really really really really love me......, 28 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Balls Out (Audio CD)
I think this album is great!! As woman I find it very funny indeed. "Thats what girls are for sewing cooking being good looking" I find all of the songs very good and found Tiger woods very funny and loved the music. I listen to it in the car AFTER dropping my son off at school! I like tommorow night as well. They are all good I loved the first album feel the steel it was great we needed something to come alive again with guitar solos and 80's sound. And as for the lyrics they are great. Not sure about a 3rd album? As there only so many times you can rhyme the words on all of the songs??? Hope they do another and prove me wrong..... so far 10/10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steel Panther does not disappoint, 7 Nov. 2011
If you're not new to Steel Panther, it's basically more of the same, and there's nothing wrong with that.

If you are new to Steel Panther: do you like satire, irony, double entendres, innuendo and occaisional outright crudity and would you like that to be delivered in a musically nicely presented 'package' (pun intended)?

Though I think that to be absolutley strict, it's not exactly edifying. I don't think they're breaking musical ground. I don't think they intend to. It's purely intended for entertainment, and delivers just that.

Purchase recommended for people who like humour or music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be the king of your neighbourhood like Steel Panther..., 2 Nov. 2011
By 
Ian Devlin "ilikerock" (Glasgow UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Balls Out (Audio CD)
...and Tiger Woods. Like a previous reviewer, I've been waiting for a follow-up to 'Feel The Steel' for too long. 'Balls Out' does NOT disappoint. Quite the opposite. It's even BETTER than it's predecessor. It's been a long time since I've said this and actually meant it sincerely, but there IS NOT a weak track amongst the 14 songs on the album. I've just spent the last hour rocking out to the polished grooves while at the same time sniggering like a schoolboy to the lyrics. Not sure this can be called 'parody' because it's entirely in a class of its own. Highlights for me? The whole thing. 'Supersonic Sex Machine' kicks like a heavy metal mule in spandex and snakeskin. 'Just Like Tiger Woods' might be the best hard rock song I've ever heard in my life. It's certainly the funniest. Careful if you happen to be drinking coffee and listening to 'Tomorrow Night' while you're commuting to work. I accidentally snorted half the cup when I heard the last line of the first chorus. The people on the carriage thought I was having some kinda fit or something. Whatever, it was worth it. Heavy metal's BACK!! Buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ozzy, 21 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Balls Out (Audio CD)
Great arrived in good order and the postage was very quick no probs at all will use again thank u .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Balls Out
Balls Out by Steel Panther (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews