Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HATS OFF TO SALVO
If as it would appear Salvo's Nazareth reissue campaign is coming to a close then they've chosen to go out on a high,this is a superb box set combining hit singles,album tracks,outakes,demos and live recordings,spread over 4 discs.

CD'S 1 & 2 Cover the studio output,with disc 1 covering the 70's and disc 2 the unenviable task of the 80's thru to present,all the...
Published on 21 Sep 2011 by Mr Blackwell

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great music, plenty of rarities but the sound quality (mastering) could be much better
Musically, this is a great set, no doubt about it. Any Nazareth fan needs to own this set.

I have to say though that I was disappointed a little bit about the sound quality. EQ wise, it is fine and nicely done, not too harsh and no boosted treble (like it is often the case on remasters). But the dynamic range has been heavily reduced, there is only about...
Published on 14 Nov 2012 by R. Stauber


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HATS OFF TO SALVO, 21 Sep 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naz Box (Audio CD)
If as it would appear Salvo's Nazareth reissue campaign is coming to a close then they've chosen to go out on a high,this is a superb box set combining hit singles,album tracks,outakes,demos and live recordings,spread over 4 discs.

CD'S 1 & 2 Cover the studio output,with disc 1 covering the 70's and disc 2 the unenviable task of the 80's thru to present,all the hits are here 'Broken Down Angel,Bad Bad Boy,My White Bicycle,Love Hurts,This Flight Tonight etc with some choice album cuts,although most classic album cuts show up on the live discs,also included are the b'side 'Friends and non album single 'If You See My Baby'.

CD'S 3 & 4 are where the real interest begins,CD 3 contains live tracks from 1972/73 and 75 and although the publicity blurb states their all previously unreleased,im sure several of the 1972/73 tracks were on the BBC IN CONCERT LIVE disc released in the 90's.No matter its a fantastic collection including a 'Turn on your Reciever' jingle i'd never heard and outstanding live tracks such a 10 minute version of the Allman Brothers 'Black Hearted Woman' from 1972,a monstrous 'Woke Up This Morning/Boogie' from '73 and several excelent tracks from '75 including 3 songs from Dan's solo album played by the band alongside quite superlative versions of 'Changing Times' & 'Guilty',incidently the rest of the 1975 live session appears on the reissued 'Hair of the Dog ' disc.

If you thought that was good wait til you hear disc 4,opening with 6 tracks live from 1977 including a thundering 'Telegram' and a super heavy 'Born to Love' before presenting us with some unreleased demos/outakes,the best being 2 unreleased tracks from 72/73 'Paper Sun and Storm Warning' the latter absolutely superb and a mystery as to why it never made it,while the rest mostly from the 2xs/Sound Elixir and Snakes and Ladders discs throw in some curveballs including cover versions of ABBA'S 'S O S' and CREAM'S 'Sunshine Of Your Love' which although come from two extremes of the music genre's are both expertly done and highlight the versatility of Nazareth and why they are such a great band.

So in conclusion,although not a definitive collection(their are a few b'sides missing i believe) its a fine collection(if your a casual buyer you may want to start with the ANTHOLOGY 2 disc set first),for the die hards its a must buy.

Sound Quality is superb,the early live tracks can be a bit rough and ready,thats to be expected,as with the previous remasters Tim Turan has done a marvelous job

The packaging is pretty good, a hard back 'book' type cover,the cd holding tray slightly different to what i've seen before,bit flimsy could be quite easily broken and the cd's on the LHS side have a tendency to fall out when opening,indeed all 4 discs were loose when the package arrived.The book is a decent read,fairly informative although not a exhaustive detailed history,if you have already purchased the remasters then a fair amount of the essay and pictures will already be familiar.

At this price its a bargain and well worth investing in,hats of to Salvo for a superb reissue campaign(if your reading this how about reissuing Dan's solo albums?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naz Box (Audio CD)
As a Nazareth fan born in 1961, I remember listening to a lot of those tracks when they first came out, so it is a pleasure for me to obtain this box. I have also got some vinyl LPs of Nazareth from years back, and I still have a record player, so I have pretty much all of Nazareth's tracks. I can remember getting hauled over the coals at school for scribbling Nazareth's hit on my school desk lid!

As you probably gathered, as I have got older, my tastes have got very catholic, and I actually despair of some of the music today, compared to that of the seventies! Call me old fashioned, but a lot of my generation (including my younger brother) feel exactly the same!

Thanks again for a decent box!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naz rulz !, 30 Sep 2012
By 
Daniel James Macdonald "danufo" (Sydney,Nova Scotia ,Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naz Box (Audio CD)
Ya might think - what does Naz have to offer after all these years ? We'll frankly alot ! Their last two albums "Big Dogz" & "The Newz" are amazing proof that this Scottish monster can still give the Loch a stir ! This box is a remaster / unreleased set worthy of any Naz fan ! They even give ABBA's "S.O.S." a dark rendition ! I previously had all their remasters Castle & Salvo .This still offers more - more BBC's gems as well as covers & a "best of"....for under $20 it can't be beat !
Seen them last summer @ "Rock the Dock" in Cape Breton N.S. - killer show !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great box, 26 Oct 2013
By 
Örjan Forsberg "öjje13" (Luleå Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naz Box (Audio CD)
Full of good stuff for everyone, but for me the third disc was most interresting with some very hard to find tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars naz-good, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naz Box (MP3 Download)
this cd boxset is very good value for money 4 cds of music by one of the best bands of the 70,s , cd 1 is all the well known songs, where as the other 3 cds contain many rare songs and live tracks and radio sessions for the bbc, very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 24 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naz Box (Audio CD)
Fine quality audio and video

I recommend everyone who enjoys a heavy sound

Otimo qualidade de audio e video
recomendo a todos que curtem um som pesado desta excelente Banda Nazareth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great collection, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naz Box (MP3 Download)
If you only buy 1 Naz album make it this one. All the classic studio tracks plus some great live versions too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great box (NazBox)!, 6 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naz Box (Audio CD)
Great packing, great selection of songs and very important, excellent sound. The mastering and production is just awesome. These guys rocks, once you put one cd you'll end up putting all four of them; the live songs and the unreleased ones are such a good treat, make this box even more worthy to buy. Nazareth rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Naz!!, 13 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Naz Box (Audio CD)
Great box set from Naz.All top songs in set, from early days to present. Band still touring all over the world. Cant wait to see them at Alhambra,Dunfermline in January!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top naz, 10 Dec 2014
By 
W. C. Chelton (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Naz Box (Audio CD)
top set from nazareth love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Naz Box
The Naz Box by Nazareth
Buy MP3 Album£14.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews