Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ever wonder how the pyramids were built?
A great story about a struggeling race not far from Earth. They are just like us, but more advanced and were very much more so in the past. During their glory days they managed FLT and came to Earth on a scout expedition landing in Egypt some 5000 years ago. The scout ship was destroyed and the crew were stranded.
I will not tell you what they did and what...
Published on 4 Sep 2003

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, could do with some polish
This is a book filled with some fantastic ideas! Some of the concepts around the technology, its use and development, are inspired. The principal character is believable and you genuinely begin to care for her. There's a scene late on where a foot chase goes bad and each element of the fight is detailed in a credibly chaotic fashion; not at all a "bang, you're dead"...
Published on 6 Feb 2012 by Carl Mason


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, could do with some polish, 6 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resurrection (Kindle Edition)
This is a book filled with some fantastic ideas! Some of the concepts around the technology, its use and development, are inspired. The principal character is believable and you genuinely begin to care for her. There's a scene late on where a foot chase goes bad and each element of the fight is detailed in a credibly chaotic fashion; not at all a "bang, you're dead" Hollywood fight (where the bad guys couldn't hit the broad side of a barn at 20 paces, and the good guys make every shot count) , but instead, a messy, complex business with bystanders falling and innocents suffering. That said, I get the impression this has been written by more than one person, or at least that the editor has only paid attention to selected parts of the book. There are some pretty unbelievable coincidences which detracted from the story for me. How fortuitous for the narrative, for example, that the children of wealthy industrialists just happen to come along at the right time. How unfortunate that a character's introduction to Earth requires a catastrophic (and HUGELY unlikely)collision to give it an imperative edge. When reading, I don't want to be thinking, "Hang on, why did that happen"... or "Thats handy that a completely alien technology can quickly be understood merely by playing around with it". There are rather too many "fortunate" events that drive the story onward. Some of the writing (only some) is clunky and sits apart from other parts of the book - I got a mental image of the writer getting feedback from others but only making corrections in some parts of the book. Its not a bad read, there are some (really) great ideas and some well-thought-out scenes, but the whole thing has a feel of being unpolished and a little poorly edited. I hope the author has another go and I look forward to seeing another tale from her, hopefully she will have sorted the editing and polished her craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ever wonder how the pyramids were built?, 4 Sep 2003
By A Customer
A great story about a struggeling race not far from Earth. They are just like us, but more advanced and were very much more so in the past. During their glory days they managed FLT and came to Earth on a scout expedition landing in Egypt some 5000 years ago. The scout ship was destroyed and the crew were stranded.
I will not tell you what they did and what happened to them because that will reveal too much of the plot. Present day their race are on the brink of being wiped out by a neighbouring race, the Luciens, and their available technology is far from what they had in their glory days. A ship with a 2-man crew in stasis is sent to Earth to try to rediscover the technology of their ancestors. Success of the mission will save their race, failure will result in their doom.
The story switches between present day and look-backs to the adventures of the scout crew
Space opera and egyptologty in a nice mix. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Enjoyable Read, 8 Feb 2012
This review is from: Resurrection (Kindle Edition)
Not often does a book come along that I wish wouldn't end so soon. Resurrection is one of those. A thoroughly enjoyable read which flits between ancient Egypt visited by an alien race of humans on a survey mission to present day, where the same aliens return to try and find a long lost technology that will hopefully save their race from aggressors.

Some Sci Fi novels can be quite hard work to read whereas this book flows nicely. I'm hoping that there will be more books in the pipeline, even perhaps a sequel to this one. If you haven't read this book, it's really excellent value for money and you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very engrossing read, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: Resurrection (Kindle Edition)
The story concept and character development is incredibly engrossing and well developed, and hooked me from start to finish. The reason I gave four stars instead of five, is for reasons mentioned in some of the other reviews. There were a couple of incredible coincidences, which seemed to be forced in, in order to drive the story, and I'd rather an alternative and more believable route being developed. The story has a few moments which could do for more polishing, like the chase/shoot out scene, but apart from that a very nice read.

Also, I felt like I must have missed something, and that I skimmed an important paragraph in my haste to find out what happens next. I never came to understand the meaning of the title "Resurrection".....

***SPOILER ALERT*** I mean, she mentions something to Eddie about past lives, she wonders if Nick is already a child on her home planet "thinking" about her. She tells Eddie she remembers parts of previous lives (including when she was a man at some point!?!), yet she has a 13 years old brother who has never been outside (either in this life or a previous one), and she has parents...Biological, or merely the most recent couple to raise her....This is not really explained fully and I suddenly got REALLY confused when Eddie asked her about her past lives...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Horrible But Didn't Grab Me, 15 Jun 2012
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resurrection (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As the caption above indicates, I picked up 'Resurrection' through the Amazon Vine Programme. Whilst being a Vine member is great for many reasons one of the best is that it opens you up to trying works by authors that you haven't encountered before. Broadening your literary horizons is always a good thing.

The one downside is that sometimes you choose a book that on the surface appears promising but you find has all of the appeal of a wet weekend in Margate. This is the case with 'Resurrection', a sci-fi adventure that mixes in elements of Chariots of the Gods with bits of Stargate and some space-opera 'battle of the alien races' style stuff.

Its not that Resurrection is a horrible book. The prose is solid if unremarkable and the story progresses at a reasonable pace. Its just that, as a whole the book never grabbed me. Not only was the plot a mish-mash of regurgitated ideas that the book did nothing fresh or surprising with, but equally I was never gripped or surprised by any of the characters or the situations that they found themselves in. Just under halfway through the book's decent but not excessive length I was suffering from a definite case of the 'ho-hums' and was having to force myself to go back to it each time.

With a stack of other more enticing works waiting to be read I decided that I had better things to do with my time than struggle through the rest of Resurrection.

Of course I could be being massively unfair and the book improved exponentially in its second half. For this reason I felt it only fair to award the book a 3 star rating. After all, based on what I read it wasn't terrible and I didn't actively dislike it; I just found it to be remarkably pedestrian and uninspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good story, well written and intertwining Egyptian mythology, 3 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. J. G. Wheeldon "Jonnyboy" (Chesterfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resurrection (Kindle Edition)
Really good story, well written and intertwining Egyptian mythology, Earth history and an interstellar war between two alien races - the Lucien and the Kinley. I enjoyed the way the story skips from ancient Egypt with the rise of the pharaohs, assisted with a Kinley "faster than light" survey vessel that becomes stranded on Earth and present day North Africa, where Eddie, an archaeologist come egyptologist, finds remnants of Kinley technology during a dig in the sahara . Both the Kinley and the Lucien send recovery teams for the technology, especially the capability of "faster than light" travel - which will enable either race to gain the upper hand in the ensuing war….and Earth, and Eddie, are caught in the middle. I will look out for this author again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars new age drivel., 5 Mar 2012
By 
Ed.F "edz314" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Resurrection (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This was not a good read. I'm aware that science fiction is primarily fiction using speculative changes to cast light on situations not science itself. What speculative fiction does require is some consistency around internal logic and some vague hint as to how stuff could be made to work. If it doesn't have that it's not sci-fi it is fantasy. And this is 100% Von-Daniken grade fantasy. Taking some new age concepts and some positional and symbolic elements of the architecture of the pyramids, Elys Dayton develops a narrative based around the usual ancient spacemen tropes which have been the common currency of many of the crystal hugging age-of-Aquarius types out there since the early 60s. it's bunk and poorly written bunk at that. I suspect this started out as a pure new age breathless re-hash of the ancient spaceman genre but half way through someone pointed out it was complete nonsense and it was belatedly converted into a sci-fi narrative. I only completed this book as I was stuck on a severely delayed train and had nothing else to read with me. If the view from the window had been any better it'd have abandoned this after the first fifty pages. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ancient Egypt meets Science Fiction and a modern day thriller, 14 Oct 2014
By 
James Kemp (Merstham, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resurrection (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this story, it was a mix of classic science fiction, ancient history and a modern thriller. I’m not an expert on the Egyptology, but what there was worked very well for me as a story and was plausible. It managed to avoid being too Erich von Däniken in its approach, and the way that the locals never grasped the technology was completely believable.

Another aspect that I liked was the interplay between the metal poor and biotech rich Kinley (humans from a planet 8 light years away) and their enemies who used cloned Kinley to spy on them. This provided some of the science fiction backdrop for a modern day thriller, with the two racing to recover the lost secret of faster than light travel (the prototype lost in the time of the ancient egyptians as the enemies initiated an apocalyptic war that almost wiped them both out).

The story flitted between the ancient survey team who had used their prototype FTL drive to reach Earth and the modern day search to recover their technology. This worked well, showing the pre-war splendour and achievements in small pieces as the protagonists work out where the survey team have got to. The original team are also shown as dysfunctional and fragmented as their egos get in the way of working together to return home. Mostly this is down to a couple of self-centred characters working against the best interests of the team.

So it has an interesting set of characters who develop (and some die) over the course of the story. There is more than one plot, characters seem to act in a reasonable way given their motives and preferences (including a couple of unreasonable irrational characters, their mental instability comes across well). There are some clever explanations for some of the ancient egyptian behaviours, including a novel explanation for how and why the great pyramid was built!

Overall well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ancient Egyptians and Modern Aliens.., 21 Feb 2012
By 
Shaun Horrigan "Shaun" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resurrection (Kindle Edition)
Pruit Pax, Sentinel from the planet Herrod, is on a mission to Earth to recover the forgotten technology for a faster than light drive that her ancestors once possessed. Unbeknownst to her, not only is she being followed by agents from Herrod's deadly enemies, the Luciens, but also members of the original survey team sent to Earth almost five thousand years ago are still alive, in stasis, and waiting to be rescued.

The premise of this book is great.. A survey team sent to Earth during the time of the ancient Egyptians becomes stranded when their shuttle is destroyed in an earthquake. Meanwhile their home planet is all but destroyed in an inter-planetary war with the Luciens, and the faster than light technology that they used to reach earth is all but forgotten. In a desperate race to recover this technology, both sides send agents to Earth to try and find any trace of it after almost 5000 years.

To be perfectly honest I found the first third or so of this story quite slow whilst it built the background to the threads set in ancient Egypt and the present day. However, suddenly, just about half way through the pace picks up, the background threads of the various stories come together, and suddenly I found myself really enjoying a rather good science fiction action adventure. The ending was unexpected and rewarding and made persevering with the first part of the book more than worthwhile.

Overall: I would rate the first third as 3 stars, the second third as 4 stars and the ending as 4.5 stars - it really does get progressively better the more you read - so a 4 star average I think. If you find the first part of the book slow, stick with it, it gets a lot better and I found the last third really very enjoyable indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Without Success..., 21 Sep 2012
By 
J. Bond "Xelous" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resurrection (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have attempted to read this one three times... I've tried whilst awake, whilst sleepy, I've tried after watching a SciFi weekend on the TV... And I've utterly failed to get into the story. The concepts of the book are... well they're typical pretty unimaginative fodder, something one might expect from a child...

The writing is in short bland, the setting I find hard to identify with and after a few chapters I stopped reading...

This is no mark on myself, I'm a Wheel of Time reader, so I know what it is to push yourself to read something flat and boring in the middle, but this one was flat and bland and has simply no character from the off. Indeed the very first scene described leaves so much to the reader that you may as well place the characters, in your minds eye, into a shoe box rather than anything more exotic.

So, in short, I've not got this one down, I can't bring myself to push through it... The book itself is actually well presented, the paper and font are okay, but they're the only good things I can pick about it... and when you're reviewing it and the FONT is the only thing to come to mind perhaps the author has missed their audience in me?... Perhaps they've missed making something exciting with their writing.

Now, the pre-amble with the book talks about "Stargate", don't get sucked in... If you like Star Wars, Star Trek, BSG, Stargate, 2001... Or anything of that ilk stick with them, don't wonder over here...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resurrection
Resurrection by Arwen Elys Dayton
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews