Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Touching Story with Strong Characters. worth a read
This is a very well written and researched book, with believable and moving characters. I finished it in a couple of days as it's a light easy to read book. I did feel towards the end though that the story was being rather stretched and could have come to its conclusion a few chapters sooner without spoiling the story in any way, with this in mind I feel the introduction...
Published on 9 July 2012 by slurplepurple

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not remarkable, and overlong
This book starts off quite well - it seems well researched and the characters are believable. At least the heroine of the book is not a complete wet and the reactions are plausible. Where this book falls down is the ending. It isn't that it's predictable, you know what's going to happen from the start but this book isn't about the ending it's the journey. But even...
Published 13 months ago by Fiona Messenger


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Touching Story with Strong Characters. worth a read, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home by Nightfall (A Powell Springs Novel Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is a very well written and researched book, with believable and moving characters. I finished it in a couple of days as it's a light easy to read book. I did feel towards the end though that the story was being rather stretched and could have come to its conclusion a few chapters sooner without spoiling the story in any way, with this in mind I feel the introduction of " Edouard" was unnecessary and had no relevance to the story and the ending. It's very easy to empathise with Susannah and the way she handles her emotions throughout the plot. "Shaw" is not at all a nice character and its easy to see why even the characters in the book get frustrated with him. This is worth a read if you want a nice heartwarming story at a good price, I will be looking out for other books in the future by this author, I know the prequel to this book is " Home by morning" which I have decided not to go back and read as it introduces characters I have already got to know in this book, but If you have not yet read either it may be more enjoyable to read them in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not remarkable, and overlong, 29 Jun. 2014
By 
Fiona Messenger "honestfi" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home by Nightfall (A Powell Springs Novel Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This book starts off quite well - it seems well researched and the characters are believable. At least the heroine of the book is not a complete wet and the reactions are plausible. Where this book falls down is the ending. It isn't that it's predictable, you know what's going to happen from the start but this book isn't about the ending it's the journey. But even journeys have endings and this one is far too long. 80% of the book and I felt the book could have been wrapped up in a couple of pages, so I was beginning to wonder what there was to add. I confess I got bored trying to find out through the various aftermaths of the incidents that occurred, and started to speed read and flick through the last pages. The author adds another pointless plotline which seems to scupper it for one of the characters and chooses the most boring way to tie up that loose end. But the new plotline and the aftermath was completely uneccessary and tedious for the reader. For the genre, its OK, spoiled by the last fifth of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good read from Alexis Harrington, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home by Nightfall (A Powell Springs Novel Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is like a follow on from Home by Midnight, In 1918, Susannah Braddock is devastated by the news that her beloved husband, Riley, has been killed in battle in France. Heartbroken, she turns to Tanner Grenfell for support. Two years later she hears the news that her husband is a live and coming home, but in the meantime she has married Tanner. Riley comes home, not remembering anyone really, so she doesn't tell him about Tanner. There are other stories intertwined with the main story which makes for good reading and ultimately both Susannah and Riley reaslise what and who they both want. I really enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Home By Nightfull, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home by Nightfall (A Powell Springs Novel Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
found it quite boring read a lot of books very similar,did not think the characters where very convincing the end was very predictable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Home by Nightfall, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home by Nightfall (A Powell Springs Novel Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
An interesting story of an American ex soldier suffering from amnesia and rescued from a burning ambulance by a French woman living alone on the family farm having lost all her family in the war. As he has no idea who he is or where he came from, she names him 'Christophe' and they scratch a living from the devastated soil, eventually living as man and wife in what remains of the farmhouse. Into their lives come a couple of American Red Cross workers, who with the best of intentions discover his identity and arrange for him to be hospitalised and then sent back to his family in America. What happens when he gets there makes for a story of divided loyalties and conflict, although the happy ending does not quite ring true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average read, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home by Nightfall (A Powell Springs Novel Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The storyline is intriguing, where the book falls short is that it seems to deliver less than it promises. I am afraid that although I found this an okay read, I also found it rather slow and when anything happened, it just did not grip me. Maybe if it had been more dramatic and suspensful I would have rated it higher. A nice enough story, nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed very much., 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home by Nightfall (A Powell Springs Novel Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book more interesting than the first one in the series which is very unusual as you usually get a good book and then are disappointed with the follow on. In many books you know the end well before you get there, but this one keeps you wondering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 6 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Home by Nightfall (A Powell Springs Novel Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Highly Recommended. Even if you have not heard of this author before please give this book plus her previous book "home by morning" a chance. I thoroughly enjoyed both. Make sure you read them in the correct order. Both books truly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good light read, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home by Nightfall (A Powell Springs Novel Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Bought this book as I was in need of a "New" auther and was about to go on a 7 week cruise. Enjoyed the writing and the plot but felt a little condensing in parts would have improved it. Will certainly try more of this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great romance, 11 April 2013
This review is from: Home by Nightfall (A Powell Springs Novel Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I've always enjoyed historical romances and Home by Nightfall is one of the best I've read. The characters are so realistic that you might believe is a true story. This book is really worth taking the time reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews