Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and unusual
I didn't realise that this was the second in a series when I read it but it didn't matter at all.

This adventure/action story is set in the religious communities of Utah especially in and around various Mormon groupings some of which embrace polygamy. Jacob infiltrates one of these groups after being persuaded by the FBI - he understands them because of his...
Published on 2 May 2012 by Anne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mainly good, but occasional unrealistic decisions by the characters
In the main, a good yarn - but not quite as good as the first book.

Spoilt for me by a couple of completely mad decisions by the main characters - no details to avoid spoiling the plot, but I'm sure you will spot them.
Published 4 months ago by Katy777


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and unusual, 2 May 2012
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mighty and Strong (Righteous Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I didn't realise that this was the second in a series when I read it but it didn't matter at all.

This adventure/action story is set in the religious communities of Utah especially in and around various Mormon groupings some of which embrace polygamy. Jacob infiltrates one of these groups after being persuaded by the FBI - he understands them because of his background in a similar cult. He is looking for a missing FBI agent who has gone undercover but to find her he needs to become part of the group, something which becomes very dangerous when his wife and family join him.

I don't know much about Utah or how the Morman religion operates there but that made no difference to understanding the novel as the requisite information was fed to the reader appropriately. The book did not preach in any way either for or against a religious way of life and Mormonism in particular. There were characters who advocated polygamy, those who opposed it, those who were devout Mormons, those who used Mormonism as a political tool and those who were doubters. The religion was the backdrop to the story and the story was really about the use and misuse of power which is a universal theme.

I thought that this was a well written and thoughtful book. The characters were well developed and complex. The background was fascinating and the themes interesting. I am delighted to discover that this author has written other books in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mighty and Strong (Righteous Series #2), 17 Aug 2012
By 
G. Archer (Bangor, NI) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In hindsight, I think I would have been better reading the first book in this series from Michael Wallace if only to have a better understanding of the main character, Jacob Christianson. The book is set in Utah, within the culture of the Mormon Church, and Jacob is the doctor son of a polygamist leader. Approached by the FBI, Jacob is tasked with infiltrating a fundamentalist doomsday sect to locate a female undercover agent who has gone "off radar". What follows is a tense, engaging thriller which mixes religious fanaticism, corrupt politics and the abuse and misuse of power with Jacob and his family caught right in the centre of it.

Apart from being a fascinating insight into some of the beliefs and practices of the Mormon church, Mighty and Strong is a well written, compelling story with interesting, complex and, on occasion, downright evil characters. An enjoyable thriller, I look forward to reading the first and third books in the Righteous series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a further story set in the fundamentalist mormon community, 9 Jun 2012
By 
kittycat 2000 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mighty and Strong (Righteous Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Jacob Christiansson wants nothing more than to get on with his life and forget the events of Blister Creek. He is now married with two young step children and working as a junior doctor and is happy. When the FBI come to ask for his help however he is coerced into helping them.
One of their undercover agents has infiltrated a cult similar to the one in which Jacob was raised but she has gone off the radar. They don't know if she is alive or dead and they want Jacob to try to make contact with her by entering the cult himself.
Jacob has to fight against his upbringing and his ingrained beliefs in this book in order to stay true to what he feels is right. With pressures from his family as well as a wife who feels he should take a second bride Jacob's task is a difficult one and the resulting story proves to be a real page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and Frightening, 24 Oct 2012
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With reference to fanaticism, abuse of power and corruption `Mighty and Strong' provides fascinating and frightening insights into various Mormon sects including Latter Day Saints, Community of Christ, Reformationists, Millennialists and Strangites, and in addition to being a thriller it exposes the unacceptable face of Mormonism. Also there are glimpses of maverick behaviour by the FBI and of political intrigue in America at the present day (Mitt Romney and his bid for power gets a mention). The main protagonist is Jacob Christianson, a Mormon from a polygamous background, but now he is sceptical and intent on providing for his wife and children away from Mormon cults. However Jacob is drawn in by the FBI to act as a mole within a Mormon community - and things do not go to plan. The plot is somewhat implausible but the storyline is cleverly constructed and the characters are well drawn. Narrative is evenly paced and always compelling, with an excellent rapid build-up of excitement to the conclusion - yet there are loose ends suggesting a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars mighty and strong, 27 Aug 2014
By 
E. Dale "elained2" (W. Yorks, England UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For years Jacob Christianson struggled to reconcile his faith with his skepticism about the polygamous practices of his religious community. That doubt, combined with a sharp analytical mind, enabled him to solve the ritualistic murder of his cousin at the hands of bloodthirsty fundamentalists within their own church. although I could follow the story okay think it would have been better if I had read the first in the series, but none of that matters if you want to read a fantastic book that draws you in and compels you to carry on reading to the very end then this is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 26 Jun 2014
By 
Nicolette Laurence "Lunarwillow" (Guernsey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I read the first in the series of these books and became totally hooked straight away, I absolutely love them. Perhaps a little far fetched at times but the author has been a part of the religious lifestyle he writes about and therefore it lends a realism to the plot which is great. This book is a great follow on from the first and after the first one I was left wondering what would happen to the main characters, as I really came to engage with them and care about them. Great stuff, thoroughly recommended to fans of religious cult type thrillers, Dan Brown etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I have to read the first one!!!, 18 Jun 2014
By 
F. Proctor "Wildfrank" (Plymouth. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I now know more about Mormons than I thought was possible. Given we had so much info in the book it is actually both interesting and a well-written book. I liked all the charactors, they all seemed fairly credible albeit rather two-dimensional. Interesting plot and it managed to ring all the standard American alarm bells, Religious fanatics, enemies from within, another Waco mess...and the list goes on and on. But is was still readable and kept my attention right up until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mormon who done it's, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mighty and Strong (Righteous Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Great reading. Fabulous series. For anyone who normally prefer crime books I would recommend you give this author a try. We'll worth the read - the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strongly written with personal experience having some effect, 27 May 2014
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the second in a series of several books, six of which are owned by a relative. Had I known, I would probably have asked to borrow those rather than ordering the two that I did (not including the first).

The book is substantially based around the Mormon Church, a predominant religion in the author's home state of Utah. Whether or not he is associated with the religion is neither known nor relevant but it would be difficult to live in the state and not to have some awareness of its beliefs and practices.

The story is that of a thriller and this and the following volume both also involve members of the Christianson family, but as I am currently unfamiliar with the remainder of the series, not all need be.

I had previously read two from another series by this writer but they were of a rather different nature, and omitting any religious elements. The religious content of this series may cause some to look elsewhere, but it shouldn't as it is well-written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mainly good, but occasional unrealistic decisions by the characters, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mighty and Strong (Righteous Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
In the main, a good yarn - but not quite as good as the first book.

Spoilt for me by a couple of completely mad decisions by the main characters - no details to avoid spoiling the plot, but I'm sure you will spot them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews