Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


118 of 120 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A WELL WRITTEN STORY
Jessica Layton is on her way to Seattle from New York, only taking a break in her trip for a brief visit to her home town of Powell Springs to visit with her sister Amy. The only drawback to this visit is coming into contact again with her first and only love Cole Braddock, who is now courting her sister.
Unfortunately Jessica's plans do not turn out as she had...
Published on 11 Jan 2012 by L. Sims

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasurable easy read.
Nicely written and a pleasure to read, it is an easy read, just right for the beach. Although it a predictable love story I still quite enjoyed reading this one.
Published 23 months ago by Lili


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

118 of 120 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A WELL WRITTEN STORY, 11 Jan 2012
By 
L. Sims "Linda" (The south) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home by Morning (A Powell Springs Novel) (Kindle Edition)
Jessica Layton is on her way to Seattle from New York, only taking a break in her trip for a brief visit to her home town of Powell Springs to visit with her sister Amy. The only drawback to this visit is coming into contact again with her first and only love Cole Braddock, who is now courting her sister.
Unfortunately Jessica's plans do not turn out as she had hoped, it is 1918 and the Spanish Flu is ravaging the world and has now arrived and is striking down the inhabitants of the town, and with no doctor she is forced to stay and help out, at least until the new doctor arrives.
This is an extremely well written story, encapsulating the affect of the war and the Spanish flu and it's effect on the people of the small town of Powell Springs in 1918. Amongst all this is the rekindling of the romance between the h/h. The reasons for their split in the first place is a Pivotal part of the plot. It seems another had a hand in their break-up, which neither of them realised. Added is the person who is out to ruin them. Jessica being a doctor at this period in history was not accepted as it is today, and the author depicted very well how predudiced some of the towns people were in their opinion of female doctors. All of the characters were very well drawn, with a very interesting storyline. A very good read which I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasurable easy read., 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home by Morning (A Powell Springs Novel) (Kindle Edition)
Nicely written and a pleasure to read, it is an easy read, just right for the beach. Although it a predictable love story I still quite enjoyed reading this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great holiday read, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home by Morning (A Powell Springs Novel) (Kindle Edition)
I think I bought this on the daily deals and have only just got round to reading it on holiday. It was an easy read, interesting story with highs and lows. Not so gripping that I became totally antisocial, but a page-turner none the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home by Morning (A Powell Springs Novel) (Kindle Edition)
bit slow to start and really you worked out the outcome quite quickly but the twists were interesting. Will read the sequel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well told love story, 9 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home by Morning (A Powell Springs Novel) (Kindle Edition)
If you enjoy a good romance set in difficult times, then this is just up your street.

I thoroughly enjoyed this from beginning to end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home by Morning (A Powell Springs Novel) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading this book. It is well written, engaging and i fell in love with the characters. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice read, 3 Aug 2013
By 
J. Wilks "Jacqueline" (Nerja,, Malaga Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home by Morning (A Powell Springs Novel) (Kindle Edition)
Not a bad read, OK. I know the area, so this was why interested in this book initally and it kept me engrossed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home by Morning (A Powell Springs Novel) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book. It was the first I had read by this author. I am looking forward to reading the follow up book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home by Morning (A Powell Springs Novel) (Kindle Edition)
This is a good story about a women returning to her home town. It is set in 1918 at the end of the first world war and at the time of the flu epidemic. It is a nice enough story but not particularly exciting and it is fairly predictable. Best not to read it if you are having flu like symptons! Otherwise pleasant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heart-warming, 10 Sep 2014
By 
A. Davis (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home by Morning (A Powell Springs Novel) (Kindle Edition)
Well written, atmospheric descriptions and finely drawn characterisation. I particularly enjoyed the historical context and although the main denouement was somewhat predictable, I didn't see the minister's storyline unfolding as it did. An ultimately heart-warming story and I'm looking forward to reading the next Powell Springs novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Home by Morning (A Powell Springs Novel)
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews