Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars6
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

What this 2011 "Stax Remasters" CD doesn't advertise too well is that it contains 'two' Stax albums and not just one - and then for good measure throws in two more bonus tracks as well (and it's pitched at mid-price too). Here are the whatcha get details...

Released Monday 12 September 2011 in the UK - Concord Music Group, Inc 0888072331761 breaks down as follows (59:03 minutes):

1. Get Up And Get Down
2. Thank You For Your Love
3. Hot Pants In The Summertime
4. Whatcha See Is Whatcha Get
5. In The Rain
6. Gimme Some (Good Soul Music)
7. Fall In Love, Lady Love
8. Mary Don't Cha Wanna
Tracks 1 to 8 are their debut album "Whatcha See Is Whatcha Get" - released January 1972 in the USA on Volt Records VOS-6018 and April 1972 in the UK on Stax Records 2362 025

9. The Devil Is Dope
10. You Could Become The Very Heart Of Me
11. Now You Got Me Loving You
12. Fell For You
13. Jim, What's Wrong With Him?
14. Hey You! Get Off My Mountain
15. Beautiful People
16. Beware Of The Man (With The Candy In His Hand)
Tracks 9 to 16 are their 2nd album "A Dramatic Experience" - released October 1973 in the USA on Volt Records VOS-6019 and April 1974 in the UK on Stax Records STX 1021

Tracks 17 and 18 are "Stand Up Clap Your Hands" and "Hum A Song (From Your Heart)" - two previously unreleased tracks which first appeared on the 1991 CD reissue of "A Dramatic Sensation"

The new 12-page booklet has very knowledgeable and affectionate liner notes by ROB BOWMAN (author of "Soulsville, U.S.A.: The Story Of Stax Records"). You also get the original artwork on the front and rear of the booklet, musician and session details, a collage of 2 photos on the inlay beneath the see-through tray and the disc itself pictures the original LP sleeve (front and rear). But it's a shame the booklet doesn't go any further - there's no new photos, no memorabilia - not even a picture of the title track - their most famous and beloved tune. Surely a promo 45 could have been procured? It makes the inlay feel workmanlike at best - even a little dull - when it should have spread its wings a little. But the big news is the SOUND...

I bought and recently reviewed two other titles in this new "Stax Remasters" series - "Be Altitude: Respect Yourself" by The Staples Singers and "McLemore Avenue" by Booker T. & The M.G.'s and duly raved about the fabulous sound quality on both - especially after years of lacklustre reissues in jewel cases and repro digipaks.
Well this is the same. 24-bit remastered from the first generation tapes at JOE TARANTINO Mastering in Berkeley, California - the audio quality is fantastic - which of course makes you reassess every song - and here it gives incredible clarity to these hugely underrated and largely forgotten Soul albums.

Highlights include "In The Rain" which has a melodrama formula that 'so' works. The song intro is a thunderstorm - rainfall then fills the speakers - only to succumb to a heavily echoed guitar which actually sounds like a man crying. With William "Wee Gee" Howard's pleading vocals and Dennis Coffey on that treated guitar, the public and radio loved it - sending "In The Rain" all the way to the No.1 spot on the US R'n'B charts. The sound quality of the horn player on "Gimme Some (Good Soul Music)" is startling too - so clear - and the tune is reminiscent of The Temptations at their upbeat best. Even the two bonus tracks don't disgrace themselves - especially the "...get it together..." message funk of "Stand Up Clap Your Hands".
The title track "Whatcha See Is Whatcha Get" too has been gracing CD compilations for decades - a stone Soul classic (lyrics above).

To sum up - this is as superlative value-for-money reissue with top-notch Seventies Soul and sound quality that trumps everything that's gone before.

The book of 'Guinness World Records 2012' is launched today (15 Sep 2011) and in it they celebrate Aevin Dugas from New Orleans - who at 4ft 4in. - officially has the world's biggest Afro Hairdo. Well - like Aevin - this CD is both impossibly cool and worthy of written celebration...

PS: titles in the "STAX REMASTERS" series are (all reviewed):
1. Green Onions - BOOKER T. & THE M.G.'s (1962)
2. McLemore Avenue - BOOKER T. & THE M.G.'s (1970)
3. Woman To Woman - SHIRLEY BROWN (1974)
4. Whatcha See Is Whatcha Get - THE DRAMATICS (1972)
5. Born Under A Bad Sign - ALBERT KING (1967)
6. I'll Play The Blues For You - ALBERT KING (1971)
7. Be Altitude: Respect Yourself - THE STAPLE SINGERS (1972)
8. Taylored In Silk - JOHNNIE TAYLOR (1973)
9. Do The Funky Chicken - RUFUS THOMAS (1969)
44 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2011
An excellent 70's Soul re issue from the band that set the bench mark for groovy soul, the main track: Whatcha See Is Whatcha Get. Even if you are fortunate enough to own the original vinyl, it is perhaps still worth buying this CD for it's amazing digitally remastered sound quality.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2011
Bought both the albums on this cd on vinyl in the hey day 70's. Ron Banks has a fabulous voice that leads the music into funk and ballads equally well. Classic music from a classical era of soul music. A must for all soul fans old and new and an absolute bargain at this price. Both albums cost me more on import 30 years ago. Probably the best example of their works is contained here, some of the mixing and backing is years ahead of it's time. 'Now you got me loving you' and 'Fell for you' sublime sexy soul.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
Above headline track and' Whatcha see--' stands out from remaining tracks.Could have developed to rival THE O'JAYS and the TEMPTATIONS.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
Although this isn't explained very well this release is actually two albums: `Whatcha See is Whatcha Get' (1972) and `A Dramatic Experience' (1973) plus 3 bonus tracks.
For me this was the golden period of the Dramatics. A quite superb release in all respects!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
every think came as was told it would be. the price/service was excellent. the album i got was drimactics this album as some great tracks. joe uk
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)