Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2012
Well, looking at the two reviews already posted here we have one person giving it five stars and another giving it just one. Hopefully my review will give a bit more balance.
For the price, sound quality of the recordings, quality of the performances & the very informative booklet mean that this 2CD release is a great compilation of 'World Music',
whether you're an expert or just someone dipping their toe in the water.
I can honestly say that the whole set left me captivated and reading the sleevenotes to each song as it was playing was a wonderful way to pass a couple of hours. Obviously, some people will be left out (as one reviewer mentioned) but if you were to include every great song recorded by the BBC3 team the set would run to dozens of CD's....and that would be prohibitively expensive.
Having listened to several World Music compilations over the years, this is definitely one of my favourites.
Buy with confidence and hopefully listening to some of these great artists will encourage you to explore more widely the different music from around the globe (including the ones that didn't make it onto this CD set!)
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
If you buy this, make sure you buy the CD as the sleeve notes add invaluable dimension to the music. I read the notes first and then the listened to the music, understanding the difficulties the crew faced and where/how they did the recording makes the listening more satisfying.

I think the chap who gave a one star review just did not get the purpose of the CD, they probably did not read the sleeve either. The whole point of the recording is to give the listener an fly on the world view of some of the amazing music that the producers recorded in caves, basements, volcanic craters, mountain tops and valleys. There are two things that make this a 5 star product

1. The musical selection is so diverse yet everything is beautiful - a lot of thought went into the selection and arrangement
2. The production is so authentic, you feel like your in the same vicinity just peering over the musicians shoulders. The fact that you get a sense of atmosphere is what adds the depth, this is far more superior than the clinical performances you get on studio produced albums

In summary, if you like the World Routes show on BBC Radio 3 or you like live routes music, this will far exceed your expectations. I would also recommend it as a gift to introduce people to routes music

My highlight are: Alim Qasimov and his daughter Fargana as well as Justin Valli and Paddy Bush.

I think I will continue listening to this CD for years to come, each time is like a new journey.

Radio 3, Lucy Duran and Sound Engineers, please produce another CD!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2012
Celebrating 10 years on the air, World Routes is a great BBC programme and these thirty recordings try to encapsulate some of the fascinating recordings made in the field. From Madagascar to Mali, Rajastan to the Andes, Azerbaijan to Sri Lanka and points beyond the show has explored music from the extreme locations of the world, and from close to home. Those interested in exploring further can visit some of those programme on the Beeb webpages, but if you want a quick catch-up this is a great introduction.
There's some well known performers of world music in there like Toumani Diabate and Justin Valli as well as people recording for the first time. Have a listen to Iraqi singer Ilham al-Madfi's lament for Baghdad; or Peruvians Duo Ayacucho featuring Puspo performing their celebration of the horse 'Mi Caballo' a song from the high Andes, or the magnificent Georgian group Riho singing the wonderfully moving 'Lazhghvashi'. If you fancy exploring a world of music with unusual instruments and glorious sounds, this is well worth buying. There's also a terrific booklet of information about the performers and the sometimes hazardous journeys that presenter Lucy Duran and her producers made to record them.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
Time of regret, last sunday BBC3 aired the last "World Routes" broadcast. After 13 years. I don't want to know the reason behind this decision but I'm sure the programm will be missed by many around the world. Thanks for all the musical voyages through the years and thanks for this excellent compilation.

Now maybe there's even more reasons to produce a sequel.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
Very good double CD of world music. My pleasure in listening has increased each time I've played it, unlike my other world recordings this comes with an interesting, informative and amusing detailed booklet describing each recording session, where it was held and about the players. Thoroughly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
If you like world music in its original form then this collection is for you. If on the other hand like me, you prefer a mixture of tradition with the modern, then think again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
Sound quality is a bit patchy sometimes but worth it because of the huge variety of music included here. What fun they must have had on the road gathering this material
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
I am a fan of the excellent World Routes radio3 programme and so I was tempted by this excellent compilation. The great reviews are justified.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
I love that the album gives you the chance to experience music that I would not normally buy. Really pleased I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
Fast service, would use again.
Interesting mix of music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)