Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best, 11 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Something/Anything? (Audio CD)
Todd came of age with this album, demonstrating his unique and in my opinion an unsurpassed ability as a gifted songwriter,guitarist,musician, singer and producer. This is probably Todd most accessable album probably because it features some of finest melodies you will ever find on any album. A listen to, It WouldnT Have made any Difference, Torch song, Cold Morning Light, Dust in the Wind, I Saw the Light,Hello its Me to name just a few you should be hooked. There are also a number of rockier numbers that illustrates his versatility as a musician. Along with Daryl Hall,Jay Ferguson (Spirit)I cannot think of any better male singers .Todd vocals are sublime through out as he has the ability to ring out of every song endless emotion that is very rare today.

This album is re released soon. Buy it and enhance your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "…I Saw The Light..." – Something/Anything? DELUXE EDITION 2CD (2014) by TODD RUNDGREN, 22 May 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something/Anything? (Audio CD)
Released March 1972 as a double-album on Bearsville Records - "Something/Anything?" proved what many had already known – after 3 albums with Sixties songsters NAZZ and two fine solo efforts in 1970 and 1971 – singer songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Todd Rundgren was ready to drop the artistic motherlode. And he did it with style. Even now – 42 years after I first held its wondrous gatefold in my grubby Dublin paws – It still gives me a buzz just to look at it. Much like this lovely packaging upgrade. Here are the faithful details…

UK released 19 May 2014 (27 May in the USA) - Edsel EDSK 7070 (Barcode 740155707033) is a 2CD reissue of their October 2011 Expanded Version of "Something/Anything?" - only this time it’s in a case bound hardback book (43:13 and 52:03 minutes). The 36-page attached booklet within has liner notes by Paul Myers from his superb tome "A Wizard, A True Star – Todd Rundgren In The Studio" and is an excellent read. The gatefold sleeve to the Bearsville vinyl album is here (inside and out) – as are the insert photos and lyrics. The hard card case bound book has a details sticker on the outer shrink-wrap that easily peels off (if you want to attach it to the book cover). The two extras songs on CD2 are "It Wouldn’t Have Made Any Difference (Bearsville Sound Studio B)" and "Something/Anything Promos 1-6".

There is no new remaster that I can hear – this is the Edsel October 2011 version - that in itself was a Peter Rynston UK master using the 1993 American Rhino remasters. The sound is superb throughout with some tracks like "It Takes Two To Tango" and the Side 2 instrumental "Breathless" sounding amazing. The two extras are actually worth having – a studio demo of the lovely ballad "It Wouldn’t Have Made Any Difference" while the Promo clips turn out to be fab Acapella snippets of tracks especially recorded for advert purposes. While the cool-looking book packaging is a rather lovely thing to behold…

The huge hit was of course "I Saw The Light" – but just as good is "Cold Morning Light" (a B-side to "Hello It's Me" in the UK in January 1974) and "Torch Song" with its pianos somehow aching like tears. There are some turkeys – the crappy metal of "Little Red Lights" and the demo mess that is "Overture…" is unlistenable to me now. But my overriding feeling is that the whole shebang is just so musical – proper songs – fast or slow – he hit the nail more often than not. Rundgren would follow this with the equally brill but different single LP "A Wizard, A True Star" in 1973.

If you’ve been on the fence about this man and his music – this is where to start the journey to your inner Runt…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Todd at his peak, 31 Jan 2011
This review is from: Something/Anything? (Audio CD)
A five-star album if ever there was one. I admit some bias here, as I consider Todd to be king of the world anyway (musically speaking) but he does appear to divide opinion. I think this is because he is so capable in so many fields that his unpredictability unsettles some listeners. He is also willing to take risks in exploring different musical styles, just like Neil Young. Not everything always comes off (eg some of the synthesised noodling on 'Todd'), but on this album everything works. Great singing (often overlooked amongst his many talents)guitar and arrangements and of course his fabulous songs with unforgettable melodies. Some of his most accessible and best known stuff, 'I saw the light' and 'Hello it's me', is here that even doubters seem to like. Just brilliant from start to finish. I can still feel the thrill I got on discovering it over 30 years ago and I've owned it on LP, cassette and CD twice since then. 'A Wizard,a true star' he may be better known for(and it's also a great album) but this where he really proved it first. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest album in the world, ever!!, 20 Jan 2008
By 
P. B. Koeb (Aljezur, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Something/Anything? (Audio CD)
Come on readers.....you're being a bit hard on Jason Parkes' review. If you've not yet discovered this truly WONDROUS album, then try and find the time to do so. It will change your life. This comes from a time when "Our Hero" was at the top of his game, features a truck-load of his greatest songs and provides the perfect insight into Todd's (then) god-like genius. He writes, sings, plays and produces just about everything. (The exception being side 4 of the original double LP, where he's helped out by guest singers and musicians.)

So special that you will want to share it with one who has the potential to be the love of your life. (I did, but she still didn't hang around.) There's hardly a duff song in there. Trust me! However, i won't go as far as promising to refund your money if you're disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Seven Deadly Sins..., 9 Nov 2001
This review is from: Something/Anything? (Audio CD)
This is one of those Todd albums that always gets a glowing mention in '70s rock write-ups. Right on, man. The Night The Carousel Burned Down seems to have inspired the Doves' Melody Calls - another atmospheric classic. Never one to schlock his way through doing the expected for the expecting, Mr R has created here a veritable cornucopia of musical styles whilst maintaining a coherent 'sound'. There's gaiety, abandon, gluttony, melancholia (always a good one, that), lust, VD... haha... bet they weren't expecting that one, eh, Todd? You get the seven deadly sins all in one double album if you look carefully - great value and very, very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Multi-Genre spanning 2 disc classic, 26 Jan 2011
This review is from: Something/Anything? (Audio CD)
I picked this up whilst in Tokyo without any previous knowledge of the album, no matter how hard i try all my favourite albums seem to be picked up in this random way, radio and research have nothing on random!

Anyway, this is certainly one of my favourite albums, its perfectly produced, sounding great on a tinny pair of laptop speakers or my full blown audiophile headphone set up or hifi. The music can change quite dramatically from track to track which adds to the longevity and versatility of this album.
My only negative would be that you must have a tolerance to mildly cheesy moments, but the music is so very excellent it almost isn't cheesy anymore, like a great elton john for example.

One of the most criminally under-heard/rated albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Todd at his best, 1 Feb 2012
This review is from: Something / Anything (Audio CD)
Todd Rundgren is one of those artist who was (is) constantly restless. He has experimented so much over his whole career that he has surely robbed himself of the household name status his talent deserves. Something/Anything finds him at one of his artistic zeniths but even here the album (and in particular this extended edition) is wildly varied. It is not consistently brilliant but on balance it is a very fine album indeed. In actual fact, if every other track consisted of Todd belching Jingle Bells, it would still be a 5 star album for the sheer out and out brilliance of It Wouldn't Have Made Any Difference and Hello It's Me. It Wouldn't Have Made Any Difference is just one of the most beautiful ballads I've ever heard with a touching, original lyric, a mournful soundtrack and a vocal laden with sincerity. The re-recording of Hello It's Me leaves one shaking their head in disbelief that anyone could write something that good at their first attempt at writing.

Todd deserves to be much more recognised and celebrated than he is - particularly outside the US - but this reissue of one of his very best records is a great place to start gathering new fans. Although I suspect Todd chose to be an outsider and doesn't much care how many people see his genius...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more memories, 29 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something/Anything? (Audio CD)
This took me back to my teenage years - what a journey. Listened to it in the car and didn't want to arrive at my destination until it finished. Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something/Anything (MP3 Download)
Great memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something/Anythything By Todd Rundgren, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something / Anything (Audio CD)
This Cd I had in tape form which which the way of most tapes, It an Ablum to relax to it very well produced and thought out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Something / Anything
Something / Anything by Todd Rundgren (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews