Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!!
if you like prog music,beatles(st pepper),pop music,a wizzard is a masterpiece,in my top 10 of all time!!,the second,todd is great too,and for the price....
Published 22 months ago by heavy prog rock metal thunder

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor sound , has this been remastered
whatever the content the sound qulaity on this is really poor no bass and like a really old cd copy, not sure if its been remastered or not .I expected an improvment on my old copy. disappointing
Published 16 months ago by P. Storey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!!, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Wizard, A True Star & Todd (Audio CD)
if you like prog music,beatles(st pepper),pop music,a wizzard is a masterpiece,in my top 10 of all time!!,the second,todd is great too,and for the price....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor sound , has this been remastered, 26 Nov. 2013
By 
P. Storey "pstorey" (newcastle upon tyne, tyne and wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Wizard, A True Star & Todd (Audio CD)
whatever the content the sound qulaity on this is really poor no bass and like a really old cd copy, not sure if its been remastered or not .I expected an improvment on my old copy. disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early 70s innovative pop classics, 22 Oct. 2011
By 
Mr. A. W. Riggs "bernard shakey" (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Wizard, A True Star & Todd (Audio CD)
Two records that showed Todd at his most experimental whilst still working within the confines of 3-6 minutes of music. Wizard has always been hailed as a masterpiece which I never agreed with - 1974's Todd is a much more satisfying listen even 30 years on. This record contains one of many classic Todd songs notably the magnificent 'A Dream Goes On Forever' - Todd's pop sensibilities captured in 2 minutes. Elsewhere we have heavy metal & synthesiser making in roads into Todd's repertoire which he would explore less successfully in later years. Todd never made the same record twice - which was a pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Wizard, A True Star & Todd (Audio CD)
Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a true star, 17 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Wizard, A True Star & Todd (Audio CD)
My favorite Todd Rundgren album is released in a two CD format - this was one of my favorite LPs when it came out and it is good to have it in digital format. Not as happy with the other album included. Certainly an under-rated personality from an important ear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ECLECTIC AND UNEVEN, 31 Oct. 2011
By 
Carlo Matthews "carlo" (Been Moving Around) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Wizard, A True Star & Todd (Audio CD)
While Todd's instrumental prowess is beyond discussion, his songwriting talents are a mixed bag. Despite the array of genres on these albums, there are few illuminated moments. On one hand, Todd's a musician's musician, on another, his melody work can be predictable & disappointing given his skills as a player and arranger, barring exceptions, of course, like "Sometimes I Don't Know What to Feel" and "Useless Begging" among others.

The saving grace, to me, is Todd's singing. When not delving into musical humor, his vocals are supple, classy, and graceful, without ever giving too much away, like a well-honed crooner. Too few people give him credit for his timbre and technique, and yet without them some of these songs would be charmless.

Perhaps the end problem here is too much material and Todd's songwriting spreading itself thin in the process. The result is ironic: while there's much experimentation going on at times, there are also moments of pedestrian music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Wizard, A True Star & Todd
A Wizard, A True Star & Todd by Todd Rundgren (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews