Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection for the price
Not sure if Chris Rea had much say in this compilation? What is interesting is that a couple of the tracks are not the expected versions or are listed incorrectly. Despite the few odd errors, the collection is tremendous; has most of the singles; and has excellent sleeve notes by Alan Robinson written in August 2011.

Let's look at the facts. Chris Rea has been...
Published 9 months ago by A rhythm person

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not all songs are original versions.
Really disappointed with this as frustratingly some of my favourite songs are not the original versions and in my opinion far inferior.
Published 8 months ago by Mrs Joan Wright


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection for the price, 30 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Journey 1978 - 2009 (Audio CD)
Not sure if Chris Rea had much say in this compilation? What is interesting is that a couple of the tracks are not the expected versions or are listed incorrectly. Despite the few odd errors, the collection is tremendous; has most of the singles; and has excellent sleeve notes by Alan Robinson written in August 2011.

Let's look at the facts. Chris Rea has been a definitive, consistent recording artist since the 1970s. Yes the record company have driven some of his output toward a commercial footing and yes, he goes his own way particularly now to brilliant effect; but we have some of the greatest rock and pop songs of our age from Chris Rea. His writing, recording style, musicianship are outstanding.

Now for the review of this collection. Disk 1, Track 2, is actually 'On The Beach (Summer '88) full length version' - the same version that appeared on 'New Light Through Old Windows.' Disk 2, Track 10 is actually 'On The Beach (Summer '88) 7" Edited Single version'... so you don't get the lazy beautiful "sea" version from the 1986 'On The Beach' LP which is a shame. Disk 1, Track 10, is not 'Texas' that we all love from 'Road To Hell.' It is a totally different track altogether. Super to hear 'Come So Far, Yet Still So Far To Go,' 'God's Great Banana Skin,' and 'Blue Street.' ...the compilers have done ok here except for the fowl up on 'On The Beach' versions.

Right folks, time for you to get Chris Rea under your skin and listen to his more recent releases - they really are a revelation especially Dancing Down the Stony Road. Also check out the DVD Chris Rea : Dancing Down The Stony Road [DVD] which is a real eye-opener...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great tracks, 30 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journey 1978 - 2009 (Audio CD)
Although I have heard most of the tracks on this compilation many time before I had never bought them on CD but having seen this bargain I could not resist. I say that one never gets tired of hearing great tunes and a strong guitar and will be playing these for a long time to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journey 1978 - 2009 (Audio CD)
classic chris rea great listening in the car or at home ,all the classic tracks that span his career buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CD, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journey 1978 - 2009 (Audio CD)
Chris Rea is bliss to listen too. Relaxing music. Was a little bit disappointed that "Nothing To Fear" wasn't on, but apart from that I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good CD, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journey 1978 - 2009 (Audio CD)
It brought back many memories. I enjoy listening to it in the car. Has plenty of good music on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Copy or Funky Kat, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journey 1978 - 2009 (Audio CD)
Chris Rea has been in the past criticised for his generic playing style but come on folks give the man a break that in my book is simply down to influences and who cannot help but be influenced by the wealth of guitar palyers out there in La La Land.
Good compilation I like this stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CHRIS REA AT HIS BEST, 28 Feb 2012
By 
Mrs. Pat Ogden (Taunton Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Journey 1978 - 2009 (Audio CD)
This is Chris Rea at his best. I have loved his music for as long as I can remember and it was great to catch up with old favourites and listen to some newer stuff.A must have for Rea fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb collection, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journey 1978 - 2009 (Audio CD)
I have almost all Chris Rea's cd's so all these tracks appear elsewhere in my collection. As a compilation though it is brilliant, some of the mixes appearing different to the tracks on the original cd's. With 34 tracks it is well worth having. Glyn W.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Chris Rea compilation out there (so far...), 29 May 2012
By 
Mr. D. M. Pugh (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journey 1978 - 2009 (Audio CD)
There are plenty of Chris Rea compilations - although if you tend to shop on iTunes you might find that hard to believe (why does he only have about two albums on there? Not even his two number one albums) but take a quick look through Amazon's Chris Rea search results and you'll find a lot of choice - but this, in my opinion, is the best.

First off the sound quality is the best I've heard - even if you compare this with "Still So Far To Go", the more commercially successful collection released just two years earlier, it sounds that bit fuller and crisper.

But also the song selection is excellent for a 2-disc set, including all his hits and most of his popular singles, and more. The best version of 'I Can Hear Your Heartbeat', great samples of his later career like 'Come So Far, Yet Still So Far To Go' and 'Blue Street', and the superior original versions of 'Stainsby Girls' and 'Josephine' (though I'm not sure why the latter is listed as being the 'French Edit' - it sounds identical to the original album version to me).

There's no such thing as a perfect Chris Rea compilation yet - there's plenty of songs that I think should been included, but on the other hand Chris doesn't really have a bad song in his entire back catalog - way too many worthy contenders for inclusion. And also, if like me you own many of his albums, then this is a great place to go for a whistle-stop tour of most of his highlights, whilst still having all his material to hand. If you don't own any of his albums, don't stop at this collection - Chris is one of those singers who, if you like his music, you will find a wealth of gems to be discovered. At the time of writing I own everything from 'Water Sign' (1983) to 'Espresso Logic' (1993) (and his live album from 2006), and all are worth listening to from beginning to end - not that each one is a stand-out track, but neither is there a bad song either.

There is of course the complete absurdity of including "On The Beach (Summer '88)" which is a shame. What possessed the compilers to put two versions of the same song on a 2-disc compilation, from a man who has hundreds of excellent songs to choose from, is beyond me.

But all minor niggles aside, this is a great sounding, comprehensive career overview, and also the packaging is the nicest to ever encase a Chris Rea compilation - exquisite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Journey 1978 - 2009 (Audio CD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Journey 1978 - 2009
The Journey 1978 - 2009 by Chris Rea (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews