Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars8
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 November 2011
Under the guise of Oneohtrix Point Never, Daniel Lopatin's new album 'Replica' is an about-turn from his recent releases. 'Replica' is comprised of samples from '80s television ads which have been mutated <!--more-->sometimes beyond recognition, woven into complex patterns over 10 tracks. Ironically, 'Replica' actually sounds like the most accessible album from Oneohtrix Point Never to date.

'Replica' is a nervy affair at times but always interesting, fabulously brushed over with Oneohtrix's trademark vintage synth washes, as well as some piano. Lopatins constant change of direction within most tracks helps to keep your interest, but it is also due to Lopatins skilful understanding of sampling, dynamics and melody. This is exemplified by the best track on the album, `Child Soldier'. Initially erratic samples of video games and various vocal snippets graduate into lush synths and strings, a track that really shouldn't have worked at all but does superbly.

I've always had a bit of a problem with Oneohtrix Point Never, the albums are usually good but theres always a nagging feeling that someone else has done it already and better. As inventive and beautifully crafted as 'Replica' is, it often sounds like Brian Eno and David Byrne's seminal 'My life in the bush of ghosts' remixed by Boards of Canada. Memory plays a big part in Oneohtrix's work and 'Replica' is inherently obsessed with the past, but for all the sound innovations its an album steeped in the past with nothing new to say.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
A departure from previous offerings, the new release from Lapotin blends 4th World Hassell/Eno overtones with a more familiar warm glow of the dark side of 80's vocal locks and synth washes. A much more edgier affair than Rifts or Returnal, Replica rewards with repeated plays, as it's nagging melodies and textures worm their way into your subconcious and you find yourself surfacing from a troubled sleep to find Roy Batty staring you in the face telling you he has done questionable things. In other words you should have taken that trip to an off world colony when you had the chance. Check out Steve Hauschildt for more of the same.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
Fantastic LP, my son is a fan of this guy and was really impressed :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
dark and haunting yet suprisingly rhythmic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
For a while i thought i'd outgrown rock music. Go easy on me i was in my late teens and was yet to realise i'd barely scratched the surface with the vast and diverse genre at this point. Plus, my obsession with a little known band from Oxford, England who just happened to turn it's back on the familiar three chord back beat formula with their now seminal album Kid A, was at an all time high. During this relatively short period in my life, i waxed lyrical about the greatness of electronic music, particularly the bands dubbed Intelligent by the critics (IDM). Boards Of Canada were my favourites amongst this sub genre. I found Their approach to music making incredibly unique and totally beguiling, at the time i wasn't aware of the methods behind how the music was actually being made (in all honesty i'm still not quite sure) and i think that was part of it's appeal, i just felt completely immersed in it's warped acousmatic ambience.

Years have gone by and although i've always remained a fan of electronic music in all it's permutations. I have to admit to crawling right back to rock with my tail between my legs quite some time ago, championing it as comfortably my favourite genre of music. It's albums like Oneohtrix point Never's outstanding 2011 opus Replica that get me genuinely thinking maybe i was right all those years ago. Even though this album was pretty hyped by a few "alternative magazines" when it came out, I'm not sure how many people went out and actually bought this or even streamed it. If you didn't you should have. This felt and still feels like a landmark record, from the moment i press play and "Andro's" ominous synths blare out of my speakers to the disturbingly eroticized vocoder sounds that close out "Explain". I love how Daniel Lopatin (OPN) has constructed these songs, they're steadfastly gripping and superlatively creepy. The sounds he sampled for the songs on Replica (mainly from 1980's commercials) have been so cleverly recontextualized and sequenced i could even imagine the KLF blushing whilst hearing them.

Take "Sleep Dealer" which only plays for a little over 3 minutes, but throughout that time it creates a dense, otherwordly universe of abstract beauty. Repeating and interweaving the gasps and sighs of an annonymous voice(s), whilst layering them with a thumping percussive pulse, warbly synths and cinematic drones. "Nassau" manages a similar feat by using many of the same ingredients although it's an altogher more fractured and cacophanous work albeit no less remarkable. The more minimalist drone pieces like "Submersible" work incredibly well also, conjuring up images of baron lands of eternal darkness and unspeakable devastation. The absolute crown on here is the title track though, the understated piano motif and the nefarious drones effortlessly come together to create a masterpiece of melancholia capable of stopping you dead in your tracks. For anyone who slept on this last year go pick this up pronto it's beyond essential listening.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
Crazy beautiful stuff, one of the best electronic albums of the year, replica is an absolutely amazing song, a must buy especially for fans of aphex twin, burial, james blake etc.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
Oneohtrix Point Never CD Replica is very good, I like it very much. Thank you. See you next time. Bye
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2011
my friends and I were getting extremely bored with x-factor and all the those bands with their boring songs and instrument playing. So we decided to check out the latest new underground sounds, and wow! we weren't disappointed. This guy is a modern musical genius. A bonafide 21st century Beethoven. The expert use of old synthesizers and samples is something to behold, i sure would like to know what processes this gentlemen uses to write all this! And apparently his music teachers at school said he'd never make it in music. How wrong they were. Radio play surely awaits, then people will realize what they've been missing, yeah!

Only the other morning i couldn't get Sleep Dealer out of my head, and felt compelled to hum it and soon everyone in the office was humming along - a definite feel good track. When my friends come over for wine we put the CD on and often end up eating nibbles in time to the music. The only downside is that quite a lot, when listening to it on my own i get a sore chin, or failing that my whole face aches from smiling so much. In the fruit bowl of music, this is the top papaya! Of course, everyone will try to copy this, but this guy is waaaay out in front. The competition should just admit defeat and settle for being tribute acts.
A word of warning to end with though - be prepared and order more than one copy of this, because when your friends hear this they're going to want to borrow yours! :)

Simply stunning, what else can i say? You'd be huge massive fool if you don't buy this!
10.00000/10.00000

Update: since writing this review some time ago, i've kinda changed my mind. This all seems a bit 'antique head scarf' now. I've moved onto to something far better. Belladog AeiouuuuU's new album 'zipykk in a room with no room' has really grabbed me. Unfortunately it's not out just yet (i've got the promo in my favorite lazer optical pick-up device as i type), so i thought i'd share my thoughts on it, as you're bound to want to order it when it comes out of ynori records. The way Belladog AeiouuuuU (BA), AKA Michael Pfvipar uses a sample of a gramophone through a baker-lite incarnation of pope john paul the 1st is both gratifying and massively zilched to the point that my head wants to move over to a secular channel, with a foghorn for company. I mean, naturally, we've heard it all before, when bill & ben went off air in the decade known as mitchell's quest for supremacy, but this time it's more visceral and somewhat more powerfully gifted, on a pungent level. You can't help but admire that from a mid-point distance, especially over wooden floors and newly decorated magnolia walls. It just makes sense, especially when you consider that the hairs in your ears are responding to every tiny nuance, which in turn forces the very bile of your existence to a forefront occupied by the honey dripped mountain of unforgiving sounds within. Every pin drop echoes flawlessly until its fever pitch silence all around you and the piano in c minor trembles until you feel you're born again. It's his best work to date, clearly, but to my mind you need to factor in that he's been making music for those who know how to listen without liquid preferences for epic movie scores with a slant on the Dave Grusin early period, back when he got scratched by his brother, who also fell into the copious void of magnified feedback and found 'his sound', and what a sound.
44 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£13.59
£12.38
£12.66

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)