Customer Reviews


389 Reviews
5 star:
 (276)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


205 of 230 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steve is the star in a rushed, balanced biography
As an avid tech news fan, and Steve admirer, I couldn't wait for the release and quickly finished the book in two days. Steve, not Isaacson, is the shining star and his life makes for a fascinating story regardless of who is telling it. Steve's accomplishments, boldness, twists and turns, wisdom, intelligence, abrasiveness and intuition all contribute to intriguing...
Published on 26 Oct 2011 by Tp Mayne

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mildly disappointing
After so much hype, I was really expecting a riveting read here but Apple followers will be a bit let down. The first two thirds of the book cover (obviously) identical ground to iCon (the previous comprehensive biography) and really don't add anything to that. The remaining third is really a whizz through the years of triumph without a lot of the juice, especially in...
Published 12 months ago by Fonaweb


‹ Previous | 134 35 3639 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inside the mind of a creative genius., 2 Dec 2011
By 
A. J. Parkes "sekrapa" (Dudley, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been slowly plodding along reading this book and finally finished it.

What it tells you is that Jobs was a perfectionist who thought in binary - a product or idea was either loathed or loved, there was no middle ground. He also had an explosive temper and was used to getting his own way. This made him not care what to say to anyone. He was often brutal in the way he talked to people and his attitude to those around him depended upon his mood that day.
This book also tells us that he was a seriously fussy eater fasting then only eating a particular food, very strange.

However, you also see the genius he was at putting all the ideas and products around him into a beautifully designed creation that was easy to use. Apple may not be the true inventors but they know how to build the best from the technology available.

I really enjoyed reading the book and would recommend it to anyone interested in reading biographies. The only let down i thought was at 3/4 way through, the end seemed to be rushed a little, the details were not as great as the early stages. Perhaps this is due to the book being pushed forward twice and being rushed to print. Nevertheless, a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How difficult it is to write the life of a genius who changedf the world., 2 Dec 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
There are some very full reviews already and I do not intend to write another long one. I started reading this in Blackwell's cafe on the Broad and ended up remaining, a few coffees later, my iPad beside me, iPod in my bag. Like any good biography, it is a book to delve into over time to take in all the details. For those who know a great deal about Steve Jobs (an already well-documented subject) this may be a disappointment and for those who expected Isaacson to reveal some hitherto unknown features it may also disappoint.

Steve Jobs changed the world and for the better. He ran one of the most successful companies - twice. He pioneered, developed and personally marketed machines which have found their ways in the lives of most of us. Isaacson delves into his personality, life-story and approach to business to present a fairly full description of this genius. He presents most of the parts but I was left with the impression that Steve Jobs was greater than the sum of all these parts. Looking at it now, I don't think Isaacson got it right but it is a good biography, detailed, well-written, punctiliously researched by someone who knew him well and was asked by Jobs to write it. Does it capture all of Steve Jobs between its substantial cover? I doubt it but then I did not know him, I just benefit from his genius for design, innovation and business acumen. Isaacson did as good a job as any, I suspect, and it is a fascinating read.

As was said of Sir Christoher Wren, LECTOR, SI MONUMENTUM REQUIRIS CIRCUMSPICE. (Reader, if you seek his monument look around you.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very complex, brilliant person., 1 Dec 2011
By 
TCON (DUBLIN, Ireland) - See all my reviews
I purchased the audiobook of this book as I thought it would take forever for me to read it. At the moment 1/12/11 I am on CD 10 of 20. So far it is a fascinating listen and whilst there is a lot not to like about Jobs, it is a lot of these quirks which explain why he was so brilliant. Once finished I will update this review but based on what I have listened to so far I would recommend this on audiobook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INSANELY GREAT!, 17 Nov 2011
I didn't know much about Jobs before reading this book. I didn't know he used to own Pixar! I found it a great read. It seems very balanced between chronicling the life and many great achievements of the genius but it doesn't sugar coat the fact he had many shortcomings as a person. After reading the book I don't know if I would have loved him or hated him if I had got the chance to know him. I don't think there is any space in between the two extremes! I would recommend this book to anyone who wants: to understand the man behind the success of Apple, the other people behind Apple and its success, an insight to why Apple products are designed the way they are, a bit of history of the early days of Silicon Valley and PC evolution, and of course his life and what drove him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Personality Contradictions Highlighted without Resolution, 17 Nov 2011
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
"to redeem those who were under the law, that we might receive the adoption as sons." -- Galatians 4:5 (NKJV)

It's rare for a major biography based on lots of access to be published within weeks of a person's death. Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson is such an exception, and I found it to be good at capturing a lot of details about Jobs's life to create a continuing narrative built around dramatic incidents in his life. If you had wondered about the psyche that could produce such amazing new product introductions and be so mean to people while working on the product, this book provides lots of surface evidence of someone who built his own reality, who wasn't comfortable with who he was, who wanted to impress, and who could be coldly manipulative. The roots of these characteristics are ascribed to having been given up for adoption by his biological parents. It's a pretty shallow explanation for someone who probably had some more serious personality disorders.

Many of the reasons to want to read about Steve Jobs relate to interests in entrepreneurship, innovation, and product development in technology businesses. Although the book provides lots of information, it's more than a little light on insight concerning these subjects. A more specialized biography . . . or management book . . . will be required.

The book will probably appeal most to those who love Apple products and Pixar movies, but don't know very much about Jobs's life . . . and are curious to know more. I think the book will satisfy most of such interests.

A concern I have about the book is that Jobs was hardly a role model in many aspects of his life. While Mr. Isaacson doesn't pull any punches in some areas, such as Jobs's relationships with his children, the book isn't exactly objective when it comes to evaluating how he treated people at work. Inexcusable behavior is sort of justified by the results . . . in retrospect. I couldn't help but wonder about people who Jobs abused and were harmed by the experience. People who treated others nicely are mostly portrayed as being deficient in smarts or interest in serving customers well.

Intellect doesn't excuse inhumanity. The book doesn't quite deal with that issue.

A lot of what Jobs did is also justified by the acme of success that Apple has achieved at the moment. From another point in time, many of the narratives here could have been written with a lot more objectivity. For instance, all the sturm und drang about the Macintosh in the book makes the launch seem more commercially important than it was. Mr. Isaacson mentions almost in passing that the Apple II was producing almost all of the revenues and profits for years to come.

As a result, a lot of the long-term significance of this book is in providing interviews that future biographers may not be able to duplicate for themselves. As such, this book's lasting benefit may be to provide raw material for future biographers who will be able to apply more objectivity and expertise to describing such an unusual, gifted, and flawed individual whose career has affected a great many lives through the innovations he championed.

Thank you for writing the book, Mr. Isaacson. You did as well as anyone could have at this point in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars iGenius, 15 Nov 2011
As a Mac user who can remember the first Macintosh advert, (go find it on youtube), I was very eager to read this biography of the flawed genius who invented much of the modern consumer information world.
The book does not disappoint and is a thoughtful insight into what made Steve Jobs tick, esspecially in the wilderness years after he was ousted from his own company. As Steve's favourite singer wrote:

For the loser now
Will be later to win

And he came back to Apple and put a dent in the Universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 12 Nov 2011
You enter in an another dimension and the time passes and you don't even realize it.
Very well written. Buy it you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb! I bet it will become a mandatory reading for MBA students, 7 Nov 2011
By 
Emc2 (Tropical Ecotopia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Steve Jobs: The Exclusive Biography (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent biography by Isaacson. Very well written, a real page-turner that completely captured my attention for almost two weeks, until I finished with a sensation of wanting for more. Not only it is a very well researched biography, but Mr. Isaacson had access to Mr. Jobs and his close circle of family and friends, his foes, and most importantly, without any Steve Jobs interference or previous censorship in content.

As the typical biography, the story is told chronologically, but alone the way you will learn much more than about Mr. Jobs personality, genius, his successes (Apple and Pixar) and failures (Next). The story also tells the evolution of the computer industry from the inception of the PCs with the Apple II, through the Mac, to the revolution brought by the iPod, iPhone and the iPad, and the lessons for corporate America.

The book presents quite a paradoxical business case, in which great successes were based on fostering creativity and innovation, plus Jobs almost neurotic micromanagement and endless search for perfection, but against the book, achieved in a hostile environment due to Steve Jobs' mercurial personality, his tantrums and his selfish and arrogant attitude toward his partners, employees and competitors. I would not be surprise if this book becomes a mandatory reading for MBA students. It is one of a kind example of the key role and importance of a solid organizational culture that nurtures creativity and innovation, and cares about the quality of its products and the customer. Also it is an example of how you should not treat your employees.

For those interested in the business side of this biography, I recommend the following books about successful firms that are more centered on the customer than short term profit Onward: How Starbucks Fought for Its Life without Losing Its Soul and One Click: Jeff Bezos and the Rise of Amazon.com. And for a remarkable example of what happens when short term profit and financial reward are put as the main priorities instead of the product and the customers, do not miss Bob Lutz' Car Guys vs. Bean Counters: The Battle for the Soul of American Business. For those readers more interested in the development of the information technology industry, the IBM story as told in Making the World Work Better: The Ideas That Shaped a Century and a Company is an excellent complementary reading. And those that simply enjoy biographies, I recommend Isaacson's biographies Einstein: His Life and Universe and Benjamin Franklin: An American Life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book, 3 Nov 2011
By 
David Moore (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Apart from telling a great story the author has really made a great job at being impartial and telling it how it was. Not only is it impartial but the book flows really well. Even in death Steve is still number 1!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and entertaining, 3 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steve Jobs: The Exclusive Biography (Kindle Edition)
I don't intend to give a detailed analysis of this book as some over reviewers have done. I merely encourage you to read it for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 134 35 3639 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Steve Jobs: The Exclusive Biography
7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews