Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Christianity is Life
What a journey regarding divine truth; what a collection and what an inspiration. You will be given a comprehensive overview of Christianity from a scholastic point of view. at times this may conflict with one's doctrinal persuasion and yet there are a few things that one will still get away with.
Published 8 months ago by Bill Hendricksen

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Interpretation of Christian History
Agreeing with one reviewer that the promo for the History Channel's 'The History of Christianity' sounded anti-Catholic, I opted for this collection instead.

There are 16 discs on this set and so far I am onto disc 5. Based on what I have viewed so far I'd describe this as a series of documentaries on interpretations of the history of Christianity.
Disc 1...
Published on 12 Aug 2012 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Interpretation of Christian History, 12 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christianity Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Agreeing with one reviewer that the promo for the History Channel's 'The History of Christianity' sounded anti-Catholic, I opted for this collection instead.

There are 16 discs on this set and so far I am onto disc 5. Based on what I have viewed so far I'd describe this as a series of documentaries on interpretations of the history of Christianity.
Disc 1 is on the 'Search for Christmas, feeding on the Dan Brown/Gnostic interpratations of the dating of Christmas, it's symbolism etc and aiming to prove how scripture is not historical.
Disc 2 is a 'Quest for the Lost Ark' which follows an archaelogist who believes he has found the lost tribe of Israel in Zimbabwe. I think an Ark documentary linking the Ark of the old covenant with the Ark of the New would have been more fitting.
Disc 3 is 'Seven Signs of the Apocalypse', a look at world events with a millenialist interpretation of the last book of the New Testament.
Disc 4 has 2 documentaries (most docs are about 90mins, whereas these are approx 45 mins each), one is called 'Visions of Mary', essentially a beginners guide to Marian apparitions, which once again the agenda is to disprove the truth behind the tradition. The other doc is one of the most bemusing yet - 'The Trial of Jesus' which essentially aims to prove the trial could not have been how it was written in scripture. Main contributors to this are Jewish scholars, Rabbis and representatives from the Epsicopal church, and it is no surprise they don't agree with the standard Christian version of events. Also, one of the conclusions the documentary reaches is 'the trial' story is responsible for Hitler and the Holocaust. Similarly, the next disc has an episode on 'Pontius Pilate' which reaches a similarly insulting conclusion. The question to ask is, if 'The Trial' was responsible for anti-semitism then why wasn't similar hatred drummed up for the Romans? I suppose the answer depends on whether you believe the Dan Brown-esque lies that Roman Emperor Constantine re-wrote the Bible 300 years after the life of Christ.
So on disc 5, 'Pontius Pilate', like some of these documentaries, contains historians doing a hack job at theological interpretation. One author claims at the Last Supper the Apostles were a violent group, based on Peter cutting the soldier's ear, and they therefore must have been carrying swords. Similarly, the idea that Pilate would wash his hands is dismissed(whilst pointing out again it led to the Nazi holocaust) based on a historian arriving at the conclusion it is unlikely to happen. What I found infuriating with this is, not that it is a different opinion to my beliefs, but it is presented as fact and historical, rather than being the interpretation and assumption of a religious text by a historian.
The other episode on this disc is 'Crucifixion' but I haven't watched that yet. The disc describes it as a team of forensic experts re-creating a crucifixion.

For info the episodes are: In Search of Christmas; Quest for the Lost Ark; Seven Signs of the Apocalypse; The Trial of Jesus; Visions of Mary; Crucifixion; Pontius Pilate; The Search for John The Baptist; The Real Face of Jesus (Turin Shroud); Life & Death of the Holy Temple; Masada - The Last Fortress; Messiah; A Violent God; Scarlet Women of the Bible; Job - The Devil's Test; Old Testament Heroines; Decoding the Past - The Spear of Christ; The Unknown Jesus; Mary of Nazareth; Jesus' Jerusalem; The Real Story of Christmas; In the Footsteps of Jesus; Banned from the Bible - Enigmas of the Old Testament; Banned from the Bible - Secrets of the Apostles.

Overall, if you are looking for a comprehensive collection that summarises the history and traditions of Christianity you are going to be disappointed (based on what I have watched so far). Instead what you get is an interpretation of Christian history that challenges the orthodox tradition, and calls it history. In other words, they are documentaries looking for the scandal, looking for new interpretations whilst completely dismissing, and sometimes ignoring, the standard traditional history - the interpretation believed by 2 billion people worldwide in fact.

Finally, for me the most disappointing aspect is the lack of representation of the Catholic position (after all, there's only a billion!). There is one informed, knowledgable scholar from a Jesuit University bringing a little balance in a few of the early episodes, but apart from that most contributions are from US protestant churches or from scholars who clearly don't accept the historical interpretation that billions of Christians believe. If you bear all this in mind, and view the documentaries for what they are (interpretation), rather than what they claim to be (historical fact) then it is a comprehensive collection that for entertainment I would give 4 stars, and for theology and history, 1 star. Therefore, I will give it 3 stars overall.

ps. Fellow Catholics in search of DVD series' that document our tradition and history, I've hardly found any so far (I've seen the BBC-produced 'History of Christianity' and whilst interesting and informed I also found the Anglican dean biased at times). However, I have seen a trailer for 'Catholicism' by Father Robert Barron, which looks fantastic. Unfortunately it is not available on Amazon (only in the US) and is quite expensive, mainly because it has been produced for Catechetical groups.
[...]
http://www.amazon.com/Catholicism-DVD-Box-Robert-Barron/dp/B005J6U77Q

You can buy the accompanying book though, I'm part way through and it is excellent: Catholicism
Alternatively, the Vatican also have a DVD series available (45) but I've not been able to find that outside their museuem shop, I wish I had bought it now whilst I was there so make sure you do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FRUSTRATIONS IN RESPECT OF DEAFNESS, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christianity Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Sadly it did not..... the subtitles were only in Dutch... but the vocal is English.... and the sales patter detailed that it had subtitles..... please warn for the benefits of the UK deaf community...... can you give a 2 stars for it...... the stuff itself is quite good, but I think to keep things Dutch and not clearly state Englishness is quite disappointing. However, I enjoyed looking at and following what I could, at full volume last night....

Actually when I looked at the patter....... it does clearly say no subtitles, so retract, the previous statement. Up it to 3 stars...... quite biased from watching the 2 DVDs I have seen so far..... but very enjoyable images and scenery. The music could overpower what is being said...... as a Christian well versed in theology and history, I did not feel that this added to or complemented my knowledge gleaned from attendance at many lectures within both the Anglican Church and a reputed Scottish University Divinity College. I am deaf, so the absence of English subtitles was a disappointment and maybe the DVD manufacturers could take this on board......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christianity is Life, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christianity Collection [DVD] (DVD)
What a journey regarding divine truth; what a collection and what an inspiration. You will be given a comprehensive overview of Christianity from a scholastic point of view. at times this may conflict with one's doctrinal persuasion and yet there are a few things that one will still get away with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Take a look at southparks History channel show on youtube before buying this., 1 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Christianity Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It seems that the word HISTORY in the company History Channels name is an Ironic joke. There is a definite 'other' agenda here than presenting the History of Christianity. Frankly I could have made a more compelling documentary with a Sony z3 and the use of an rhino than the 'history channel have here.
Rather than presenting a truly historic account of the most influential religious group of all time. (No one in history has had more books written about him than Jesus Christ, The printing press was invented to reproduce the Bible en-mass) Their only real interest seems to be the disproving of the Bible and presenting their own rather warped view of history.
It's kind of the opposite of their ancient alien series. There they were desperate to prove the existence of aliens, they'd say anything. Here it seems they're so keen to argue against the truth if the Bible that they'd say anything. The History channel is only there really for comedy value. I think the day they manage to present an accurate portrayal of history will be the day that they need to finish.
If you want to spend your money on something useful. Buy a Bible. There are hundreds available. I'd recommend the ESV Study Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Christianity Collection, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christianity Collection [DVD] (DVD)
With sixteen disks to go through and inwardly digest, let alone taking notes from them, call me back in about a year's time.
Amazon service, as always, perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting perspective on Christianity, 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christianity Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I expected to be a history of Christianity, but I think it is an interesting debate about the existence and reality of Christianity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars christianity, 7 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Christianity Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The Christianity Collection is not for everyone but if you are interested in this kind of thing it is most interesting and you sshould give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Christianity Collection [DVD]
£33.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews