Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars302
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2011
After seeing this new version of Lord of the Dance life several times in fall 2010 and then some months later as 3D movie in the cinema it was no question to me that I had to buy the DVD. It is fascinating to have the view behind the scenes before the show starts where Michael Flatley speaks about the enormous work, determination and excitement and the viewer gets to see some backstage impressions - all this is in black and white - then it turns into color and the show begins. The story-line stays true to the wonderful original but a totally new stage design with amazing LED-screens showing impressive moving pictures gives the scene a fascinating depth and underlines the scenes. And the return of Michael Flatley himself as Lord of the Dance when he flies on stage with such a power and stage-presence takes your breath away. He is still in very good shape and it is amazing how high his kicks still are and how he combines his athletic strength with this lightness and enormous speed and precision! The movie is filmed from many different angles so that the viewer gets the impression of even being on stage many times. Michael Flatley and his whole troupe, and also the singer and the musicians all show Irish dance and music of highest precision, perfection and beauty in a thrilling way that lets you dance in your seat - it is a celebration for the senses that should not be missed in a DVD-collection.
Also the added extras are fascinating and give the viewer a more in depth insight into this magnificent work.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
This is a superb DVD, especially if you have 3D and a soundbar, don't hesitate to buy it, it was as god as being at the actual show!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
arrived quickly, good condition, enjoyed it very much ,. will tell all my friends about it ,will be buying some more in the future
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Had this on tape for a long time and wore it out, Was so pleased to find it on DVD. Arrived well packaged and quickly too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
In Watching This 3D Disc I Found That The Content Was Good But The 3D Content Was Not As Good As I Would Have Liked.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 9 September 2011
This blu-ray version of Michael Flatley's Lord Of The Dance is superbly crafted. The photography is spectacular and mirrors the performances of the Irish folklore inspired dance routines. Filmed in Dublin and London with the latest technology adds a new dimension to the VHS recording I have had since the Dublin recording in 1996. Michael Flatley has clearly lost none of his twinkling charismatic footwork nor does the company. The virtuosity of the cast is magnificently evident. Orchestration and sound quality masterful. A few minor gripes. The original Act2 dance5 ('Siamsa') is relegated to the 'deleted' scene section. No apparent reason? The slow-motion sequences and flashy lighting camera angle changes take some getting used to. However this is a most welcome release that will provide many hours of pleasure. Highly recommended.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
Mym mum loved this. It was one of the best presents she got. She loves Michael Flatley and the dancing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
Regarding the show itself, what can I say... magnificent!
Regarding the 3D effects, it is is nice experience, but less than I expected.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
had this on video, but those days are gone, so bought the dvd as I enjoy the show, good packaging
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
I enjoy this kind of dance/music since the first time I saw Riverdance and was looking for a BluRay version of it. The Lord of the Dance is a nice and very well produced performance. However, I still prefer the original Riverdance. It was more collective and less focused on him. It's worthy the purchase but I would also like to see a BluRay version of Riverdance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.