Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaw dropping
Id never really seen a full lords of the dance show and had only seen it being performed at gala evenings etc so i wondered how they were going to pad out a whole show. Wonder no more as the show was spellbinding from start to finish with excellent 3D and a scorchingly clear 7.1 audio soundtrack, i will watch this again and again as it gives goosebumps every time,...
Published on 28 Nov. 2011 by Mr. A. J. Wilson

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lord of the Dunce
I would love to give this 5 stars but I just can't. Don't get me wrong Mr Flatley and crew were fantastic as always. The 3D was ok but I was to busy thinking about the bits that seemed to be missing from the show that I didn't give the effects my full attention. I got to the end of the DVD and thought I'd look at the Bonus Features with of all things a section called...
Published on 9 Aug. 2012 by Rustycauldron


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great to see Flatley back... but this DVD is a little disappointing., 25 Jan. 2015
By 
Hibou (Grenoble, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Flatley Returns as Lord of the Dance 3D [Blu-ray 3D + Blu Ray] (Blu-ray)
I was excited when I first saw Lord of the Dance on stage, and also in a much earlier video. This one is a little disappointing. Michael Flatley is naturally not as energetic as he was when he was young, and he clearly limited his own dancing. The choreography and dancing was otherwise of a high standard. Unfortunately the stage lighting was not really suitable for TV video, with large arrays of LED lights sometimes producing interference with the TV's pixel arrays, even on a 2014 HD TV (Moiré effect). This was particularly annoying with the 3D version. Although other 3D videos, such as those produced by the BBC, are of astonishing quality, 3D was more of a distraction with this performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING but with a couple complaints, 14 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have loved Michael Flatley and have owned every DVD with him, and also Riverdance and I have to say Lord Of The Dance in Blu ray is superb, the music sounds so much better. I did however have some issues with the quality, when the cameras are side on, it is crystal clear but front on or camera from above is a little fuzzy, but overall the quality is just wonderful.

For those who already have the original Lord Of The Dance and wonder why they should buy it again, the costumes are new, there is a whole load of screens with images running on them which look pretty amazing plus Dance Of Love (from feet of flames), Michael playing flute with the band and his solo dance (again similar to feet of flames) and it's just a really great revamped version.

My gripes are this; the editing at the end is awful, there are different dancers in the finale as it was recorded in 2 different venues, so in 1 encore you see Bernadette Flynn then the next she is gone and replaced with whoever danced for her at the other venue, and that really annoyed me, I dont understand why they edited it in that way, maybe I am picky but I noticed it right away.

Also the deleted scenes should have been in the actual feature, I don't understand why they were taken out, I agree with one of the comments that they add to the show so should have been kept in.

Overall brilliant for any Michael Flatley and Lord Of The Dance fan, despite my small issues I loved it and would recommend highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "RunTimes and Flashing Lights", 13 Sept. 2011
Michael Flatley Returns As Lord Of The Dance [Blu-ray]

I agree with ACB{Swansea} and I endorse his review wholeheartedly.

**One note of warning I would add to those who are adverse to 'Lighting' - there are many scenes with shimmering/flashing lights!**

The only matter I would add to ACB's review is the running times of the Main Title and the Extras, as it does say in the 'Product Detail' that the run time is 128 minutes. For those expecting 2(+) hours of the main feature, be aware that this is not the case.

So for any who are interested in the run times of the 'elements', which do happen make up the TOTAL ~128minutes run time:-

a.Main Feature: ~ 95 minutes
b.Behind the Scenes: ~ 20 minutes
c.Deleted Scenes{of which there are four}:
1) Marble Halls{Song} ~3.5mins. 2) Siamsa{Dance} ~4.75 mins.
3) Carrick Fergus{Song} ~4 mins. 4) Encore{applause} ~1.2 min.

I cannot see why, in both the DVD versions and the cinematic release, the deleted scenes were deleted at all as , in my opinion, would not detract from the release at all, I think they would ADD to it, except maybe the ~1+ minute of audience applause.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a superhuman Guy., 22 Jun. 2013
By 
alley kat (west yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been amazed by the Feet of Flames DVD, I just had to see if Michael had got the magic
after 14 years, he has, the girls are just as gorgeous, the music is superb, the routines have been
changed slightly to keep you interested, how this guy does what he does when he is now in his 50s
is beyond belief, he deserves his vast wealth that the Lord of the Dance has given him.
Be amazed, buy the DVD at the bargain price Amazon have got it at, & have a night in,
without the traffic chaos after a live show in person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice to see him back, 15 Mar. 2014
By 
JohnW "JohnW" (Stithians Cornwall) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Flatley Returns as Lord of the Dance 3D [Blu-ray 3D + Blu Ray] (Blu-ray)
There have been a few copies but in my opinion none are so good as Michael Flatley. What a delight to see his company back again at the place where he started it all. All this and in 3D too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lord of the dance, 18 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
an excellent dvd, the picture and sound were first class, the dancing is extraordinary, the music and scenery were amazing. 10/10 i would recommend this to all music and dance lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Flatley. Big, Bold & In Your Face, 23 Nov. 2011
By 
Mr. J. W. Rissbrook "Barnowllover" (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michael Flatley Returns as Lord of the Dance 3D [Blu-ray 3D + Blu Ray] (Blu-ray)
The 3D disc is a must for Michael Flatley fans and well worth forking out for a 3D compatible T.V. How does he do it, spectacular, sharp and as always the Flatley magic.
He conquers the night with his unique dancing ability, special effects, and of course his dancing cast who are impeccable and a joy to watch.
This must be one of the only productions were you want to stand up in your living room and shout and clap after the breathtaking production you have been fortunate enough to watch. Well done Michael you make people happy and put a smile on their face. Go on its Christmas give yourself a treat.
XXXXX XXXX XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What energy and precision. Choreography, costumes and understanding of the art. Wonderful way to tell a story.
Most enjoyable. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this kind of show and nobody does it better than Michael Flatley. The energy and precision of the dancers is almost unbelievable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Triumphant Return, 17 Oct. 2011
By 
Eva Schwarz - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After seeing this new version of Lord of the Dance life several times in fall 2010 and then some months later as 3D movie in the cinema it was no question to me that I had to buy the DVD. It is fascinating to have the view behind the scenes before the show starts where Michael Flatley speaks about the enormous work, determination and excitement and the viewer gets to see some backstage impressions - all this is in black and white - then it turns into color and the show begins. The story-line stays true to the wonderful original but a totally new stage design with amazing LED-screens showing impressive moving pictures gives the scene a fascinating depth and underlines the scenes. And the return of Michael Flatley himself as Lord of the Dance when he flies on stage with such a power and stage-presence takes your breath away. He is still in very good shape and it is amazing how high his kicks still are and how he combines his athletic strength with this lightness and enormous speed and precision! The movie is filmed from many different angles so that the viewer gets the impression of even being on stage many times. Michael Flatley and his whole troupe, and also the singer and the musicians all show Irish dance and music of highest precision, perfection and beauty in a thrilling way that lets you dance in your seat - it is a celebration for the senses that should not be missed in a DVD-collection.
Also the added extras are fascinating and give the viewer a more in depth insight into this magnificent work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Michael Flatley Returns as Lord of the Dance 3D [Blu-ray 3D + Blu Ray]
£6.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews