Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars train of thought
I've bought this because the author whom I know very well indeed asked me to buy it and tell you all how good it is!
Published on 29 Aug 2011 by Rob R

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A binary book - I didn't complete it
I read a third of the book and gave up, but in that third there were some very funny stories but it was the amount of text you had to plough through to get to the funny bit.

This is one of those binary books that you will either love or hate. It will also help if you know your class 25s from your Black Fives as well as understanding what an unfitted freight is...
Published on 24 May 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A binary book - I didn't complete it, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravy Trains (Kindle Edition)
I read a third of the book and gave up, but in that third there were some very funny stories but it was the amount of text you had to plough through to get to the funny bit.

This is one of those binary books that you will either love or hate. It will also help if you know your class 25s from your Black Fives as well as understanding what an unfitted freight is and how that translates into a rollercoaster for the guard.

This is an author who clearly has a wealth of great stories to tell, just the way they were presented here was not for me. A good ghost author would be able to translate these reminiscences into a golden book.

Download the sample first to see if you like the style before parting with your cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly expressed ramblings, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravy Trains (Kindle Edition)
There are plenty of good books about life on the railways - and this isn't one of them. George Dixon mixes what might be genuine stories and experiences with pure fantasy; the spelling, punctuation and grammar are terrible and the end result is a poor excuse for a book on a serious subject. I don't mind George rambling on about class 45 (etc) locos and I don't even mind his obvious hatred for privatisation - he is entitled to his opinion - but he really needs to decide whether he is writing a serious book or a collection of fairy stories. Whichever it is, get somebody to edit it before publishing it. I did like one thing, though - his description of the new, University-educated, 5-minute manager who knows better than everybody else. On the other hand, the railways have been - and still are - blessed with plenty of excellent University-educated managers who know what they're doing and aren't afraid to ask for advice. If you want to read how life was on the railways, there are plenty of well-written books by drivers, shedmasters and managers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars train of thought, 29 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravy Trains (Kindle Edition)
I've bought this because the author whom I know very well indeed asked me to buy it and tell you all how good it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Marmite, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravy Trains (Kindle Edition)
The first third contains some funny stories. By half way through the author seems to slip onto a very odd fantasy world, you have to wade through a thick swamp of meaningless words to find the tail Mr Dixon is trying to tell. My word this guy can talk sh$t. Maybe if you know the author as a few reviewers appear to be it would all make perfect sense.
I cant force myself to finish the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value for money., 16 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravy Trains (Kindle Edition)
I have read the free sample and it is worth every penny.

So much so that I am actively considering buying the rest, and may do so once I have had a lie down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leg End, 30 Sep 2011
By 
J. Buckley "The Crunchy Nutter" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gravy Trains (Kindle Edition)
I've said it before, and I'll say it again, George Dixon is a true legend of the highest order. The nicest chap you could possibly meet, and a proper railwayman from the Good Old Days (the Days of Black & White that is)

Read this, and learn of the characters of the proper railway, brought to life as only George is able to, and compare it with the shambles of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From steam's last days to privatisation, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravy Trains (Kindle Edition)
An amusing look at life working for British Railways and beyond as seen from the train crew's perspective, with some odd asides and the occasional inspired burst of railway-themed poetry. The writer's style takes a bit of getting used to (either that or the writing actually improves as the book progresses) and the layout, resembling an OCR scan that hasn't been proofread, doesn't help. Nevertheless I found enough here to keep me reading to the end without it turning into a chore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gravy train, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravy Trains (Kindle Edition)
this is a really great read funny anybody who has an interested in trains
will enjoy this book and would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gravy Trains, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravy Trains (Kindle Edition)
It started off ok but it descended into a sort of ramble which, at times, did not get anywhere, leaving me uninterested in finding out what the conclusion was. Annoying spelling mistakes and over-used words and phrases finally sounded the death-knell for this book and I abandoned it at about a third of way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gravy Trains (Kindle Edition)
As a railwayman of 43 years and having joined in the late 50's this is an extremely accurate account of life on the railway then. Drivers and Signalmen really were at loggerheads most of the time each one claiming being the superior grade. It made me laugh at their antics and despite what you might think things really did happen as described however unlikely they may seem to be.
I found it compulsive reading if you really want to know how the railway was run then this will tell you, it bought back memories for me, it will make you laugh and you will say to yourself how did they ever get away with it?
If you buy this you need not read Version 2 much of it is the same, but both are great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gravy Trains
Gravy Trains by George Dixon
£1.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews