Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good re-release, but not without it's faults
So after some considerable faffing about regarding delays and whatnot Silent Hill HD Collection has landed in the UK.

For those looking to comparisons to the original, I can offer a comparison on Silent Hill 2 as I owned it on the Xbox, but this is my first time playing Silent Hill 3.

Graphics

So this being an HD re-release I'm sure the...
Published on 30 Mar. 2012 by D. A. Tremlett

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The classics revived!
Silent Hill HD Collection is a must for any fan or new player alike. The new graphics are well made, and make for a good revisit to the silent hill world, however, the game has some faults that many fans will notice. Lets start with Silent Hill 2.
Silent Hill 2 brings back the classic voices which fans know and love. Players can also select the new voices for the...
Published on 17 Aug. 2012 by Mike Parker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good re-release, but not without it's faults, 30 Mar. 2012
By 
D. A. Tremlett (Buckie, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silent Hill HD - Collection (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
So after some considerable faffing about regarding delays and whatnot Silent Hill HD Collection has landed in the UK.

For those looking to comparisons to the original, I can offer a comparison on Silent Hill 2 as I owned it on the Xbox, but this is my first time playing Silent Hill 3.

Graphics

So this being an HD re-release I'm sure the first thing you will be wondering about is graphically how it compares to the original. Silent Hill 2 as far I can tell looks much the same as the original, some textures have been cleaned up but others however have suffered, in one scene looking over the lake the water just appears to stop after a few hundred yards as if it suddenly dropped off a cliff. Also the thick fog has been scaled back somewhat to allow you a less restrictive version than before, however it still inhibits your field of view as originally intended.

Character models are nicely detailed, but look aged, which is understandable given that SH2 is ten years old, SH3 is a noticeably improvement in graphical quality everything is much sharper. Environments I'm pleased to say still stack up well, the whole town is very atmospheric and in some later areas of the game, you will be hesitant around narrow paths and blind corners as you hear enemies lurking in the distance. One thing I found slightly jarring in SH2 was that some cutscenes are rendered as FMV's part way through and then the game will go back to in game engine cutscenes. Some players have reported texture bugs, the PS3 version coming off worst due to a technical issue. I have to say this factored into my decision to get the Xbox 360 version.

Also SH2 has a very grainy look which is amplified to some degree by HD resolutions, I think this is an artistic choice on the developer's part rather than a design flaw, but it can be distracting at times.

Sound

Now onto another bug bear, Konami have re-recorded the voice work for both games. Thankfully for those of you wishing to preserve your nostalgic memories in SH2 the original voicework is included for you to listen to you if you choose. However for Silent Hill newbies, I would advise going with the new voices as they seem to fit better, the old voices have a so this-is-so-bad-it's-good quality that reminded me a lot of the older Resident Evil games (another favourite of mine, known for cheesy voice acting). However with regards to Silent Hill 3, I looked up some youtube footage and compared, the original voicework was better, the character of Heather seemed much more genuinely like a frightened teenager. Unfortunately in SH3 there is no option to use the original audio, so we're stuck with it. Thankfully it's not all bad, just not as good as before. Some players have also noted how the lips don't quite sync correctly with the voices duriung cutscenes, thankfully though is only minor.

The music fits nicely with the surroundings, with some sombre tunes evoking real moments of sadness and freakier pieces which play when enemies are near. The tracks all fit well with their surroundings. However Konami are also clever enough to realise that in some situations the scariest tool in the box is complete silence, they use this method nicely to build suspense at key moments.

The monsters themselves all have a variety of freaky sounds when they move or attack. This coupled in with ambient effects, including something which sounds like an animal being tortured in one key location, were definitely enough to get under my skin and make me wander the dark surroundings to find the source of it.

Some sounds have been absent from the mix, but it seems as though a patch is being prepared to remedy these issues soon.

Gameplay

Now I'm going to take a guess here and say that some of the people buying this game will have never played Silent Hill before, so let us quickly run through the basics for those unfamiliar with this series.

Controls are broken down into to 2D and 3D type, 3D type is best compared to the tank style controls employed by Resident Evil, forwards is always forwards on the analog stick, left is always left etc, this is based where your character is currently facing. 2D type is different, in 2D type, left moves you to left of the screen, right to the right, down to the bottom etc. My personal preference is 3D I tried both options early and could only go in circles using 2D type and got frustrated, I switched to 3D and it was much better, I was able to orientate myself and move round the world with ease. For those of you familiar with tank style controls, you will probably prefer them like myself, but for players new to third person survival horror, you may prefer 2D. Here's a tip try it on the opening part of Silent Hill 2 as you will not encounter any enemies for about 5 minutes, this will give you a good chance to try both.

Combat in Silent Hill 2 follows the genre tend, you ready your weapon with an aiming function (mapped to the right trigger in the defaults controls) then press A to attack, in Silent Hill melee weapons will make up the bulk of your arsenal, while guns are available for you to use, their ammo is limited and you'll need to hang on to them for tough boss battles later. So get yourself into hoarding mode and save every last bullet you find. You can also press the X button while standing still, this allows you to block some attacks and if you do it right, you may come out unharmed, however bear in mind some attacks are unblockable. I personally chose to avoid battle where I could in the name of saving ammo, in the streets of town this was easy as the area is wide and allows a lot of room to outrun the monsters roaming around town.

Also you will need to have your thinking cap on for this game and keep a pen and paper handy to write down solutions to puzzles, some of these range from a simple code to riddles which you must interpret correctly to proceed. Also many of the codes are randomly generated each time, so bear this in mind on repeat attempts to solve some tougher puzzles.

Also keep your eyes pealed for first aid kits, health drinks and ampoules which are used to restore your health after battle. Finally we have the menu inventory screen, this shows everything you are carrying and your health, which is represented by a picture in picture in the top left, it's it's colour indicates your current health, green means you are unhurt, normal colour means you are hurt but not badly, finally we have red which indicates your character is near death.

Overall

I would rank this game as 8/10 - it is a highly enjoyable experience, however small bugs and glitches detract from the overall experience. If you can look past these faults and put aside your desire for astonishing graphics, you will have a blast. So go back to that special place in Silent Hill and experience it once more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The classics revived!, 17 Aug. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silent Hill HD - Collection (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Silent Hill HD Collection is a must for any fan or new player alike. The new graphics are well made, and make for a good revisit to the silent hill world, however, the game has some faults that many fans will notice. Lets start with Silent Hill 2.
Silent Hill 2 brings back the classic voices which fans know and love. Players can also select the new voices for the game. The new voices, in my opinion, are very hit and miss at parts. The new James is quite good, but Mary/Maria lacks the emotion of the original. This can be heard in the Otherworld Hospital, where fans will remember the elevator. In the original, you could hear the fear of Maria, but the new voice... It sounds like shes just calling James! Graphics are great, but streets and roads have been made very clean, compared to the original games decayed version. Fog seems to be edited, as when you walk, you can see a line where fog stops in front of you. Cutscenes can often lag at the start, mainly as an achievement unlocks, however, this is very minor. Music still remains the sames, but some cutscenes seem to loop the song, which in the original, should play through the entire scene. The dark can be very bad at times, usually in the start, as it is very hard to see without the flashlight. All in all, silent hill 2 is still very enjoyable for all players.
Silent Hill 3 now only offers new voices, which once again, don't show the same emotion as the originals. However, they are still good, but this game has many faults fans will spot. Cutscenes, like 2, have slight edits, where music that should play, now doesnt, or has been changed. Some sound effects have been edited or removed from cutscenes as well. Graphics can be tedious at times, as the camera makes moving blur very slightly. A very big bug in a weapon, the SMG, causes firing it to begin to glitch the sound. And if it hits enemies, the enemy sound begins to glitch. However, this is the only weapon that causes this problem. Another problem for many, is framerate glitches. During boss fights, the framerate can slow to extremely slow points. Usually only at their death, and for a few seconds. This doesnt happen often however, so doesnt have too much impact on gameplay. Overall, the game has its faults, but it is still a fun game to play.
Overall the collection does have its faults and downsides, but is recommended as a must play game for fans, or new players, to relive the horror of the classic games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awsome games, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Hill HD - Collection (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
So far, the gameplay has been good. Not really a collection though because I only had two and three. I don't know if one was ment to be in there but i would of expected it, even though i bought it mostly for two. The delivery was fast and got here on my birthday morning, so I'm happy :) The price is quite good, and would def recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Play the Original, seriously, 16 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Silent Hill HD - Collection (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game was made using incomplete code. That's the most important thing you should know before even considering buying this. Silent Hill 2 was missing chunks of data necessary for a re release so the HD collection cuts corners in a lot of major ways to get around it. This isn't a faithful HD remake. This isn't even a port. This collection is less complete than the two games a generation earlier.

I'll try to set this up in to pros and cons, but it is pretty heavily skewed in one direction.

Pros-
-You get two of the best horror games ever made for a more recent console. Really this is the reason I'm giving it two stars instead of one. Also included is the shorter Maria centred story "Born from a Wish" which some people may have missed playing altogether if they didn't buy the directors cut of silent hill 2 (such as myself) so it's good to be able to finally play it.

Cons (brace yourselves)-
-Voice acting choices for silent hill 2 but not 3 because of legal issues. The new ones for 3 aren't bad, although the ones for two certainly are.

-Changes in the audio. A small example would be that 3 has moments where background songs have been changed, replaced or inserted into otherwise different scenes for whatever reason. A bigger example would be the audio delay in cutscenes which is made worse with the new voices, making it feel like a cheaply dubbed foreign film. Sound effects are also effected so James' footsteps loop endlessly between the same noise which really grates after a while.

-The "HD" part of the collection seems to be limited to having removed a filter from the original games. Don't believe the side by side comparison footage which makes the old ones look like a Disney pirated copy, the new ones haven't improved graphically much. By removing the filter, the HD version also drastically removed one of the visual effects designed to avoid graphical limitations which makes the games age really show.

-THE FOG. Related to the graphics above, the fog implementation is appaling. It looks like a block a few feet in front of the character with a visible edge.

-Brightness is a big problem. Even with the game settings adjusted to the highest, the game is so dark that navigating in enclosed areas means you risk missing items/doors/walking into monsters. It's like the contrast is maxed.

- I'm sure other reviews have gone into more detail with bugs, but one I found incredibly annoying was the fade between opening and closing the map screen, or travelling between rooms. During the fade you are open to attacks from monsters that WILL attack and damage you before the game lets you resume control.

Honestly beyond the inclusion of Born from a Wish this offers nothing for old players and no new player to the series is going to be converted here. Buy the original games and don't give this a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bad HD re-master, but great games though!, 20 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Silent Hill HD - Collection (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Just to be clear i'm not criticizing the games, just the faults i experienced when playing the games. Both Silent Hill 2 and 3 had bugs, glitches, audio cut outs and bad hd textures. I'm not sure if this happens in some copies or if it's my HD TV but i have never experienced these faults before when playing HD ports, until now. But aside from re-master of the games, Silent Hill 2 and 3 are old favorites of mine alongside Resident Evil games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT GAME COLLECTION BUT WITHOUT THE 4TH and THE ORIGINS IT'S NOT A COLLECTION, 25 Aug. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silent Hill HD - Collection (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've already heard about the exception of the 4th Silent Hill and the prequel games before but it would've been great if it had those games altogether. But that's not the only problem it had some terrible sound problems and the new voices are terrible especially the 3rd one but in the 2nd they give you the choice to change the voices but to the fans it would still be the same games they played but it still a good hd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Putting the horror in survival, 23 Aug. 2013
By 
John Mitchell (Lossiemouth, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Hill HD - Collection (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Silent Hill, quite possibly the most truly terrifying survival horror series in the last 10 years. The Resident Evil titles did once hold that title, but have increasingly sacrificed horror in favour of action. This isn't a problem that only includes Resident Evil, it's endemic throughout the video games industry. Regardless, Silent Hill 2 was a title I could not get myself to play 10+ years ago, because I was too scared to play it. The HD collection includes both Silent Hill 2 and Silent Hill 3. This isn't all the titles within the series and as a result isn't quite as comprehensive as some collections that have been released. However, arguably the two games that are included are the best games of the series.

Firstly, Silent Hill 2. The game has you stepping into the shoes of James Sunderland who ventures to Silent Hill in an attempt to find his missing wife, Maria. Suffice to say when James gets to Silent Hill, things are not exactly "rosy." The map in both games becomes incredibly important as a way of orientating yourself through the many labyrinth like corridors you will come across. Helpfully, the map will also pinpoint puzzles and where they are located. Puzzles will vary in difficulty depending on the "riddle level" set. These puzzles are challenging which is welcome as they used to be very much a staple of the genre, puzzles are still used within the Survival Horror genre, but are now not nearly as challenging.

Silent Hill in both games is an incredibly bleak and depressing place. It's fair to say that Konami got the backdrop perfect in both games, where the environment is genuinely unsettling. Akira Yamaoka, who produced the sound on both titles, delivers one of the best game soundtracks you will see, which ticks all the right boxes in a profoundly organic way. Going back to the atmosphere of the games, perhaps the key element of this is the fog, which when out exploring the streets of Silent Hill makes things unpredictable, much like many sections within both games where you never know where an enemy may be lurking. That's where the static from your radio picks up enemies, again frightening the player as whilst the static may be audible, enemies may not be within the immediate line of sight.

Silent Hill 3 has you playing as the character Heather. The game mechanics remain largely the same and the graphics are touched up a little. The story is more Hollywood inspired and as a result perhaps a little more irrational. That's not to say it's a bad story, the story in both games is effective and largely great. SH2 is perhaps the pinnacle of the series as far as story telling goes as it is fairly powerful, even if it is downright dispiriting in tone throughout. Rarely does a video game leave a lasting impression on the player, but Silent Hill 2 is one of those games. The weapons in both games whilst not vast, each, have their own differing characteristics. The survival horror staple, the shotgun, features in both titles. Weapons are a mixture of guns effective at differing levels of range and a variety of melee weapons where some are also more effective than others at close range. Completing both games will result in unlocks with new weapons to play with, if the player returns to the game after completing it. There are plenty reasons to do so, not least the multiple endings in both games.

---Summary---
Graphics 7 Touched up with HD but still dated. That said it fits both games perfectly and whilst some "jaggies" are occasionally present (along with occasional slowdown in SH3), mostly, it does the job well.

Sound 9 Superb soundtrack, the hammy voice acting (which is what some survival horror fans have come to find synonymous with the genre) prevents a top score.

Gameplay 8 Functional, with little wrinkles. Weapon and item selection is distinctly 2000 but it does help ramp up the tension in being clunky.

Lifespan 6 Both games can be finished in 8 hours but to do so you end up missing some collectibles and content, at least on the first play through. I took about 6-8 hours with each title on my first play through.

Silent Hill, unlike many other competitors does bring the horror within the games. Yes, games 10+ years ago where more willing to take risks and be on the edge a bit more, but as far as survival horror games go this is at the top of the pile. Within this collection you will find two games that whilst far from perfect in terms of implementation, both games do hit all the right notes in terms of setting. Current titles have sacrificed atmosphere in favour of instant gratification, where the more destruction the player creates, the better the game. Within the Survival Horror genre, that doesn't always work and at the very least leaves the player with a diluted experience. Both games are full on survival horror fests and if that's what you are looking for, you won't be disappointed. 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS VERSION, 16 Nov. 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silent Hill HD - Collection (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The Xbox version of this collection is riddled with bugs and glitches, and Konami have released a statement - [...] - saying that it would be too much work to release a patch, making this virtually unplayable. I think it's fair to show them the same respect that they show their consumers - none at all. I urge you not to buy this game. The PS3 version has been patched, if you really want to play these otherwise excellent games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you have a PS2, put it to use and buy the originals instead., 21 Sept. 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Silent Hill HD - Collection (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought the Silent Hill HD Collection with the hope of being able to once and fore all show my girlfriend and brother why I, to this day, still hold these titles (especially Silent Hill 2) with such high regard. Unfortunately, neither of them will play the old versions, and I would prefer not to pass this HD collection on to them because of its flaws in comparison the originals. Upon inserting the disc I was greeted by the cheap and horrible looking and sounding game select screen. Though I can forgive that as it's only a quick game select screen. Next I had the option to choose the original, or brand new voices for Silent Hill 2, and this is where things start to really go down hill.

You have the option for new or old voice acting in Silent Hill 2, but you don't get this option for Silent Hill 3. No, you don't get the original voices in SH3, you are stuck with the new ones. It's not that these new voice actors are bad, however they do seem to lack the personality and depth of the originals, some more notably than others. The next issue I had was with the audio, both for video and in-game. Sounds that I remembered jumping out at me I was having difficulty hearing in this port, while other sounds that aren't so interesting were very audible. For example; in SH3 hitting a monster with a melee weapon you will actually have to listen carefully to hear the creatures yelp/cry, but if your weapon hits a wall instead, the sound is very clear. Other audio faults are littered throughout the game, but unless you have played the original games a few times, perhaps you won't notice them too much.

Graphically the game is about what I had expected, though there are one or two flaws with some ambient hues, frame rate and differences in fog, things can look a little jagged and perhaps sometimes you see more than what you need to.

If you have a PlayStation 2, wipe the dust away from it and put it back to use by purchasing the PS2 versions and experiencing these two truly great titles as they were originally intended. Sure everything won't be as high def and you won't get your beloved achievements, but you will get a much richer and enjoyable experience from two of horrors video game heavyweights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could have been much better, 30 Mar. 2012
By 
Alex Lloyd "ccfc5590" (cardiff, wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silent Hill HD - Collection (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Being a huge Silent Hill fan, ive been really looking forward to the release of this game. I was however slightly disappionted with this release

Firstly, this is a HD collection so it should look much better than the original to such an extent that I wont ever go back the originals. Its not the case though, yes this collection is decent enough but there are plenty of problems.

Graphically its not incredible (The PC versions look much better)

There is the odd minor framerate problem (in certain cutscenes and when acheivements pop up)

No original voices in SH3

Combat feels different somehow, it feels much harder and slower

Brightness problems (Much too dark even with the brightness up full in the game settings)

Sound Looping issues

Overall this collection is playable and enjoyable but to anyone who really wants to give these games a good go, i would recommend the originals on PS2 or PC. These games are just superb in pretty much every way and are the best survival horror games that have ever existed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silent Hill HD - Collection (Xbox 360)
£10.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews