Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars43
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2010
A wealthy woman is murdered by her husband but before he can leave the scene of the crime he to is murdered. So the remaining people left to gain from the dead womans will all start been killed off one by one.

This is proberly Mario Bava's most famous film and it isn't without its exciting moments but they are few and far between. I found myself alittle bored at times and I was also confused to as there seemed to be alot going on and people been killed for no reason, so I did lose track of things from time to time but by the end I had figured it all out.

Theres no lead actor or actress which made the film more exciting in the sense that any of the people could be the murderer. The directing by Bava is good and the majority of the death scenes are very gory and alot more impressive than that of Friday the 13th and Halloween. The main problem I had with the film was the ridiculous ending.

Overall this is a decent film and a must see for fans of slasher movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2002
This is a 'fun' horror film. Bava is on of my favourite horror directors and he doesn't fail to please here. He does excellent set pieces and the murders are graphic and original. This is often seen as a precursor to the stalk and slash films of the late seventies but is less moralistic and refuses to offer psychology as an excuse for the violence. I'm not even going to try to analyse this film as everyone is pretty unpleasant and deserves everything they get. This is a horror film for horror film's sake and Bava offers no apology. The scenes which stick with me are the opening hanging of the old woman in the wheel chair, the deaths of the couple by sharp spike coming up through the bed, the swimming woman who bumps into a decomposing corpse and the hilarious ending...just when you thought it was safe! Great fun, buy it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2006
Better known as 'A Twitch of the Death Nerve' this 1971 Italian slaughterfest from the great Mario Bava is the precursor of Friday 13th and it's numerous ilk. Leaving aside the slightly fuzzy plot involving the various characters attempts to secure the prime real estate of the title, the various gorrotings, impalings and mutilations are handled with much gusto. Though I suspect the 80 min version veiwed has been trimmed down it still remains a well paced tongue in cheek slice of Italian horror.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
REVIEWED VERSION: 2010 Arrow Video UK Blu-Ray

Director: Mario Bava

Cast: Claudine Auger, Luigi Pistilli, Claudio Camaso, Anna Maria Rosati, Chris Avram, Leopoldo Trieste

SYNOPSIS

A wheelchair-bound heiress is strangled to death by her husband before he himself is stabbed to death by an assailant. This is the beginning of a series of stabbing, slashings and beheadings...

THE PROS & CONS

A BAY OF BLOOD is the grand daddy of the slasher film, even though Sean Cunningham denies having seen this film prior to making FRIDAY THE 13TH, I find it very doubtful as the two movies have a lot of similarities, especially the scenery at a lake (bay).
This Arrow release comes in 2 versions: The English language Export version and the Italian language Italian version which features different dialogue (no additional gore).
The killings look rather tame by today's standards, but when it came out it was violent enough to get censored by the BBFC (by almost 1 minute in 4 scenes) and banned in Germany until this day. Oddly the movie required no cuts to obtain its R rating. The second FRIDAY THE 13TH film copied two murders of BAY OF BLOOD almost shot for shot: the machete in the face scene and the spearing of two copulating teenagers in bed - although the original scenes in BAY OF BLOOD are a lot more graphic.
The acting is definitely better than in most slasher films. You do have the annoying sex-crazed teenagers but they are not quite as stupid as in most American-made slashers and they fortunately don't last very long.
The directing is superb - let's not forget this is the very first slasher film, so you have to forget about having seen all the stabbings und brutalities in other movies, this movie came out in 1971 when nobody even thought of FRIDAY, NIGHTMARE or HALLOWEEN! Mario Bava did a superb job with the killing scenes, they still are kind of shocking and "in your face", but they must have been really shocking back then. I especially liked the grim ending that you don't expect - brilliant! Bava also paced the film perfectly. I also liked the dark atmosphere and the film's score.

ON A SIDE NOTE

- A BAY OF BLOOD is known to have more alternate titles than any movie ever. "Twitch of the Death Nerve" is the best-known title and has been selected by Mario Bava himself. It was re-released under the title "The Last House on the Left Part II" although it has nothing to do with that film and was actually made a year before. Other famous titles are "Blood Bath" and "Carnage".

- Due to the low budget of the film, Mario Bava had to shoot most of it on his own property or property owned by the crew. He also had to be his own cinematographer.

BLU-RAY DETAILS

Feature running time: 84:02 mins. (English version) / 84:53 Min. (Italian version)
Rating: Unrated (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1 / 16:9
Audio: English LPCM 1.0, Italian: LPCM 2.0
Subtitles: English
Extras: Export version (English) and Italian version of the film, Alternate (reversible) cover, booklet (8 pages), Audio Commentary, The Giallo Gems of Dardano Sachetti Featurette (33:09), Joe Dante remembers Twitch of the Death Nerve Featurette (12:24), Shooting a Spaghetti Splatter Classic interview( 21:16), Carnage theatrical trailer (3:56), Theatrical trailer (1:17), Radio spot #1 (1:00), Radio spot #2 (0:28)
Region: Region Free

Picture quality: 4/5
Audio quality: 3/5
Extras: 4/5

As usual, Arrow Video brings us a superb release with excellent picture quality (considering the film's age) and plenty of extras and Arrow-typical "gimmicks" like the booklet or reversible alternate cover designs. Unlike the US Blu-Ray Arrow's release is region free.
44 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
A classic Italian giallo from the king of Italian horror Maria Bava. With a film like this bad dubbing or any other similar gripe takes a back seat while you are watching a great horror mystery like this. If you are new to the genre then you must buy it and watch as you will enjoy it without doubt !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
The film itself is rather good but the video 2000 copy states its 84 mins it also states this on the DVD cover,Having watched it the running time was 1.20.28 just over 80 mins,Every death scene has been cut.Wish now i had purchased the arrow copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2011
OK ... I'd been completely put off this release after seeing various stills and reviews of this that said it had had the colours drained out of the transfer ... And the screencaps did back that up ... But the other day I borrowed it off a mate to have a look for myself
Now I'm sure a lot of people on here are going to expect me to lay into Arrow as I have done with a lot of their releases that I have found lacking, some of them seriously, but the fact is, this is one of the best transfers of an older film I've seen !!!
It looks better than it looked when I've seen it in the cinema ... And the colours are not drained like in the screen caps I've seen online ... I have noticed this before ... There can be a problem with grabbing stills from BluRays that don't give a true representation of the quality of the transfer at all
Now this does not mean that I am going to change my views on any of the other problems I have with Arrow releases ... I haven't got round to watching the Italian cut as yet so can't comment on that, but the English version is spot on and couldn't be bettered I don't think ... And well worth an upgrade for anyone who likes the film
99 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
The picture quality on the blu ray is pretty decent if a little subdued in terms of contrast and saturation for my tastes however it probably represents the look of the film pretty accurately. I have a problem with the audio on this release though, it sounds as though it has been passed through a hiss / noise removal filter that results in a kind of digital warbling / chorus effect at times - I would prefer hiss and pops to that processed type of sound. However most reviews i've read don't mention this so unless you are fussy about this kind of thing you may not notice.
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
One of the greatest horror films of all time in my opinion.Also worth checking out is another Mario Bava classic'Kill Baby,Kill'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2010
Theres no point offering a plot synopsis here as most people looking at this product already know what this classic is about and for those who don't Bavas bodycount classic is widely regarded as helping start the slasher movie craze and is a genuine landmark of horror cinema in and of itself.
Ok most bava fans probably own this already in the second bava boxset Bava Box Set 2 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (and if you don't buy it now, its fantastic!) and most have heard the slightly whiney complaints of bava purists (or bores depending on your point of view) regarding this versions slightly muted color scheme. Yes this movie was meant to look brighter, but to put things into perspective I've knocked a star off what would normally be a five star review because color scheme aside, (and it aint as bad as some have made out.) this is the version to own. Why? well color scheme aside (and its certainly not enough to spoil the enjoyment of this excellent movie) the picture quality is razor sharp bringing out much more detail in the picture and the sound mix is also a major improvement. Make no mistake this is probably the best presentation of this movie. Bonus wide we get an alternate non hi-def italian cut of the picture (so you can see the brighter color scheme) Interviews, trailer, a booklet and poster thrown in, far more comprehensive in terms of bonus features than previous releases.(we also get the tim lucas commentary)as for the anchor bay us version, well its worth owning simply by virtue of the fact it comes in a box set with a whole bunch of excellent bava films, but this is the version i'll be watching.
55 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)