Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bay of Blood
A truly inspired piece of cinema from the mighty Mario Bava. This film set the standards for Halloween, Friday 13th and pretty much every horror film after. Bay of Blood is the original, ultimate stalk and slasher experience. Check it out!Also, which is funny for a film like this, the plot is fantastic and actually took me 2 views to work out what was happening. Great fun...
Published on 16 Jun 2005 by Stoker

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weak audio imho (kino usa release)
The picture quality on the blu ray is pretty decent if a little subdued in terms of contrast and saturation for my tastes however it probably represents the look of the film pretty accurately. I have a problem with the audio on this release though, it sounds as though it has been passed through a hiss / noise removal filter that results in a kind of digital warbling /...
Published 10 months ago by Matthew D. Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bay of Blood, 16 Jun 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly inspired piece of cinema from the mighty Mario Bava. This film set the standards for Halloween, Friday 13th and pretty much every horror film after. Bay of Blood is the original, ultimate stalk and slasher experience. Check it out!Also, which is funny for a film like this, the plot is fantastic and actually took me 2 views to work out what was happening. Great fun if you love horror. And the cinematography is beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The origins of the body-count slasher?, 17 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To my knowledge there is no other movie before (and for many years after, until Friday the 13nth) totalling 13 murders. I am not giving anything away, the number is on the box so you will notice it! Several early 80s slasher movies borrowed this kind of narrative, others, Friday the 13nth, chunked out a whole scene.

What sets this one apart from the others, is that there is no "maniac" running loose. This makes a huge difference in characterisation. And of course much more compelling. The plot and the motive are more in line with some classic narratives and early gialli, rather than the obsessive themes of Argento, but the very graphic gore makes the difference.

Arrow's release is great value for it's price. You get an English HD version and the Italian non-HD version. There is a difference of opinion regarding the color of the English version, not being as saturated as to instantly strike as a Bava movie, but since you also get the Italian version which allegedly is more authentic, 4 reversible covers, two of which are spectacular (personally i do not like the one shown, but that's my opinion) i am guessing it will be the European release to get for quite a while. An Italian company has also released this in the past, but they don't do Blu-ray yet.

A long special feature regarding the writer was very interesting, not so much for his work (LOL!), but as to the insider info on 3 prominent directors (Bava, Argento, Fulci). Also, subtitles are included for both movies and the features, which was a true fan service for those who are non-native English speakers. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good film with a good transfer., 20 Sep 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You can't please all the people all the time, or so the saying goes.
For the gentleman that has sold his blu ray of this film and kept his DVD...I suggest he goes to Specsavers.

Before I make my remarks, please allow me to quantify them.
I have never seen "Bay Of Blood" at the cinema. I have seen it on VHS (both PAL and NTSC) and have seen it via the Image DVD and the Bava region one boxset.
In my opinion, this presentation is by far the best I have ever seen on any home theatre format. It knocks all the other presentations into a cocked hat.
This is for the English version. The Italian version on this set (both are included) is sadly lacking and perhaps that is where the vitriol for this release comes from.
Personally I'm delighted to have a high definition, uncut release at all. And at this price, with the usual Arrow packaging (poster, reversible sleeves etc...)and wealth of extras then personally I have no problem recommending this set.
However, if your standards are so high then you will only settle for a complete perfect set then I suggest you wait and hope that someone eventually releases one. And if they do then I'll be happy to double dip for this fine film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just when you thought it was safe., 8 Dec 2002
By 
DM Webster "arakis2002" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a 'fun' horror film. Bava is on of my favourite horror directors and he doesn't fail to please here. He does excellent set pieces and the murders are graphic and original. This is often seen as a precursor to the stalk and slash films of the late seventies but is less moralistic and refuses to offer psychology as an excuse for the violence. I'm not even going to try to analyse this film as everyone is pretty unpleasant and deserves everything they get. This is a horror film for horror film's sake and Bava offers no apology. The scenes which stick with me are the opening hanging of the old woman in the wheel chair, the deaths of the couple by sharp spike coming up through the bed, the swimming woman who bumps into a decomposing corpse and the hilarious ending...just when you thought it was safe! Great fun, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weak audio imho (kino usa release), 18 Sep 2013
By 
Matthew D. Phillips "zax93" (Outer Limits) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The picture quality on the blu ray is pretty decent if a little subdued in terms of contrast and saturation for my tastes however it probably represents the look of the film pretty accurately. I have a problem with the audio on this release though, it sounds as though it has been passed through a hiss / noise removal filter that results in a kind of digital warbling / chorus effect at times - I would prefer hiss and pops to that processed type of sound. However most reviews i've read don't mention this so unless you are fussy about this kind of thing you may not notice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mario Bava's 70's Italian carnage classic, 14 Oct 2006
By 
Philip Yates (Merseyside U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Better known as 'A Twitch of the Death Nerve' this 1971 Italian slaughterfest from the great Mario Bava is the precursor of Friday 13th and it's numerous ilk. Leaving aside the slightly fuzzy plot involving the various characters attempts to secure the prime real estate of the title, the various gorrotings, impalings and mutilations are handled with much gusto. Though I suspect the 80 min version veiwed has been trimmed down it still remains a well paced tongue in cheek slice of Italian horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC HORROR/SLASHER!!!!!, 2 Sep 2006
The one and only original classic horror/slasher movie of the 70s next to texas chainsaw massacre and the hills have eyes.

If you are a fan of the genre then you should not miss out.

This film contains very strong scenes of graphic gory violence that has been imitated in the FRIDAY THE 13TH films!

dDONT MISS IT!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
did not like to for postage when it free on play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "..CLASSIC EARLY SLASHER..", 1 Jun 2014
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For the early 70's this film looks amazing on Blu-ray, arrow have done a top notch job transfer as usual, great early slasher film with a twisted murder guess who it is plot, there's plenty of cool death scenes that are really well done with good effects, some full female nudity which is always the way with most early slashers, not one of the best horror/thrillers ever but still a worthy arrow release for the collection, the audio commentary is very informative with plenty of good insight into the film and stars etc. the audio is a little hard in places you may sit with the remote at times turning the TV up and down. you get a booklet of info too and better reversible sleeve art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars summary, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
despatch and elivery was very good itme recieved in a few days
film was very good seemed more in the film that before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Bay of Blood [DVD]
A Bay of Blood [DVD] by Mario Bava (DVD - 2011)
6.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews