Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hidden menu easter egg
Go to special features then move your right directional onto the cross.It will fill up with blood press enter to reveal:
1.Sergio Martino on Mountain Of The Cannibal God
2.Luigi Sacchetti on Contamination and Censorship
3.Alternative Frezza Intro
4.Silvia Collatina
5.Lady Oscar trailer.
Hope this helps
Published 10 months ago by The Wolf

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of Fulci's big four
If you are a Fulci fan, you will probably want to add this to your collection as "House by the Cemetery" comes from Fulcis generally recognised "golden age" of movie making. The plot tells of Norman and Lucy Boyle, a young couple who move to a remote mansion with their young son Bob for a summer of rest and relaxation, only to find that the place is...
Published on 30 Mar 2006 by A. Griffiths


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House by the Cemetery [DVD] (DVD)
Love this movie. If you're a true horror fan you must own this and the other 2 movies from the Gates of Hell trilogy (City of The Living Dead & The Beyond). Buy buy buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars summary, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is an absolute gem of horror films you must have this in your collection
and the delivery was very good couldnt wait to watch it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great edition, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Arrow Video company did a great job with it, amazing extras, good trasposition and very good booklet inside. You can see that it has be done by old italian horror aficionados.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really nice blu-ray edition with good extras. Quality on themovie is good and nice with double sleeve. These movies are the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "..TOP 80'S GORE SLASHER HORROR..", 29 Oct 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If your into 80's horror then his movie is a must!! A very creepy story, good cast, amazing effects, there is so much gore in this uncut version, very graphic and bloody!! The make-up effects are great too, a must have cult classic horror!!! worth every penny!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This item was just as described. There's a bluray copy, DVD copy, and a DVD of extras. Great transfer to bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Edition, 15 April 2013
By 
Aron Ramna (Porto,Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the edition on blu-ray. Has three discs, one booklet and four different covers. But should have bought the limited edition like "The city of The living dead" wich as a poster,cards,booklet and more covers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Haunted house film with a murderous creature., 18 April 2012
By 
LoBo (Bodø, Norway) - See all my reviews
I like this film. I like the cool and dead looking creature, Dr. Freudstein. I also enjoy the dark synth and atmospheric
music of Walter Rizzati. Some people may think or thought it was the music of frequent Fulci collaborator,Fabio Frizzi,but
it is not.Their music actually sound quite similar in this film, so some may mistake it for Frizzi music.

Picture quality: 4/5

The picture quality was greatly improved from my Anchor Bay DVD. There is problems with DNR and noise like Zombi 2,
but not as much problems like Zombi 2. I think Zombi 2 has poorer and more use of DNR than The House by the
Cemetery.

The film grain is actually mostly noise mixed with grain. The DNR is noticable, but i have seen worse use of it as i said.
The things that are improved compared to the DVD is: black levels, blood & gore effects, colours, details and
sharpness.

Audio quality: 3.5/5

The English dub in the DTS-HD Master Audio 2.0 Dolby Surround remix, is actually a bit disappointing to me. I thought
the mix would sound a bit clearer music wise and with more bass. Yes, there is some Stereo effects and such. At least it
sounds improved compared to the lossy Dolby Surround 2.0 mix on the DVD.

Film: 4/5
Overall: 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars italian horror classic in hd, 29 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
house by the cemetery is one of the finest italian horror films ever made and it has been given a terrific high def makeover by blue underground. this film has always been treated badly with previous dvd releases all being of questionable quality,but finally we have a version to be proud of. the picture quality is a vast improvement on the standard dvd versions and the colours look stunning. yes there is quite a lot of grain to be found but,that just adds to the overall feel of the movie. well done blue underground for delivering a decent blu ray version of this fulci classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars house by the cemetery (old video nasty), 2 Sep 2011
The house by the cemetery is an old 1981 horror film. This says allot about the film it tells us not to expect the best horror or the most nasty effects. This film has not much off a plot as there isn't a great deal about the one who is the monster. There are random things with this film that seem a bit stupid as a grave stone in the middle of the floor when the house has a basement. There are also some old faults as on one scene a hard surface bends quiet easily by a child. The film isn't a compete waste of time as it is a bit funny as the monster reminded me of DR Satan from rob zombies amazing horror film house of 1000 courses. The acting is not the best and some parts are a little embarrassing. The dub on the film is better than for some films I have seen but subs are a more pleasant film experience.
This film is a funny film for a person of my Age but may have scared people from 1981. The film is a little slow and when I watched it it was really late and was falling asleep half way through.
I have given this film a 3 star for the funny aspect of the monster and the old special effects that are cheesy now. It did keep me entertained for a few hours. I like the fact its reminded me of house of 1000 corpses with the old horror style even if rob zombies was made in 2000. I believe it may have been a bit better if it had subs rather than dub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The House by the Cemetery [DVD]
The House by the Cemetery [DVD] by Lucio Fulci (DVD - 2011)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews