Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hidden menu easter egg
Go to special features then move your right directional onto the cross.It will fill up with blood press enter to reveal:
1.Sergio Martino on Mountain Of The Cannibal God
2.Luigi Sacchetti on Contamination and Censorship
3.Alternative Frezza Intro
4.Silvia Collatina
5.Lady Oscar trailer.
Hope this helps
Published 10 months ago by The Wolf

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of Fulci's big four
If you are a Fulci fan, you will probably want to add this to your collection as "House by the Cemetery" comes from Fulcis generally recognised "golden age" of movie making. The plot tells of Norman and Lucy Boyle, a young couple who move to a remote mansion with their young son Bob for a summer of rest and relaxation, only to find that the place is...
Published on 30 Mar 2006 by A. Griffiths


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hidden menu easter egg, 2 Nov 2013
By 
The Wolf "bluesman" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Go to special features then move your right directional onto the cross.It will fill up with blood press enter to reveal:
1.Sergio Martino on Mountain Of The Cannibal God
2.Luigi Sacchetti on Contamination and Censorship
3.Alternative Frezza Intro
4.Silvia Collatina
5.Lady Oscar trailer.
Hope this helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Fruedstein... in all his uncut gory glory!, 19 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
House by the Cemetery arrives in the UK uncut, its about time! The film concerns a house that a young couple and their kid move into not knowing what danger they are in, someone is killing people and no-one in the house is safe, the sinister Dr Freudstein is supposedly behind it all but as the husband looks deeper into the mystery things take an unusual twist, if you're a Fulci fan this disc is a must have, if you don't like Italian horror or dubbed movies give it a miss. The film has a great transfer and some interesting special features making it a good version to get. All in all a great modern gothic horror with some decent gore, its a great addition to the cult horror fans collection, if you liked this you should look into some of Fulci's similar films such as The Beyond [DVD] [1981] [US Import] or City of the Living Dead [DVD] [1980] or Zombie 2 [DVD] [1979] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] which are all brilliant in my opinion.

Fulci Lives!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME HAUNTED HOUSE TALE, 14 Jun 2005
This is one of THE scariest films I have ever seen. The first time I watched this alone it was quite an experience. Some of the dubbing, especially the kid Giovanni Frezza was a little irritaring, but even the cut British version of this film is so dark and atmospheric its become one of my all time favourite movies. As with many Lucio Fulci films, there are plot holes and very bizarre untold stories going on, but I dont think this matters as the overall feel is SCARY AS HELL! The camera work is fantastic, loads and loads of zoom lens use and close ups of Eyeballs and bloody wounds. The zombie himself Dr.Freudstien is kept hidden in the basement for most of the film but once discovered is just fantastic. The film bases itself around some sort of gothic vortex of time, the film begins in the present and ends in the past. Quite haunting stuff. I wont say any more, but this is one horror film you need to see!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic horror film!, 2 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Frightening,bizzare,gory and trippy horror film.The films plot is a mixture of many famous horror films,including the shining,frankenstien,dont look now and the amytiville horror.However this film is somehow more than the sum of its parts and is genuinly nightmarish and frightening. On seeing this film as a kid who had seen a lot of horror films,this was the one that made the most impression on me and my friends,and was talked about in school for years afterwards,(even my father was impressed by it!) I wont give away too much plot but the film is based around a scary house on the edge of a cemetery,the family that moves there ,a ghoulish monster and a terrible secret. Strange close up camera shots (in typical fulci style)permeate the movie,and terrible dubbing,but great creepy music,and very gruesome scenes.Not for the faint hearted! I highly recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you're a fan of Fulci, I recommend this film., 18 Nov 2002
House by the Cemetery
A young family moves from their cramped New York City apartment to a spacious new home in New England. But this is no ordinary house in the country: the previous owner was the deranged Dr. Freudstein, whose monsterous human experiments have left a legacy of bloody mayhem. Now, someone - or something - is alive in the basement, and home sweet home is about to become a horrific hell on earth.
Another Lucio Fulci gore flick. I really enjoyed this film as I do with other Fulci films. It starts out with this girl getting a knife in the back of her head and out her mouth. After that it starts to get a bit slow, and nothing really interesting happens until a lady gets her foot stuck in a crack in the floor. One thing that I found annoying about this film is the horrible dubbing. The little boy is dubbed by some old woman and it gets annoying really fast. Another thing I noticed is that if they did a Chucky look-a-like contest, that little boy would win it hands down. Just slap some red hair on that boy and you'd never be able to tell the difference. Another thing about this movie is that it isn't really a gory film like other Fulci horror films, this one is just more bloody. If you can look past the horrible dubbing you are in for a really good monster film. If you're a fan of Fulci, I recommend this film.
Anchor Bay brings us another Fulci film in its uncut glory. After buying both the Anchor Bay versions of "The Beyond" and "City of the Living Dead" I figured that I couldn't go wrong with a Fulci film that is brought to us on DVD from Anchor Bay. And I must say that Anchor Bay has done it again with another great film with a really good DVD. The features are nothing like the ones that are on "The Beyond." But the film is presented in its complete and uncut form which really is great when watching a Fulci film. That is another thing that Anchor Bay has really done a good job with, releasing these films uncut. The picture and sound quality are great. I never saw this film before I bought this DVD, so I really can't tell you if it's an improvement, but I can say that from others who have seen both versions of the DVD and people who have seen the VHS, it is a big improvement. The picture quality is supposed to be more clear on the Anchor Bay version, and it is clear. The only bad thing about this DVD is that it really doesn't have much extras. So it's your basic DVD, but the thing that saves this DVD is the fact that the movie is completely uncut. A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of Fulci's big four, 30 Mar 2006
By 
A. Griffiths "Adrian" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are a Fulci fan, you will probably want to add this to your collection as "House by the Cemetery" comes from Fulcis generally recognised "golden age" of movie making. The plot tells of Norman and Lucy Boyle, a young couple who move to a remote mansion with their young son Bob for a summer of rest and relaxation, only to find that the place is haunted by an evil presence living hidden in the cellar. After several near misses and lots of spooky bad omens, the family discover the identity of the sinister occupant and end up fighting for their lives to escape his twisted plans.
The film tries to weave a web of unease and mystery around the secret in the cellar, and for a while it really works. The camera work and the general look of the locations is pretty good, with a sense of brooding gothic mystery hanging over the poor family. The house itself looks particularly impressive in most of the external shots. However the story rapidly unravels as the film proceeds to throw countless red herrings into the mix and then either completely abandons them (people claiming to have seen Norman at the house in the past, the things that Bob's mysterious playmate Mae tells him about the house's former occupants), or blatantly contradicts itself (most notably the Boyles babysitter, Ann, who's behaviour suddenly swings from one style to the total oppostive with no explanation). But if you can put the irregularities of the script to one side, you should enjoy the ride on a purely shallow level. Lots of scenes are drenched in great atmosphere, such as those involving the enigmatic Mae, and especially the last portion of the film when we get to see exactly what has been going on in the depths of the cellar.
The acting's pretty good, and even though poor Bob has been given a thoroughly unconvincing vocal dub, the scenes with him in peril are among the best that Fulci has ever filmed. I would point out his "axe through the door" scene as one capable of producing a real jolt from any first time viewers. It's also one of the only Fulci films with an enigmatic ending that actually works - I love the other-worldly closing scene and find it very fitting. Plus, it's extremely gory, especially the death of one character who is slowly and repeatedly stabbed with a poker, with blood shown jetting out of every close-up wound. Another character has her throat repeatedly slashed with a large knife until her head appears about to drop off.
So worth adding to any horror collection, as long as you don't mind a plot with quite this many loose ends. However, to the shame of the UK, the British censors are still too squeamish to release the film totally uncut, so I wouldn't recommend this Vipco version, even though it is pretty cheap, because all the gory excesses of the murders have been trimmed. Fulci's trademarks are his gore set-pieces, always presented with lots of suitable build up to, so tampering with them as has been done here dilutes the film's power considerably. You get what you pay for, which is why the Vipco version is forever languishing in the bargain bins. So leave it where it is...The Anchor Bay Region 1 import is the one to go for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1981-Vintage Fulci Year, 9 May 2003
House by the Cemetery is the fourth film in what hardgore horror afficiandos have dubbed Lucio Fulci's "zombie quartet". Fulci, a highly productive, adaptable and prolific Italian director, had worked in many film genres such as smutty Carry On style comedies, crime thrillers and war pics before he shot to fame in 1979 with Zombie Flesh Eaters, a vividly ardoit living horror comic that owed as much to the EC comics of the Fifties as it did with George Romero's Dawn of the Dead(1978).
Described by fans as being the most restrained of Fulci's zombie movies(completed, in chronological order by City of the Living Dead(1980) and The Beyond (1980), House is a gothic melodrama that utilises various staple promethiatic themes from the Gothic literature tradition(see Shelley's Frankenstien and H.P Lovecraft) and brings them kicking and screaming in to contemporary cinema via several punctuations of Peckinpahesque violence.
The story details a certain Dr Fruedstien, who is kicked out of the medical proffesion for mal practise and winds up living in the cellar of his crumbling New England house, as a bodily preservation obsessed mutant, who frequently performs unorthadox transplants on several unwilling(and conscious) donors. Years later, Dr Boyle is sent to the house to investigate the recent suicide of a collegue. His young son Bob is warned to stay away from the haunted property by a young red headed girl who claims to be Fruedstien's daughter. The two children are torn straight from the pages of Henry James's Turn of the Screw;they communicate seemingly psycically and also appear to be connecting two parralel realms of being(that of the living and the dead) together with inevitable and tragic consequences for all involved.
Despite the usual shortcomings being prevelent in this Fulci fare(shodily dubbed actors, contradictory plot structures, exaggerated sound effects), House fares better than most Italian horror films of this ilk-the photography is beautiful, the sense of menace that the charnel house(shades of Poe's House of Usher whereby architecture manifests the portent of doom that resides within)possess is grusomely effective and the implication of Fruediam imagary is subtly integrated into the climatic scenes, most effectivly in the scene where the young Bob is pulled through a vaginal shaped opening in a tomb face into the world of the dead.
Whilst the gore is not of the eye gouging, head drilling variety of Fulci's former horror films, House feels gorier, danker and far darker. This is a grossly underrated horror classic that seems somehow ironic in light of the advances in genetic engineering and the widely held notion of preservation of eternal youth through cosmetic surgery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but another mediocre Arrow Blu-Ray bodge-job!, 12 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dear Arrow,

Why does this keep happening? You take a great film, you promise a great release, and what happens? You botch it up... Again!

Firstly, some copies may have the wrong second disc in them. If you have a DVD labelled Disc 1 (or it has the movie on it in Standard Definition), you'll need to get it returned or replaced. Whilst Arrow did discuss this on their website, and Arrow blame the disc manufacturers for the problem, some of these faulty sets are still being sent out to customers. Either Arrow needs to stop using this manufacturer, or else invest in some major Quality Control checks. Which leads me onto this...

Arrow has ballsed-up the subtitling. The Opening Credits are all in Italian, and there's no English subtitle translation. Fair-enough, I can live with that minor issue. However, the ending of the film has a prophetic quote from Henry James, in Italian. All fine-and-dandy, but there's no English translation for it... unless you leave the English subtitling on all the way through the entire film! Well done, Arrow! Yet another bad mark, and yet another reason why your releases smack of absolutely NO Quality Control whatsoever! Does nobody at Arrow check the discs before replication? Did no one actually think to themselves "Uh, guys? We're using an Italian-produced HD master, and the film has Opening and Closing Credits all in Italian. Maybe we should, perhaps subtitle the ending of the film, so that our English-language audience can understand it"?! Clearly, not!

There is artifacting, digital noise, and some bad compression artifacts in scenes involving pure black. Even on my 37-inch Panasonic TV, I could see the problems! So god-knows what it's going to look like on a 50" TV or a Projection Screen! It's not horrific, by any means, but it is there, and it is noticeable. For that reason, again, Arrow needs to either start using a different authoring team, who know what the difference is between film grain, digital noise, and digital artifacting!

The second disc, the DVD containing some of the Special Features, has 20 Italian film trailers on it. Unfortunately, bar about two of these, many are even worse than some of the low-res trailers on YouTube. It's as if Arrow just cobbled together 20 trailers, stuck them on a disc, and said "That'll do"! What should have been a very good hours-worth of trailer-watching, is a frankly embarrassing mess of hideous proportions. I know some of the trailer are old and rare. They're not the ones I'm blaming. I'm talking about the trailers which have been released on other discs, or by other companies, and which we know and have seen in far better quality editions, than the ones showcased here.

Arrow need to get their head out of their backsides, and start doing some serious Quality Control, as I'm sick of so many of their films having problems, errors or other QC issues! Just how many "botched" releases do Arrow need to do, before someone at Arrow Headquarters decides that Quality Control is important?! One? Two? Five? Ten?!

Initially, I was forgiving of Arrow. I ignored people who said that Arrow weren't good, and didn't produce good releases. I thought that people were being overly-sensitive ove minor issues in Arrow's films. But the more I spend my money on their releases, and the more problems I keep finding, AND the more I keep hearing from them that they DO care about making great UK Blu-Ray and DVD releases, the more I feel like they just don't give a damn! It appears to be purely about making money. Nothing more, nothing less. If you praise them, they are happy. Make a single negative comment, and they lambast you, ban you from their hideously-patrolled-by-jackbooted-morons forum, or try and placate you with cries of "your comments are unfair criticism", because "we're a small label, with little money"!

Well, look, enough's enough! Start checking things out, before you manufacture them. Start making sure that when you produce an HD-master, that the print doesn't contain lots of scenes of digital noise or artifcating in scenes feturing large amounts of pure blackness; double and triple-check your prints, so that English subtitles are available for the pertinent parts of your Italian-language films; stop allowing your manufacturer to bodge your releases, resulting in recalls, delays, and problems for your customers. And stop, whinging that customers are ungrateful when we're the ones keeping you in business in the first place!

No customers buying your products, means no sales. No sales, means goodbye Arrow, and hello unemployment line at the Jobcentre!

I'm sure I'll receive numerous comments from other people, saying I'm being overly picky; overly sensitive, or even comments telling me to stop whining or to grow-up. Well, to those of you who are happy spending £10-£15 on each Arrow release, and finding problems and errors, go ahead and waste your money and time. However, for the rest of us in the real-world, we deserve better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh Lucio., 16 Oct 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The House By The Cemetery (DVD)
The House by the Cemetery is directed by famed splatter meister Lucio Fulci, and it pretty much reverts to Lucio's type. Which of course is often enough for fan's of Fulci's work. Plot is irrelevant, but basically a family moves into a creepy house in New England and discover a flesh eating ghoul is in residence down in the basement. The ghoul needs to continue its bizarre medical habits to remain, well, a ghoul! Cue screams, serious bloody gore, bad dubbing and incoherent narrative.

Visually, as you would expect from Fulci and cinematographer Sergio Salvati, it has inspired moments, the whole irreverence of it draped in Grand Guignol textures. The ghouls lair is a place of nightmares, while the appearance of a scary bat and doll further add to the weirdness. Yet it undoubtedly is a hack job by Fulci, where he clutches from some famous American horror movies and just inserts a bloody killing at regular intervals. The whole film serves only to shed some blood for the gore hounds delight, regardless of if it actually matters to what was left on the writing table.

Its reputation, certainly in Britain in the 1980s when it was ridiculously banned during the even more ridiculous Video Nasty craze, is that of a blood thirsty cult movie unfairly held from interested eyes. The banner proudly proclaiming that the work of an Italian horror visionary was being stymied, that's unfair for anyone looking at it now because it's more funny than scary. Had I saw it as a early teenager back then? I'm sure I would have felt disturbed to my guts, though I do believe that even then I could spot a messy hack job when I saw one! This has some skills, but it's not great and really only for Fulci and pulp splatter completists only. 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 13 July 2014
By 
Mr. Johnny Sanchez (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always liked this movie. I was lucky enuff to see at the cinema as a teen. Am sure it was the full version. This is a great restoration. As we all know the UK has seen many cut versions over the years. I bought a Dutch subtitled DVD years ago in order to get the full version! Well done Arrow. Great for fans of Lucio!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The House by the Cemetery [DVD]
The House by the Cemetery [DVD] by Lucio Fulci (DVD - 2011)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews