Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
88
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2007
For fans of the genre's thriller, mystery, and horror, this is a movie that their collections should NOT be without. Profondo Rosso (a.k.a. Deep Red) is one of Dario Argento's greatest works and it rightly deserves its spot in the IMDB top 50 horror movies of all time.
The movie's plot sees an American freelance pianist named Marcus Daily witness the murder of a famed female parapsychologist, who also happens to be his neighbour. Following what Marcus witnesses he becomes obsessed with the murder to the point that he decides to figure it out who the killer is himself. Little does he know however that by doing so he will put both his and his friends lives at risk as the killer (who is extremely brutal when it comes to murdering their victims) soon turns their attention to Marcus.
Within the movie there are many scenes that you are unlikely to forget, for instance the table of objects scenes which are accompanyed by a catchy goblin music score, or the mechanical dummy's appearance, or the movie's climax etc.
Profondo Rosso is a movie that is guaranteed to keep you gripped from beginning to end with its unforgettable story, superb matching soundtrack by Goblin (their movie debut I believe), great acting performances and amazing directing by Argento.
I would also like to suggest that instead of purchasing this edition of the DVD that you instead go for the Dario Argento Ultimate Collection (also from Amazon). The reason being is because for just around £3.00 extra (at the time of writing) you get the same DVD except with five other Argento movies, these being The Bird with the Crystal Plumage, Cat O'Nine Tails, Demons, Demons 2, and Phenomena. This suggestion may however only apply to those who don't own the majority of those movies already.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2012
In my opinion this is Argento's best film.
It successfully straddles both the giallo and horror genres combining the two into an intriguing, creepy film.
Normally I would have bought the Arrow Video release as I like the packaging and poster that comes with their releases but sadly their transfer cannot hold a candle to this one, the Blue Underground version (which is region free and will play on any Blu Ray player in the UK).

The disc contains both the English and the longer Italian version of the film in a pristine quality. For a film shot in 1975 "Deep Red" has never looked better than it has on this disc.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
An almost perfect thriller where horror is just what comes out of the director mind and the atmosphere of the story. Not like they do now, where they do not have enough patience and ability to build up tension and need to scare you every ten seconds.
Probably Argento's best film (although 4 Flies and Suspiria are almost equally great), it projects you in a cinematographic dimension where you enjoy the pure cinematic energy of the director and the mysterious effect that he manages to convey to your mind through a totally personal use of music, photography, editing and scene and shot construction. Images seem like coming from a painting and coming to life (or death).
The HD transfer is fantastic.
My only bad note is about the music (not the carillon, which is brilliant): although being celebrated, Goblin music is too cheesy and disco-funky-progressive and tend to be overwhelming, often spoiling the suspended and nightmarish atmosphere of a scene. And this is Argento's fault, who has always been an instinctive director, sometimes not reflecting too much (for good and for bad) on what he was doing.
A film that has inspired so many authors and magically creates a town that does not exist (shot half in rome and half in Torin): the choice of setting and locations was one of Argento's main qualities in his early films (also his best ones)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2011
As this is one of my favourite films, I have to say this release is a major letdown for a couple of reasons. First of all is the video glitch mentioned in a couple of the other reviews (there's a brief picture breakup at around the 45.27 mark), and then there's the subtitles. Unfortunately they sometimes appear before a character speaks and on occasion they appear and disappear so quickly that they are almost impossible to read properly unless you pause the movie to read them. Neither of these things occur on the US region free Blue Underground release of the film, which is the version I recommend if you're a serious fan of this film. There are fewer special features but the movie is what matters most so if you want a great copy of the film, go for that one.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2004
I wouldn't consider myself one of these Dario Argento buffs, raving about colour and chiarascuro BUT......
.......he does grows on you. The more you watch, the more you want. Not just the films, but the characters and the collection of bizarre moments and shocking clarity too.
I started off thinking the whole 'Italian horror genre' thing was overrated. I got Suspiria on a whim and before I knew it I'd bought and watched Profondo Rosso too.
Its that Argento never seems to play straight.
There are moments of brilliance, style, suspense with genuine oddness but then some real rubbish: cheesy 70's dialogue and awful dubbing - but you can forgive all that and at least the music's not as intrusive as it was in Suspiria.
The editing from one scene to another is very abrupt too. Does he do this deliberately? Or is it a question of taste?
Every time you pin him down he confounds you- like he says on the DVD commentary- he tries to conjure up a dream with twists and turns.
I mean, fancy having slapstick farce in the middle of a very disturbing hacker movie?
The film gets more intruiging as it goes on. Same storyline as a million others but it's the ways its done. Visually splendid, with stunning scenery/sets, framing and his shot selection is second to none.
The opening shot which is in fact part of the credits is VERY disturbing. Don't miss it!
Well worth watching and never boring.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
A musician witnesses the brutal murder of a famous psychic, he then along with a reporter tries to find the killer whilst evading attempts on there lives by a black glove wearing killer.

Arguably one of if not the best of Dario Argento's giallo movies. Containing some of Argento's best work including some spectacular death sequences, Macha Meril's exit is brilliantly shot and handled with an enjoyably bloody conclusion, in fact all of the killings/violence are painfully well staged and each adds to the atmosphere & hugely enjoyable. The creepy atmosphere is also helped along by some very disturbing doll scenes appearing in different shots giving the audience a frequent fright, as does the excellent Goblin soundtrack with its child like qualities in sharp contrast to what we are seeing on screen. The last third of the film is excellent with all sorts happening and the mystery holds up right to the end which the viewer will love. Hemmings , Lavia & Nicolodi are very good in the lead roles as are the supporting cast, dubbing is OK though not as good as most other Argento pictures it is fine and doesn't detract from the film. The only real weakness is some of the pacing, though its not bad and the film is never boring the first half does meander a bit, with Nicolodi & Hemmings chats and actions meaning very little and going on a bit too long killing some of the tension that's been building up.
I cant believe I'm saying this (uncut versions of films I would always implore people to view) some of the cut versions, like the original UK pre cert VHS from Fletcher/Techmo, do remove some of the before mentioned waffle and do feel noticeably more pacey and hold more of the increasing tension (apologies to the uncensorious among you).

Definitely one of the very best giallo's, very well done in all departments and a highlight in Argento's filmography. Never released theatrically here in Britain the first release on VHS was targeted as seizeable under the section 3 list but sense has since come around and whichever version you watch you will have an excellent viewing experience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a minor classic from director Dario Argento. An excellent thriller with horror elements thrown in that make the current wave of 'torture porn' movies look decidely second rate (which most of them are).

In the leading role David Hemmings plays a pianist who witnesses a murder and starts investigating them himself. Now why he would do this I don't know, but once you allow for this artistic licence, the film moves by with great pace. Full of atmosphere, tension, odd camera angles as well as the trademark roving camera for which Argento is well know. You can still also detect the influence of Hitchcock in this film. But Argento has moved things on to a different level.

Listen out for the music score by the Italian prog rock group Goblin. They worked with Argento on a regular basis and their pounding music scores added a little extra to Argento's films.

This disc contains 2 versions of the film. An English version which runs to 100mins and an Italian version that is 123mins. My advice is to watch the Italian version as this is in widescreen. The English version is panned and scanned. However your view on this will be affected by your attitude to subtitles and dubbing in films. In the English version of course David Hemmings isn't dubbed and there are no subtitles.

Argento is most famous for Suspira, which I was never a huge fan of. Buy this and 'The Bird with the crystal plumage' and in my view you'll own his two best films.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
Thrilling giallo masterpiece is considered by many to be one of the finest, if not the finest, films made by horror master Dario Argento. In the early 70s, Italian director Dario Argento took the world by surprise with the release of his first three movies, three excellent entries in the "Giallo" genre that had been growing in popularity across the 70's. In only two years, the success of "L' Uccello Dalle Piume Di Cristallo" ("The Bird with the Crystal Plumage"), "Il Gatto a Nove Code" ("The Cat o' Nine Tails") and "4 Mosche Di Velluto Grigio" ("Four Flies on Grey Velvet) turned Argento into the new rising star of horror, and his "animal trilogy" into classics of the Italian thriller. However, after this huge success he decided to move away from the Giallo for a while, and in order to explore something different, he made two TV dramas and a comedy named "Le Cinque Giornate" ("Five Days in Milan"). While this offered him the chance to try something new, it also allowed him to prepare his return to horror with what would be known as one of the best Giallo thrillers ever made: "Profondo Rosso", known in English as "Deep Red".

The film is the story of Marcus Daly (David Hemmings), a British piano player who is spending some time in Italy as a music teacher. One night after work, as he walks towards his apartment, he watches through the building's window and notices his neighbor Helga (Macha Méril) struggling with an unknown man. Helga, a psychic, gets brutally killed in front of Daly's eyes, who runs towards the apartment in a futile attempt to save her. After being interrogated by the police, Daly notices that he could have seen the killer's face among a group of portraits on the wall, but he can't truly figure out what's missing. This thought becomes an obsession and Daly decides to investigate the murder of the psychic with the help of reporter Gianna Brezzi (Daria Nicolodi), however, his obsession becomes dangerous as he becomes the killer's next target.

This film is a fascinating whodunit with enough creepy images to fill in a year worth of bad dreams. Here, Argento sticks to themes that have to do with childhood, a theme that's very prominent in many of his pictures. We get a creepy child song, a doll hanging from the ceiling, violent childish drawings and wait till you see that crazy robot puppet. Argento does his "you've seen something but it's not what it seems" trick and it works here again. Amidst all the mayhem there's also a good dose of humor that lightens the grim tone and a strong mystery. My only qualm with the film is that it lags on occasion. But it's worth it when you consider the reward : an original, stylish, creepy, bloody flick with enough plot twists to keep you on your toes.

Presented in an aspect ratio of 2.35:1, encoded with MPEG-4 AVC and granted a 1080p transfer, Dario Argento's Profondo Rosso arrives on Blu-ray courtesy of British distributors Arrow Films. Please note that Disc 1 contains the Director's Cut, while Disc 2 contains the International Theatrical Cut of the film. I preffer the director's cut since it is the complete version and obviously more satisfying. There are a few frame transition issues, but considering the type of limitations various SDVD releases of Profondo Rosso have conveyed during the years, the quality improvements are indeed very impressive. As for the extras, theres a new introduction by composer Claudio Simonetti from the legendary Italian band Goblin. A commentary track with Danish filmmaker and Dario Argento expert Thomas Rostock, who discusses Profondo Rosso.

There are also two trailers, Lady in Red - Daria Nicolodi Remembers Profondo Rosso, Music to Murder For! - Claudio Simonetti on Deep Red and Rosso Recollections - Dario Argento's Deep Genius in which the legendary Italian director discusses what inspired him to film Profondo Rosso, its characters, his family, the films he liked while growing up, etc. As one of the modern masters of horror, Dario Argento's career is one of enormous value for horror fans, and among his many works, Profondo Rosso is an essential one. A remarkable work of style and technique, Deep Red is a movie that simply grabs you and doesn't let you go until it ends, making an excellent experience and a good companion piece to Argento's follow-up, the masterpiece Suspiria.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2016
Arrow BD release: This review is made having just played the film throughout, the first time I have ever viewed this film.

Picture and sound quality were highly regarded for most of the film's running time although, notably, the film's musical sequences boasted higher audio quality than the narrative sequences.

Artistically the film is most watchable with fine photography and an impressive direction. Some of the direction created a satisfying, almost Hitchcockian suspense in places to good effect. It was also good to see the native Englishman David Hemmings.

But what I found most frustrating was, without warning, the sudden change of dialogue from English to Italian. Granted, there was a pre-film caption explaining this which also mentioned that subtitles in English were available on the menu, plus a disclaimer in small print on the rear sleeve, but honestly - come on, a professional presentation just doesn't do this to its audience! The offending scenes should have been re-dubbed in English. Yes it would have cost money, but so be it. This language change occurred throughout the film and just destroyed the entertainment value for me.

As happens all too frequently, especially with horror films it would appear, this is yet another film that failed to live up to expectation. The BD sleeve tag line "You will never forget it!!!": Forget what? Unless of course the author was referring to the unforgettably annoying language changes.

This film did little for me. I didn't really see it as much of a horror film. Most disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2004
I didn't know what to expect with Profondo Rosso, I thought "maybe something like Halloween", but this is a gorgeous film in it's own right, it is rich in content and thought, it has an old school story telling feel about it, fantastic music by "Goblin" (who also scored the zombie classic "Dawn of the Dead" by George Romero) it is shocking and suspenseful, whilst showing some glorious cinematography (Luigi Keveiller).
I have mentioned "Halloween" by John Carpenter, "Dawn of the Dead" by George Romero and "Goblin" (music score) and they all have an affinity for the work of Dario Argento.
(don't watch it alone with the lights off, especially the secluded cottage bit.........) :)
One scene involving a mechanical doll, nearly made my heart stop, I wont give it away but it's one of those scares that makes your brain work overtime to reassure you that you're ok !
Brilliant, Dario is unique and this is my favourite film of his, and one of my ALL time favourite films.
A wonderful initiation into the world of Giallo.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)