Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Your chance to contribute to chess theory.
As usual there are 2 versions of the program to choose from; the full one from Chessbase and the generic product from Excalibur publishing.

I'd recommend firstly visiting the Chessbase website, entering the Chessbase shop and selecting the English version of Fritz 13. Just above where it says "System requirements" there is a link to further information...
Published on 15 Jan 2012 by P. Ruffle

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fritz 13
This was my 1st time at re-learning chess after suffering a diabetic coma 4 yrs ago, Ive found it quite complicated and I'm struggling quite badly at the mo but it seems very well sorted. I have found it has made my comp crash a fair few times (windows 7 ultimate, dual core 1.86 ghz with 4 gb of ram)
Overall I think this will help me learn once ive got over the...
Published on 20 Mar 2012 by Mr. N. C. Shotter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Your chance to contribute to chess theory., 15 Jan 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fritz Chess 13 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
As usual there are 2 versions of the program to choose from; the full one from Chessbase and the generic product from Excalibur publishing.

I'd recommend firstly visiting the Chessbase website, entering the Chessbase shop and selecting the English version of Fritz 13. Just above where it says "System requirements" there is a link to further information including a downloadable PDF manual. It runs to 932 pages and is specifically written for Fritz 13 making it a useful item to keep whichever version you buy.

Fritz 13 will look pretty much the same as its predecessor Fritz 12. It will contain the latest engine and opening book, but if you just want a program to play against it may not be enough to justify the upgrade. It may be helpful to look at Fritz 12 reviews to compare.

The major new feature which might tempt some is called "Let's check". This is a powerful new analysis tool which enables the user to share their own chess analysis with other players throughout the world and to receive other people's analysis back.

Essentially all chess input and output is sent to a massive central database called a cloud; which is managed by Chessbase. To participate you need to connect to the internet through the Fritz 13 program. There are various ways of doing this but the easiest is to click on the big blue arrow by the side of the engine window pane. Also, in the notation window pane there is an extra tab called "live book"; this is where all the best analysis eventually filters into and can be referred to much as in Fritz's own opening book - you can connect here too.

Initially your Fritz 13 engine will begin analysing the game's opening position. You can literally enter any subsequent position you like to study; perhaps from a database of your own games or from a Chessbase one featuring more famous players. You will see a list of users already analysing or who have analysed your position previously and the depth to which they have done so. The depth is described in Ply. 1 Ply usually means a white move if it is white's turn, hence 2 Ply being a white move and a black reply etc.

If you analyse a position more deeply than anyone else it becomes named in your favour on the database until someone else analyses it deeper still. If you analyse a position no one else has first, it becomes named in your favour forever. It is usual to set the feature up with your normal Playchess nickname and password to be credited for your new discoveries.

If your computer is not particularly fast or powerful you can set up Fritz with a position or game you wish to analyse quickly. The let's check facility can enable you to access other people's analysis for that scenario often in a matter of seconds.

Personally I wouldn't bother uninstalling previous versions of Fritz. I've got Fritz 11, 12 and 13 all installed with no problems. I still occasionally use Fritz 12 when setting up engine tournaments as I find some of the finer settings within to be more user-friendly.

It is a good idea to regularly check for service pack updates. As I write the latest Fritz interface is dated 09 December 2011; making it the fourth since I installed the program.

The full version of Fritz 13 offers 6 months basic subscription to Playchess and 6 months premium. The subscription to Let's check lasts until December 2014. It is not yet clear what the Excalibur version offers but the price difference between the 2 indicates something would have to give.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Devil is on the detail"..., 6 Jan 2012
By 
M. A. Camacho Quesada (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fritz Chess 13 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
As chess software, Fritz lives up to it's reputation. It is a strong chess engine with a nice graphical user interface. It can adapt to your chess level, and you can do all sorts of tricks, like setting it to play the openings that you want. The games database is very good for the beginner and hobby player, and can be easily expanded with new games. The analysis functions are excellent to check your games and improve your play.

The major drawback is the poor instruction manual and help, even to set it up - which makes it loose a star in the rating. The most frustrating thing is that there is good information available, but you have to dig it from the notes on older versions found in the ChessBase website. Why not updating it and including it in the manual?

As on this version (13), there are no major changes from version 12, but the "Let's Check" and "Book Live" functions, which I do not use. I have had some issues with software bugs, as the chess set locking in one colour (I was not able to change playing from black to white), but I downloaded the update and seems to be working fine. If a previous version of Fritz is installed, I would recommend to back-up the existing databases and un-install it first (I uninstalled v12 after installing v13, and the white pieces dissappeared from the board - had to uninstall v13 and reinstall it).

For an absolute beginner, ChessMaster is probably a better option, as it is more user friendly and the chess tutorial is by far better. Once you get to the stage where more in-depth game analysis is required, Fritz is definitely better. I know some people who use both: ChessMaster to play the games, and Fritz to analyse them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fritz 13, 20 Mar 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fritz Chess 13 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This was my 1st time at re-learning chess after suffering a diabetic coma 4 yrs ago, Ive found it quite complicated and I'm struggling quite badly at the mo but it seems very well sorted. I have found it has made my comp crash a fair few times (windows 7 ultimate, dual core 1.86 ghz with 4 gb of ram)
Overall I think this will help me learn once ive got over the intimidation, its just a shame that it keeps trying to get me to buy a yearly membership in order to get the full functions to work !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PC Game, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fritz Chess 13 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Thank you for this it is very great and I love 3D boards and the great sound and game play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of a practice tool than a game., 8 Sep 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fritz Chess 13 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This is quite a complex practice tool that takes a bit of time to fully understand. If you're looking to try and improve your game, or analyse a game, then you will probably find this useful. But if you're just looking for a simple game of chess then this might not be for you. I have had no problems at all running it on a Windows 7 laptop with a Core i3 M380 CPU and 4GB RAM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FRITZ 13 Chess Prog, 29 Mar 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fritz Chess 13 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B005IWCDFU/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_img

Fritz 13 once you have mastered all the bells and whistles is a brilliant bit software and has a very realistic "Beginner's" level but is also a giant killer at club level - no wonder GM Gary Kasparov gave up chess!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reached in perfect condition all the way to India, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fritz Chess 13 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Ordered for my son and it reached in time and in a perfect condition too. The software has many features though one needs to figure out a bit. The database is very extensive which is good on one hand but on the other hand to browse and decide which one to see first takes time as all of them are not classified.

Very interesting feature was to play online with anyone across the world.

Nevertheless a great software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Fritz Chess 13, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fritz Chess 13 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Very pleased with my new Fritz Chess 13. Very easy to set up, start and play with no cons. Thanaks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good favourite., 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fritz Chess 13 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Good for the beginner and professional alike. Very challenging. Good game analysis and tips during games. Can be difficult to set up pieces for existing games but it was probably me not getting it right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great program - not intuitive to get started, 19 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. R. Cross - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fritz Chess 13 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
It's a serious chess program. Awkward to get your serial number sorted out. It's for serious chess players. Get Chessmaster if you want easy use of a chess program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fritz Chess 13 (PC DVD)
Fritz Chess 13 (PC DVD) by Excalibur Video games publishing (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£19.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews